We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Morrison Flagler Museum

Henry Morrison Flagler Museum
1 Whitehall Way, Palm Beach, FL 33480
561 655 2833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Henry Flagler's 73-room mansion which contains many of the original furnishings as well as an art collection.
Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Delightful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's best to plan a two hour visit to this magnificent mansion. The 55 room house, the gardens and the views are wonderful. Mixed within the rooms are exhibits on the Flagler family.

The "Guilded Age" comes to life.

Also not to be missed is the Museum's Cafe des Beaux Arts and it's formal Tea. Timed reservations are recommended. See the Museum's website.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    86
    12
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a don't miss if you're not allergic to opulence or totally not interested in American history of the Belle Époque. There are tours, but just walking around on your own with the guide leaflet or the audio guide works fine, too.
Don't miss the pavilion with the train car. There, you also find the excellent café. We had their fixed menu tea, with delicious little sandwiches, "hot tea" and very good pink lemonade. Great and friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Glimpse into America's Gilded Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If one is in the Palm Beaches on an extended stay, or if one has a particular interest in the art and architecture of the Gilded Age of American history, then plan to devote one morning or afternoon to the Flagler Museum. The centerpiece of the property is “Whitehall,” a grand mansion built as a winter home by Henry Morrison Flagler in 1902. One will gain a glimpse into the privileged lifestyle of that period as well as an appreciation of Mr. Flagler's importance as a foundational figure in the history of South Florida (Palm Beach in particular). If possible, plan to visit during the Christmas season, as the decorations are exceptional, but at any time of the year, plan to take a docent-led tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Versailles of the South ... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been enamored by sumptuous castles all across Europe, but the United States has few manors which can even begin to compare. Having grown up in Palm Beach, I visited the Flagler often as a child, but a visit this week surprised me. This stately manor has been beautifully transformed into a world class time machine. A visit to this Florida Chateau (sounds even funny to say ... ) will transport you back a hundred years to the sumptuous days of yore ... hand carved porticos, marble statues, frescoed ceilings, spectacular furnishings and Henry's Railroad Car which once stood baking in the sun and drowning in the rain when I was a child, and NOW is cradled in a world class Glass Pavillion overlooking the Intercoastal Waterway. Bravo to the Flagler Museum Society for taking such meticulous attention to detail!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I drove up from Cooper City to visit the Flagler house/museum, and it was very impressive. The house, furnishings and artwork are gorgeous, and the history is quite interesting. We learned so much that after the very informative guided tour, we went back through the entire house on an audio tour. Admission was $18, which I'll only pay if I think a site is WELL worth it, and this one was! I'd even do it again. Visit their website at http://flagler.org and make plans to tour the Flagler house soon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry Morrison Flagler Museum also viewed

 

Been to Henry Morrison Flagler Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Morrison Flagler Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.