We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great discovery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropical Inn Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Inn Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 Dixie Highway N.E., (US 1), Palm Bay, FL 32905   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Palm Bay
Hudson County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Think a very reasonably-priced Days Inn-like hotel with striking decor in tropical colors plus continental breakfast and tasty free dinners for two, and it equals a terrific deal. Indian River-side rooms offer a beautiful view. The staff is accommodating in every way with just the right mix of helpfulness and respectful privacy. The lobby/bar/dining area has three beautifully installed aquariums with exquisite tropical fish -- some quite rare -- and displays of work by local artists, which are for sale. In a land of chain hotel sameness, the Tropical Inn is a welcome change, offering many extra customer-friendly amenities that only a mom 'n' pop establishment can. This inn is a great discovery, and we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    9
    4
    20
See reviews for
15
19
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here in May 2011 for my daughter's graduation from FIT. The people were very friendly that work there. I was staying alone and felt very comfortable and safe. The bartender was very nice and the meals (that are included in the price) were very tasteful and nice because I did't have to go find a place to eat by myself when my daughter was busy with graduation final details. I did meet the owner and her dad who was visitng there and they were very nice and wanted to make sure my stay was the best.. The pool was very clean and nice to sit by. Overall I would definatly stay here again when visiting my daughter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPE
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
439 helpful votes 439 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a converted Days Inn, and you want the folks who run it to do well because it's not a Days Inn any more and they'r erunning it independently. They have a pretty good deal going for long-termers -- the longer you stay, the less per day you pay. In season, they apparently do quite a business with snowbirds who don't want to worry about cooking dinner. More on that in a minute.

We were just staying a day, so we paid full freight, which still isn't much. The room was clean but old. The air conditioning had to go fuil bore on a very hot night and could barely keep the place cool. The fridge didn't work. The front desk folks were as friendly as can be, but managed to get our order wrong so that when we arrived, there was some confusion. It got straightened out, but was annoying.

They serve dinner to guests free of charge. A caterer comes in and you get a portion of whatever they are serving. We had meat loaf, and it was very good, even fi the portions were a bit more controlled than we would have liked. Guests get 2 meals per room. We had two more with us and paid a minimal amount more for the extra meals -- well worth it.

The hotel is located on Dixie Highway, right across from the river . We found it very convenient. We did not use the pool, but it looked fine. They serve a continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tropical Inn for six weeks. We had a suite on the second floor facing the sunrise over the river. The suite was nicely furnished - comfortable and very clean. Service was excellent - staff friendly and efficient.
Dinner was a bonus - often we wanted more. Free internet; free local calls. Pool - clean.
Karaoke was a lot of fun, so was the dancing - superb singers to entertain and the regulars were most welcoming. Poker night also fun - another opportunity to meet locals and other guests.
This is not a 5* hotel; but for a 3* hotel, it was certainly 5* quality.

Room Tip: A suite is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Reception is good staff are helpful.
Rooms- Spacious and clean. Furniture etc very dated
Food - adequate does look like prison food the way it is served to you on a polystyrene tray with dividers!
Pool area- kept clean, just been refurbed some sunbeds and not many people use the pool so always one available.
Gym - not very good equipment very dated
location - obviously this depends why you are there, it is not really near anything the nearest beach is 8 miles away.

If it is just an overnight stay you are looking for or a quick business trip like myself it will do the job fine.

Room Tip: The front rooms look over the river- nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The place may be a bit dated however it is clean & the staff is very friendly and efficient. Complimentary breakfast & buffet dinner is included also free Wi-Fi refrigerators and microwaves in each room with a Pool and a river view. Best deal in Florida.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusette
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this resort before when it was a Days Inn. A lot of changes have been made since then. Our last visit was in March and May of 20ll. Our room was clean, nicely furnished, very comfortable with a fantastic view of the Indian River. Having our evening meal included was certainly a plus. The manger and the entire staff at the Inn are top notch - very friendly, helpful, courteous and very professional. Lots to do right there - with the beautiful pool area during the day and evening entertainment. We especially enjoyed "Martini" night and Karaoke with Francesca - great fun. It realy says something about the Inn when you see so many guests again that you met last year and who were making reservations for the next season!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Resort

Address: 4700 Dixie Highway N.E., (US 1), Palm Bay, FL 32905
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Palm Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Palm Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Inn Resort is located on US Highway 1 in Palm Bay, Florida, adjacent to the beautiful Indian River. Our quiet location, quality accommodations and affordable rates make us a popular destination for both daily and extended stays.All of our rooms include free contintental breakfast and up to 2 free dinners for guests staying per night. We are close to area beaches, golf, fishing, and shopping. We also offer free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tropical Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Palm Bay
Days Inn Palm Bay
Palm Bay Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.