We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of nature,minutes from civilization!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkey Creek Sanctuary

Turkey Creek Sanctuary
1502 Port Malaber Boulevard Northeast, Palm Bay, FL 32905
952-3433
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Palm Bay
Type: Other, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Syracuse,N.Y. USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of nature,minutes from civilization!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We rented a canoe for 4 hours and saw an amazing variety of wildlife! Gators,birds, fish, turtles and in the backwaters(during winter where they went to stay warm) numerous manatees swimming right under and beside us.It is hard to believe that you are basically in the middle of Palm Bay and yet you would think you were on safari! Boat rental(very reasonable) available right off US 1 at the bridge over Turkey Creek.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There are many things to observe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Some may find it boring but if your a nature lover it is a beautiful place to be. Standing by the water some times you may see a sea cow or a alligator. There is often a good variety of birds to observe there too. I love a solace place to get away this is the place to be. Bring along a picnic and enjoy the day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place that I will never foreget...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used to live in Palm Bay and my family and I walked the Sanctuary many times. Almost every visit brought a different, unexpected experience. Here are a few examples: 1. My wife, and brother and I went for a walk there one evening and we met a squirrel about half way into our walk, the squirrel was very aggressive. He literally would not let us pass by. He (or she) may have been protecting his family, or felt that we were disturbing his peace and quiet. Either way, we turned back and left him alone. 2. Same people, along with our daughter went there one evening in May and we (along with other visitors) were swarmed by black flies. That was a scary moment because they were everywhere and followed us as we ran away from the. Needless to say, but again, the trip was cut short. 3. This time my daughter (who was 9 at the time) and I went canoeing down Turkey Creek and anyone that has ever canoed there would confirm that there are many alligators along the trip. One time we went by an alligator that seemed frozen on the shoreline until we were about 4 feet from it, and it suddenly dove into the water under our boat. We just about jumped out of our skin!

Of course there were other visits that didn't have any drama, and the time spent there was really pleasant. However, it's the times that I listed above that we remember the most about our time visiting Turkey Creek Sanctuary.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A welcome escape into nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a stroll thru Turkey Creek Sanctuary's 130-acres, you may see a manatee and turtles in its creek. Each time its nearly 2-miles of boardwalk appears to end, another crook in the nature trail reveals itself. Sit a spell in the hammock or canoe deck and listen to nature's sounds. This is a place to recharge and unwind. When you're ready to return to civilization, it's just a short distance away in Palm Bay. A lovely place to spend the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sanctuary is the right name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I rented a kayak at the marina. Very reasonable fee. The trip down the river is absolutely serene. At times you will see no sign of civilization at all. If you're quiet, you will see plenty of wildlife - birds, turtles and even gators. It's a bit of a rush to see a 6 to 8' gator on the bank a few feet away from you, especially when you're basically sitting on a piece of plastic at water level! Highly recommended if you're looking for a place to get back to nature.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkey Creek Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Turkey Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkey Creek Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.