We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Columbian food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Estancia de Luisa

La Estancia de Luisa
5270 Babcock St. Suite 28, Palm Bay, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Palm Bay
Description: Best latin restaurant in town.
Restaurant details
Description: Best latin restaurant in town.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Columbian food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

La Estancia de Luisa has great food and great service. The chicken and steak dishes are especially well prepared. I am not a big fan of deep fried foods, but the Empanadas are the best I've ever had. I would highly recommend them as an appetizer.

We were pleasantly surprised by the side salads that accompanied the meals. The plantains were also well prepared. They have all of the traditional deserts, and they were all well done. We also had a carafe of Sangria that was refreshing but not overly sweet.

My only complaint is that beans and rice are considered two separate side dishes. Because I love Cuban food, beans and rice are inseparable in my mind. Also, they do not offer black beans only red (Colorado) beans.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Read so many great reviews, had to try it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

After reading so many great reviews, we had to try it for ourselves. Located in a strip mall, this small but inviting restaurant is not a place you'll just drive by. We sat down and were greeted by whom I assume to be one of the owners. Couldn't be more friendlier. I had the shredded beef and my wife had the grilled chicken. My shredded beef was excellent, but the chicken was very bland. My plantains were bland, the corn cakes were bland, and the empanadas were small, and yes... bland. Don't take this review as a negative one. It is just not to our liking. There's a difference between bad food and food that is just not to your liking. It is apparent, from all the glowing reviews, that they are doing something right. That was also pointed out by the crowd that gathered while we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Colombian Food in Central Florida.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went to La Estancia de Luisa for the first time a few days ago. It was recommended by friends. We found that the food and service was outstanding.We both had the Churrasco La Estancia, (substituted the french fries for tostones. Everything was cooked to perfection. The empanadas with aji were superb. The manager came by several times to check on us. It was a great dining experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is very good and great service. We enjoyed the dinner menu especially the plantain soup and fried plantains. The desert was also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Received a warm welcome our
first time there. Food is fresh and delicious! Believe it is run by family and friends and it shows! If looking to avoid a big
"Chain" experience definitely give LA Estancia de Luisa a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia de Luisa also viewed

Palm Bay, Brevard County
 
Palm Bay, Brevard County
Palm Bay, Brevard County
 

Been to La Estancia de Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estancia de Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.