We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you Like Fast Food BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
425 North State Road 19, Palatka, FL 32177 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
+386-328-4655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Palatka
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
San Mateo, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great if you Like Fast Food BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been here numerous times. Service is always good. One previous reviewer posted that they don't sell sandwiches any more....that's news to me because they are still on their menu. Always love their large tea and they always offer for you to take one with you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Interlachen, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food but no sandwiches anymore :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great food but I like to get a sandwich and baked beans (which are awesome). Was so shocked last week when I went thru the drive through and ordered my usual. They don't sell sandwiches anymore, are you kidding me? Won't go back, unless I need to get their beans for dinner on the ground at church one day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Restaurant chain stuck on past laurels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Living in central Florida 30 years ago, Sonny's was the gold standard of BBQ. We were visiting Florida and had to go to a Sonny's location for old time's sake. Nothing has changed and that is meant in a bad way. The BBQ chicken was average as was the texas toast and the cole slaw. Not the to die for Sonny's that I remember. The corn on the cob was overly sweet (not sure if they boil it, if so, it tasted as if they went overboard with the sugar in the water) and over-over-over cooked. Very disappointing. The restaurant was dark, felt dirty, and is exactly the same as 30 years ago. The wait staff was friendly but was yelling conversations back and forth across the restaurant. I know it is important for restaurants to maintain what "made" them in the first place but it is possible to update without losing that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palatka, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

They have just remodeled this building and they did a fantastic job. All the food is great. You should try the BBQ Ribs all you can eat. That is the way to go. The salad bar has just about everything, if you are into salads. Try anything they offer and you will love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Big portions and lots of food for what we paid for, but pretty average quality. We enjoyed people watching and the service was good. If we hadn't stumbled across it we would never have found it from our hotel and wouldn't say you should go out of your way to search it out, but it did the job for all the family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.