We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean with good cafe views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintang Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bintang Lodge
Town center on main highway, Moni, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Moni
western australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“clean with good cafe views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

simple, clean rooms with plenty of space set back from the road. mosquito nets provided and hung over the beds, one of our kids used a fold out bed that was very very used and sagged, however the doubles were good. small cafe out the front with good views over the valley. good coffee and eggs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Bintang Guest House & Café for 1 night on our way to Kelimutu.
The room was large and clean and very comfortable ! That's a shame you have to get up at 3 am to go to the Kelimutu !!! It's probably a little bit expensive though (300.000 Rp.) but the location is good and the food at the café is very nice too (especially the breakfast coming down the volcano).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Moni: one night in the Eco Lodge and one with Tobias' family. We found Bintang House to be much more value for money. The rooms are simple but neat and clean. The restaurant serves decent food and the view over the valley is great. Moreover, we had a very warm welcome and the staff is really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Bintang is a small cafe with 3 rooms in Moni. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food and drinks at the cafe are great and so is their pricing.
Tobias the owner is a fun guy who gives a discount to left handers!
If I'm in the area I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Bintang guesthouse is running by a family. It is divided in 3 parts; the restaurant which is good, the cheap room (cold water and pancake for breakfast), the confortable room (300 000Rp hot water, welcome drink and a good choice for breakfast).
Tobias is the owner of the confortable room (only one but 2 more with better view will open in june) and the restaurant. His brother is the owner of the cheap room (run by his sister in law).
If you like to have the feeling to be alone, this is not the place. Tobias is a popular man in Moni and his friends like to hang around in the restaurant in the evening. There is also his mother, his wife, his sister and sister in law and 7 kids who are living around.
Tobias speaks good english and like to answer any question. We felt very well taken care of.
And because I told him I didn't like loud music he just swich it of and never put it back for our 2 nights stay.
Even with the not so good weather we were lucky enough to see the lakes in the Kelimutu.
Car for the day (kelimtu, villages, market) was 500 000Rp.
We paid 600 000Rp from Moni to sunset cottages (25km east Maumere)

Room Tip: Choose one of the new room upstair. The view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed at Bintang for one night. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We were enjoying the room until about 3pm in the day when the drains/toilet began to stink. It became unbarable. The misquito net had holes in it but appart from that the room would have been a fine budget option but the smell was disgusting and kept us awake at night. So we book in up the road the next day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bintang Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Lodge

Address: Town center on main highway, Moni, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Moni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Moni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintang Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bintang Lodge to your Saves list