We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Restaurant

Morgan's Restaurant
1660 Tamiami Trl, Osprey, FL 34229-9143
941-966-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 restaurants in Osprey
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Nokomis, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The four of us had dinner entered @ 5:00 pm no one to greet us.
waiter finally appeard not very friendly. Took our order a very long wait for food which was ok, one order salmon burnt on bottom and dry, waiter compensated with a dessert.
Because of poor service and cold food will not return.

joanspanishlakemhp@verizon.net

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    49
    16
    6
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Looks good compared to the old Ramada...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a banquet. I have to say i was not impressed at all. The food was fair. It was your normal banquet type food. Most of it was edible but the green beans were still half raw and tasted dirty. There was supposed to be a dessert service, but it was a complete joke. It looked like a few sysco specials that were cut into small pieces. The event was a cash bar..i felt the drink prices were out of line.. i was drinking Ketel One on the rocks out of a plastic cup and you charge$8.00! This is not the Ritz Carlton...The wait staff left plates on the tables way too long as well. All in all this place needs someone to take charge and step up the food and service..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“they should close back down and stay closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

both the tiki bar and the restaurant is total garbage. i've been there twice-- once about a year ago and the 2nd time recently. the only good thing that came out of it was maybe the manager that came up afterward with a smile. he was very down-to-earth and he understood the service completely sucked. i'd rather have the flu for a month than eat what i got on this plate. hopefully they close down for good because their prices are outrageous and the new staff that's there do not seem experienced as the first time i went. dont know what the owners are aiming for but if it's to suck at everything, they accomplished it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Forgetable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Morgan's is part of Bentley's Resort, and we went to Bentley's to partake of the festivities presented by a local radio station: hanging out by the pool, loud music and free beer (well, actually, an industrial chemical liquid) provided by Michelob. I had a Marguerita, my lady had another well-known tropical cocktail whose name escapes me right now. Since it was around the pool, and a crowd, plastic glasses. Uncivilised, but we have to keep the lawyers in mind.

There were some characters barbecueing hamburgers, but it looked pretty unappetising, so we went to Morgan's for dinner. Apparently many other revellers had the same idea, because the place was packed, and the service was overwhelmed as a result.

The decor can best be categorised as Modern Chrome and Black Leather, with the result that there are a lot of hard flat surfaces and the noise level was deafening.

During the meal, I somehow (without knowing why) started thinking that we had gatecrashed a convention of wheelchair-bound people. However, once I started concentrating, I realised that the chrome and black leather chairs looked like wheelchairs, especially when viewed from the corner of the eye.

The food was acceptable but forgettable. I think I had a steak with french fries. That sort of thing.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ICK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have tried this place twice and it will be the last time. The first time we waited and waited and no one ever came to wait on us. Finally we tracked down the manager and he took our order. We never did have an actual waitress. The food was average at best. The second time we sat out back at the tiki bar and it was just as bad. The food was so-so and the service was awful. There are too many other places to eat in this area to bother with this one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Morgan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.