We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   507 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Longwood
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had an awesome weekend! Friendly staff especially GiGi. She was very informative on everything around town.
The room was clean and cozy. Beautiful view of the ocean. Breakfast was a nice bonus. I wasn't expecting Waffles and Biscuits and Gravy. It hit the spot.
Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    62
    53
    44
See reviews for
132
73
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mid atlantic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well here we go. I checked into this hotel on 5/4/13. Let me say... HORRIBLE. After walking into an empty lobby and having to wait for staff. Who was on the phone calling maintenance about a shower handle(the one that turns the water on) that was ripped off the wall, and now has water flooding the bathroom. I get my room key. My family and I hop on the elevator. We head up to our floor. We exit elevator HUGE hole in the ceiling leaking water into a garbage can. We walk to our room. We open the door that did not open all the way and BAM there it is.. A room with stained floors, 2 full beds with springs, a CRT TV, holes in the wall, cigarette smoke smell coming in through the door that connects us to the other room, the smallest toilet bowl I have ever seen, Rust stains on the shower wall, broken light fixtures, A cracked toilet bowl water reservoir etc, etc, etc.
This place was dive. The people that were staying in the room next to us(who i think were living there) had WWIII in their room. My kids were scared.
Room actually had a dehumidifier in it, it didn't work to well as the carpets were damp.
The power outlets were a joke, they would not hold our charging ports for our cell phones.
Check out was a joke, I walk into the lobby, and there was no one there again. They were working the breakfast room. So much to go on about but i do not want to waste my energy... THIS PLACE IS A JOKE!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

like the title says gigi and brian are great the rest not so much pool was very bad trash cans overflowing we had to ask to get them dumpedand that was in the pool area......pool was so cloudy you could not see bottom...had to ask about that as well ....many guest did ..i ha a kitchen in my room and ckd in ...wow no pots no pans no glasses no plates ..u get the oic i went to ask ...they do no supply them wow.......but i did meet some nice people there and had a good time on the beach with my kids

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our trip started out bad, BOOKIT.COM messed up our reservation for 2 rooms, when we got to the hotel only 1 room was available. We talked to the front desk and they accommidated out party for the night and had another room for us the next day. The rooms were very clean with housekeeping comming in everyday to make sure we had what we needed. The continential breakfast was awesome, my kids loved to make themsves waffles and I loved the bisquits and gravy. The pool was the right temperature and kept clean, We stayed for 7 days and I seen the pool cleaners out there twice which was great. Our next trip to florida we will be staying at the howard johnson inn again

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view, the rooms at the end closer to the ocean have a very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location of the hotel and the friendly staff were pluses. However, the maintenance left alot to be desired! I.e. Dirty bath tub, broken refrigerator door and microwave that didnt turn properly in the room. Poor maintenance in and around the pool area and trash cans were not dumped in a timely matter on grounds-they were overflowing with trash the first few days we were there. Very small breakfast eating area. And the parking situation isnt the best either. But for the money you pay to stay here, you can overlook all of these problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach

Address: 507 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the beach in Ormond Beach, Howard Johnson Inn is close to Riviera Country Club. Additional area attractions include Daytona Lagoon Water park,Speedway and Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Comfort Inn Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Ormond Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.