We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What would you expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ormond Beach

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Ormond Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Ormond Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1614 N US Hwy 1, Ormond Beach, FL 32174 (Formerly Quality Inn Ormond Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 hotels in Ormond Beach
Bryceville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What would you expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We chose this location for the visit to the Speedway for Turkey Rod Run. These rooms all pretty much carry the same theme. This one actually had a microwave and refrigerator in it that was useful. If you look close enough you will find something to complain about but then again think about how much you are paying and what you are getting. No thrills just somewhere to lay your head

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
14
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

It was Aug 2012 my husband and I rode our Harley out there for a lil get away we checked in and left to get dinner came back and we parked in front of our room the here comes this guy yellin at my husband sayin he was parked in his spot and he needed to move we said that the spot was not marked for anybody the guy was the manager for the motel..so we moved the motorcycle and he called the police on us and made us leave and we only had been in the room 30 mins and they would not even give us our money back so I will never stay at that place again we went to the hotel next door and they said that they have so many ppl comin there from motel 6 becuz of the manager....so I suggest not goin to that place

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'm generally a fan of the Motel 6 chain, as I prefer no-frills lodging. I also backpack internationally, and have stayed in some places worse than this... but not much. The good part, for me, was the staff behind the front desk. They were friendly on check-in, and addressed a fairly significant issue with grace and professionalism. That's where the good news stops, especially in light of the fact that there are about a half-dozen other motels in the immediate area at similar prices.

I've always joked about motels where the roaches scatter when you turn on the lights, but I have never experienced it first-hand until this visit. There had been heavy rains, and I was assured that they were "palmetto bugs," but a roach is a roach, and more than one is telling. Staff handled this situation well, notified maintenance, and promptly gave me another room in a different part of the complex that had only one palmetto bug in the bathtub the following morning.

Bugs aside, this Motel 6 appears to exist at the intersection of US 1 North and the Boulevard of Broken Dreams. The furniture was completely beaten, with large strips of laminate finish peeling or missing on the nightstands, dresser, desk and fridge stand. During the day, sunlight came in from a half-inch crack under the door. The clientele was somewhat surly, and I was under the impression that Motel 6 was the primary residence for a handful of them, who availed themselves of the weekly rates. The room was musty, but cleared within a couple of hours of full-blown air conditioning. The carpet had visible crumbs in the corners. One of the lamps in the first room I was given lacked a shade.

Motel 6, like the other motels in the area, is conveniently located 20 minutes from the beach, and an eighth-mile from a Gentleman's Club called "Cheaters."

In summary, I simply cannot advise people to stay here, especially with so many other options in the area. It's next to a Days Inn, a Scottish Inn, and a Super 8 among others. Pay the extra five or ten bucks so you don't have to check the bed throughout the night, and leave this one to the day laborers and long-term guests nearing the end of their ropes.

Room Tip: To find a good room, go across the street to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This property was obviously previously owned by another chain and not yet converted as it bore no resemblence to the others. The room and bath were squeaky clean. Thicker towels, really comfortable bed with big fluffy pillows ( and plenty of them). I did not want to get up! The desk staff was courteous and friendly. All and all a very pleasant stay. I will definitely stay here again. I hope they maintain this one as it is. A real treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

In May 2012 we made reservations for a 9 day stay , 3 adults, 2 rooms , 1 dog. Everything good with our reservations , even checked with them before we left Pa . Drove 13 hrs got to the motel to be told to get our dog out of the lobby and we would not be able to have a room with them due the size of our dog. We have a great dane who is 3 yrs old and listens so good. We ask for the mananger to be told he was not there , the clerk on desk duty was eating an ice cream cone and to busy worrying about that then helping us. We said we made the reservations back in May. We were told to leave that they are a private owned motel 6 and their rule is no pets over 40 lbs . We were also lied to about the managner not being on site when all of a sudden he appeared out of the back with such a nasty attitude , told us to get out of his motel. as we got in our car to leave he got in his car and followed us down the highway all the while hooking his horn, running us off the highway. We had to call the Ormond police . What a way to start our vacation especially after driving 13 hrs , all we wanted to do was relax . WOW so dispointing . But needless to say we found another motel that the staff was great and didnt mind the size of our dog. Stay away from motel 6 managner/owner is a nightmare with an attitude that needs adjusted on how to deal with customers. And needs a better staff to work the desk . very rude all the way around ................................ GREAT DANE OWNER FROM PA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was a late night...but the rate was very attractive...30bucks...you cannot beat that.
The front desk was friendly...
rooms--i think the rooms are clean, but when we parked the car and then walking to the room, outside the room, god, there were like 5 huge roaches !!! live!!!! I was scared, but then when we got in the room, it looked ok. Not dirty.
Anyway, it was not a bad experience, since I stayed at a lot of places before, i'm a business traveler. I would give it 2 stars but for the price, 3 in total.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located right on the higway so a car is needed, but only 20 mins drive to daytona beach. also ormond beach is very nice and quiet. rooms were basic but clean, typical motel 6. Staff were friendly. pool provided but was not maintained, would not go in there! Every thing else was great, gas station 2mins walk away for food and drink. would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ormond Beach

Address: 1614 N US Hwy 1, Ormond Beach, FL 32174 (Formerly Quality Inn Ormond Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 hotels in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ormond Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Motel 6 Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormond Beach Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ormond Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.