We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Kept Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove on Ormond Beach

Save Saved
You added The Cove on Ormond Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 hotels in Ormond Beach
Evans, GA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well-Kept Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from a week at The Cove. This is our second visit. Our first visit was 2 years ago. 2 years ago we stayed in the North Tower. This visit we were in the South Tower. 2 pluses the South Tower has over the North Tower: in unit laundry and the 2nd bedroom has 2 double beds. North Tower is the only tower that allows smoking on its balconies. So, if you are a smoker, request the North Tower. I believe the North Tower has a few upgrades that the South Tower units don't have. From what I can remember about the North Tower, the kitchen had granite and upgraded appliance. However, the South Tower's kitchens are just fine.

The weather did not really cooperate for us. It was cold and very windy most of the week. Our 11 year old boys did however, still enjoy the pool slide. Even the freezing cold pool couldn't stop them from playing on the slide. It's nice that the resort has beach chairs available for their guests. And, you can check out pool/beach towels on a daily basis.

This resort is good for families. Younger guests/couples may wish to look elsewhere. Nothing going on at the resort. But, the area around the resort has much to do.

We do recommend this properrty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    97
    49
    20
    13
See reviews for
153
74
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are in a junior suite. Very clean and good service. No maid service, makes your stay more like real life. You replenish your towels as needed at front desk. Bring your own to toiletres, they supply bath soap, dish soap and dishwasher soap. Junior suite is cosy w Murphy bed, full kitchen w blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher...etc. good sound barriers between apts.

Room Tip: Our junior suite is on west side of south building. Ocean view is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a hard property to review, since these units are time-shares, and some are more worn, and cleaner than others. We have stayed here a few times, always thinking there must be a better option in the area, but not finding one. Ormond beach is more family friendly than Daytona, with less traffic, and noise. With children, it is nice to have separate bedrooms, and a full kitchen, and laundry in the unit. Rooms on the ocean view side are brighter, and more quiet. The first floor units are noisy, and overlook the parking lot. There is no daily maid service, and you end up buying necessities, and doing light cleaning. The pools are not really heated, but the beach is not crowded, and usually a better option.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. There is no maid service, or restaurant. The small apartment units are good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have 4 children (ages 5, 5, 4, 1) and found this to be an excellent place for families with young children. Our 2-bedroom South Tower room was a great size for a family of 6. The room was spacious and comfortable. We didn't have the best view on the 2nd floor though. Most of our view was of parking lots and the neighboring resort. But having a living room and full kitchen was a tremendous help to us. It is also nice to be able to quickly walk down to the beach or pool any time we wanted.

The only negatives were: 1. Our room (201A) had a problem with ants (we aren't picky though so we just killed them and moved on!), 2. The outdoor pool (which is otherwise great!) was very cold even with 80 degree temps during the day in October. The nights are cool enough to really cool the pool off by morning and the building blocks the sun in the afternoon making it a bit chilly. We recommend the resort get a heater for the pool to at least get the water temp up to a comfortable level. 3. The master bathroom has no door and the shower door is clear glass. There is no privacy in the bath or shower unless the bedroom door is closed. It would be nice to at least have a curtain covering the doorway from the room to the bath area.

October is, overall, a great time to visit. There are no crowds anywhere for anything, either at the resort or for any of the attractions in the Daytona area.

Room Tip: Our room in the South Tower had a washer and dryer in the room, which is a huge help to a family wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went for biketoberfest and it was a busy time,the staff was very warm and welcoming and had special parking and security for the motorcycles. The room we had was beautiful and very comfortable. When we go back to enjoy the beaches we will be staying here. Our kids are grown but this would be a wonderful place for a family to visit when you see the pool area with a great enclosed slide.

Room Tip: Best ocean view higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here in October for a few nights and were really impressed! The two bedroom was huge, nice, and clean! The location was great...close enough to Daytona for anything but far enough from the ongoing hustle and bustle! The pool and beach access was great. The staff will try to schedule you for a timeshare meeting upon arrival....we just didn't go...it's not mandatory and we weren't going to waste a part of our short time there sitting in a meeting for something we didn't want.

Room Tip: Request a top floor with beach views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

steps from the beach. wonderful pool with awesome slide. had a ground level 2 bed/2 bath was handy to stepping out from the patio area to the parking lot... probably not very secure, but it was handy packing up :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Address: 145 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck, with a pool featuring a two-story tube slide, hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort’s over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea – golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine’s Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove on Ormond Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.