We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“con artist” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Floridian Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Floridian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Floridian Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 hotels in Ormond Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“con artist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

I am an owner of one of the delux units. Well they were delux units when we purchased it. This place has been over sold. You cant enjoy your vacation for being hassled to purchase something. The reservation system requires one year or more to schedule your stay. The bonus time is a flat lie. The rooms have been allowed to degenerate to the point of needing to be replaced. The stairway smells like barf. We purchased the big unit as we have older children it takes two cars to get there, you only get one parking space. They change the rules evey time it looks like they may have to honor their contract. Lost their gold crown. RSC should not honor any new Spinaker deals. I doubt I'll pay the tax and Maint fee this year may put it in escrow and enter litigation. They had not even fixed the roof from the huricane in Aug of 04. Beware if you are considering purchasing a unit. The one they show you will not be like the one you will get when you show up. THE SAME STYLE WILL NOT BE AS BIG AND NICE AS THE ONE YOU SAW AND THOUGHT YOU PURCHASED. You can not even enjoy the deck outside the room for the heat/cool system. The cooling condensing unit sits on the deck and runs all the time, if what they are doing is running, for the most part they just make noise. These units were not too bad when they were new but they have been allowed to rot, not to mention the indoor filters are never changed. The A/C systems stink. On the good side some of the employees are very nice and work hard at their job unfortunatly their hands ard tied. This place needs to clean up its act!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    21
    17
    14
See reviews for
89
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2005

I am a "special event" time owner at this condo. I have filed complaints with the owners, to no avail. The condo facts are they have the worst reservation system and guest treatment policies I've ever experienced. When a person pays out the kind of money they charge there you would expect at least some kind courtesy from the own site personel. Their "Bonus Time" promise is "bunk". And they change the onsite rules to suit themselves, with absolutely no consistency or owner input.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

WOW, I loved The Royal Floridian!! Unlike other hotels The Royal Floridian has great activities to do EVERY DAY!!! Like beach volley ball, water aerobics, art,ice cream socials,bingo,seashell hunting and much more. I would give this hotel five stars every time. There staff are very helpful and nice. If you need to use your computer or accsess the internet they have a computer and the net. I really liked to play on the pool table,even though i lost everytime to all the new friends i have made! I loved this hotel and can't wait until next year vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

We just returned from a stay at the Royal Floridian. We rented a week, I 'm not big on the timeshare thing. Aside from a reservation mixup which they adjusted we had a great stay. We had one of the 1 Bedroom deluxe suites. These are on each end of the building and have a great view, large windows across the front and down the side. You need to be above the 3rd floor to enjoy it. The rooms were clean and in good condition and very large. The floors are in tile, no carpet, which I think is the way to go in rental property. Someone had set the game lock code on the TV which blocked the channel I wanted to watch the race on, 1 call and 10 minutes later a new TV was delivered to the room. The outside pool and deck is great, just get a table early if you want one there's only about 5 pool side but plenty of chaise louges. We have been going to the Daytona area for about 15 years and this was the best time we've had. If we go back next year I will say here again if I get reservations. Considering the amount of damage and repair going on from the hurricanes else where in Daytona the Royal Floridian was on top of their game. Don't worry about their resturant cause there's an Outback, TGI Friday's, Jullians, Stonewood Grill & Tavern, and I think Sonny's BBQ within 200 yds either direction of the resort and an IHOP about 3 blocks south for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

They lost their Gold Crown1 No wonder. For us it was the worst RCI exchange we've had in 10 years. Bedroom so small we could hardly move around; tiny bathroom with defective plumbing; kitchen appliances worn out and defective; no closet where to hang our clothes-- we had to put our suitcase on the coffee table; kitchen garbage can 3 feet from the dining room table; no table for the phone we had to put it on the floor; extremely noisy fridge 4 feet from the bed, it had to be turned off every night so we could sleep; on a number of occasions difficulty finding a parking space. When we asked for a better room we we deakt with a rather abrasive reservation clerk whoi blamed RCI for the type of room we were given. If you are an RCI exchanger be prepared to be given the units which they can't sell or rent to cash renters. The only redeeming value was the location on the beach but in Florida it is not so rare even in moderately priced resorts..

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

We are residents of Orlando with three children. On a day trip we decided that we would tour the timeshare. We have visited other time-share's in the area. Let me tell you, with three children, we had no intentions on purchasing anything. Basically going just for the free hotel stay. We spoke to a young sales guy there, who unlike other places was very easy to talk to. I was very impressed with the atmosphere and how nice everyone was there. He took us on a tour of the property. The outdoor pool and mini-golf was great. The indoor pool was a little strong with clorine, which was done that morning. The rooms were beautiful. He showed us some of the older rooms that hadn't been refurnished yet, which were great. The two bedroom which we looked at, in the masterbed room had a kingsize bed with a whirlpool tub in the middle of the room. There was balcony access from the masterbed room. The rooms were very spacious and what a view. My husband and I totally changed out minds and purchase this as a time share. This was a great deal! If you are interested...please check them out and tell them that we sent you!!
If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

BEWARE! This hotel does a Bait and Switch with room reservations. We did not get the room we booked. We got the worst room in the place! It's very small, barren, no decorations, no tables, chairs to sit at. Furniture was dull and in need of repair. I have seen better rooms for less money at the Holiday Inn. I do not see how this resort rates a Gold Crown Rating.

The check in staff doesn't care whether their guests are happy or not. We asked to be moved several times and they would not move us. We asked to speak to the reservations manager who was never around.

The restaurant was rarely open for something to eat. So don't count on eating there. The indoor pool and hot tub are so full of chlorine that your eyes and throat will burn using them.

All rooms are ocean front so that is nice. There is a nice outside area with grills to cook your own food on, a kids play area, a kiddie pool, large adult pool, shuffle board, basketball court and 9 hole putt putt course. All these are nice.

If your looking for a luxury 5 star hotel room forget it!!!! Parking is underground and the roof of the garage feels like it's going to cut through the cars roof. I hated the parking garage. Beds are hard, no pillow top mattresses here. Had to ask for blanket and extra pillows. No blow dryers in room so bring your own. Room was not stocked with pens, paper, phone book, robes, mini shampoos or lotions, or luggage rack to name a few.

I have stayed at some very nice RCI timeshares before that were gorgeous this doesn't make the cut. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Floridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Floridian Resort

Address: 51 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Floridian Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience all that the Royal Floridian Resort has to offer. Our award winning property is located on the white sandy shores of beautiful Ormond Beach Florida and has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation including the addition of the newly constructed Royal Floridian South. The property's ideal location and array of amenities make the Royal Floridian Resort the perfect place to stay while vacationing in the Daytona Beach area. The resort's 168 spacious guest rooms, featuring oceanfront and ocean view rooms offer ideal lodging accommodations. All rooms in our north building are equipped with at minimum a microwave & mini-fridge, color cable television, DVD player, alarm clock, and large private balcony. Laundry facilities are also located on site. All units in the newly opened Royal Floridian South include private balconies, full kitchens, LCD televisions, granite countertops, soft marble showers, along with in room washer dryer combos. Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure you'll feel right at home. Our tropically landscaped pool area includes a heated oceanfront pool, kid’s pool, and playground area. Also included are a hot tub, tiki bar, miniature golf course, basketball court, and shuffleboard courts. Seasonally the resort offers activities for both children and adults such as pool-side games, ice cream socials, and wine and cheese events. Indoor facilities include a heated pool, hot tub, exercise room, gaming area, and pool table. Royal Floridian Resort is located just minutes from the Daytona Beach International Airport (DBA) and Daytona International Speedway. The Ocean Center Complex, Destination Daytona, and Ponce Inlet Lighthouse are all within miles of the resort. Walt Disney World Parks, Cape Canaveral, and Sea World are all located about an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Royal Floridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Floridian Hotel Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Floridian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.