We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room right on the ocean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Floridian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Floridian Resort to your Saves list
Royal Floridian Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful room right on the ocean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice resort! Staff friendly and helpful...our room is gorgeous room 4250. Big bedroom nice jacuzzi tub in room...tastefully decorated. Just got here last night but so far we love it! Sunrise was gorgeous this morning...If you are a beach or water lover this place is really nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    33
    20
    21
See reviews for
107
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our third stay here and once again we enjoyed it. We were on the 4th floor with ocean facing balcony which was a different kind of room to the efficiencies we've stayed in before and we actually preferred this as it had more space and storage yet still provided a fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc and had a bigger balcony and a king bed. Managed to get some sun around the pool the first afternoon which was great as both times we had stayed here before it had been stormy, then the following morning we got up to - stormy weather! We still enjoyed being there though, we just wrapped up and watched the ocean on the balcony with numerous cups of coffee! We loved walking on the beach and there are plenty of great restaurants in the area. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and our unit was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were in 2605 in the "South" building. Wonderful people helping you! This is a two bedroom unit measuring about 40x20 feet. The floor was so shiny when we walked in, we thought it was wet. It was a very nice room except there is minimal storage. Only two very, very small closets with no hanging space because of the shelves in the closet. We had our suitcases stacked in corners of the non-traffic areas. There was only one dresser in one of the bedrooms. Washer and dryer are apartment size but performed beautifully. There is a mid-week towel and quick pick-up service. Towel exchange is always available in the lobby. My biggest drawback was the noise!!! Very thin walls with tile floors and hard closing (slamming) entry doors. Would I recommend this resort? Absolutely!! Minimal on-site stores but everything you need is in strip malls within walking distance. Kitchen is well stocked with plates, utensils, etc. No room service or on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Room was not up to normal stands we have come to know here But still Okay

Bathroom was not as clean as normal with a hairy tub and bathroom walls but I rinsed that clean rather than causing a fuss. ( I already had a rough week the week before so I let it slide). Kitchen was smaller than the room we were used to but it was due to different layout with not using space to advantage. Balcony overlooks the water which is always nice. Lack of frying pan large enough to do bacon or a kettle always intrigues me. I discovered a critter in the room, which was dealt with by pest guy the next morning by spraying outside our door etc. Rooms were refurbished not many years ago and need to be done again to bring this resort up to it former glory. My daughter stayed with us the first night and the pullout matters was so dirty she closed it back up and slept on the couch. And internet was vey spotty this time, I guess I need to find a room closer to modem or router….

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in the South building in an end unit facing the ocean. There were windows on the front facing the ocean and on the side of the unit because it was the end. Fantastic views! Units are clean and well laid out. Building is only a couple of years old so everything was new looking. Security is high. You need your room key card to use the elevator from the parking garage and you need your card or codes to go from the south building to the main building and down to the beach. It was November but we managed to get into the ocean. It was very invigorating! The sand is hard packed and it stays shallow for quite a ways out but it was windy nearly every day so we could not really swim as the waves were pretty high. We went from the ocean to the swimming pool which I found to be about the same temperature as the ocean. Usually the pools are kept so warm it is not refreshing. This one was. In contrast, the hot tub was quite hot. There is a mini golf course on the site and we managed to play it once. It kept raining every day but the first day we were there but what can one do about that! If there was one negative about the unit it would be the chairs/stools used around the kitchen island. They were definitely uncomfortable and couldn't be easily pulled in to the counter once you were on them so I ended up leaning over a lot to eat.

Room Tip: If you want a one bedroom ask for one on the end. The two bedroom are in the middle. We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was perfect for us and another couple that stayed with us. There was a pull out sleeper couch as well, although we didn't need it. Our bedroom had a balcony that looked out onto the ocean, and the balcony could also be reached via our living room. There were plenty of TVs (one in each bedroom and one in the living room), the kitchen was small but adequate and was equipped with a stove, oven refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, and microwave. The condo was very clean. We could change towels or sheets any time we wanted, and overall, everything was great. I had read other reviews that said the new South building was much better, and that may or may not have been true. But the original North building where we stayed was excellent and met all our needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed one week. Check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. We had not been in this area of Florida. Room was on first floor overlooking the ocean. Beautiful view. Sunrise and sunsets were awesome. Great time at the beach. Lots of activities at the resort. "Jessie", activities director was great at getting people to participate. Hated to pack up and go home. Will come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Floridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Floridian Resort

Address: 51 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Floridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience all that the Royal Floridian Resort has to offer. Our award winning property is located on the white sandy shores of beautiful Ormond Beach Florida and has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation including the addition of the newly constructed Royal Floridian South. The property's ideal location and array of amenities make the Royal Floridian Resort the perfect place to stay while vacationing in the Daytona Beach area. The resort's 168 spacious guest rooms, featuring oceanfront and ocean view rooms offer ideal lodging accommodations. All rooms in our north building are equipped with at minimum a microwave & mini-fridge, color cable television, DVD player, alarm clock, and large private balcony. Laundry facilities are also located on site. All units in the newly opened Royal Floridian South include private balconies, full kitchens, LCD televisions, granite countertops, soft marble showers, along with in room washer dryer combos. Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure you'll feel right at home. Our tropically landscaped pool area includes a heated oceanfront pool, kid’s pool, and playground area. Also included are a hot tub, tiki bar, miniature golf course, basketball court, and shuffleboard courts. Seasonally the resort offers activities for both children and adults such as pool-side games, ice cream socials, and wine and cheese events. Indoor facilities include a heated pool, hot tub, exercise room, gaming area, and pool table. Royal Floridian Resort is located just minutes from the Daytona Beach International Airport (DBA) and Daytona International Speedway. The Ocean Center Complex, Destination Daytona, and Ponce Inlet Lighthouse are all within miles of the resort. Walt Disney World Parks, Cape Canaveral, and Sea World are all located about an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Floridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Floridian Hotel Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Floridian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.