We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   621 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Groveport, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great pool area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had great service at this hotel/resort. They have updated the bedrooms, and living room areas. They look great. However the bathrooms are very outdated and shower was dirty. The kitchenette was ok but could also be updated. They are supposed to be updating these areas. Once they are updated I would highly recommend this place. It was good but not great at this time. I really enjoyed the pool area, one of the highlights! I think they have 1 and 2 bedrooms, we had a 2 bedroom.

Room Tip: I would choose an ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello KimBarnes27,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa del Mar. We are pleased you enjoyed the updated rooms and the pool area. We are happy you felt you received great service. We hope to welcome you back when all areas have been updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
62
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Used our Bluegreen points to book the 2bdrm, 1 bath oceanfront. The pictures accurately depict what the unit looked like. For the time spent in the unit it was comfortable for 3 women. The view was excellent; staff was very accommodating; easy access to the beach. While this most likely was originally a hotel, I went in knowing it was an older resort and it would not be as pristine as other Bluegreen resorts. We enjoyed oceanfront, and seeing the gorgeous sunrises each morning. All in all, I was pleased with it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Debbi W,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Casa del Mar. Your feedback as a Bluegreen owner is appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the oceanfront location and found the unit comfortable. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all owners and guests. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hello travel family, stayed here for a week during the X-mas holiday.Every-one here was very nice and friendly. The rooms(2-beroom suite), was nice and roomy, the beds where big and comfortable. The kitchen was small, and hardly any cabinet or counter-space.There is no washer or dryer in the suites, there are some down-stairs on 1st fl.The suites also are all white (no color) . The biggest joy staying here was the VIEW, it was amazzzzing, also walking down the board-walk & enjoying it with my family.

Room Tip: If possible choose 3rd fl or higher and get a room facing the WATER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello rogerchicago,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa del Mar. We are happy you enjoyed the roomy accommodations and the view. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Ormond Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I don't know what to say about this one but here it goes. I did not pay to stay here (used choice points) and if I had to pay I would not stay for the price that they had listed ($138.00). With that said, I was in town for 1 night visiting friends and only needed a place to sleep. The room was not inviting but it was clean. It needs to be modernized. I don't know if all of the rooms look the same but the one I stayed in was nothing to jump up and down about. The good things about this property though are 1) there is a bar on the premises. 2) You can get a room that faces the ocean which is great for watching the sunrise. 3) You are right on the beach and can easily walk out to the beach.

Room Tip: get a room facing the ocean. Great views of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello 247HardWorker,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa del Mar. We are happy you enjoyed the beachfront location and view from the room. We are sorry to hear your overall experience did not meet your expectations. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As vacation clubs go Bluegreen, RCI, Marriott, etc, the best locations are the ones built from the ground up. Renovated properties are always crappy in comparison. Stayed at Casa Del Mar while visiting family for Thanksgiving holiday. The staff was warm and very helpful but our room was stinky, kitchen microscopic, and there was NO WiFi! The next time we travel to Ormond Beach, we'll stay someplace else.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Robyn M,

Thank you for staying with us at Casa del Mar and sharing your review. While we are glad you had a positive experience with our staff, we regret to learn that you did not have a great stay overall. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Was not bluegreen quality. Old hotel with some paint - they tried to dress it up, but I was very disappointed. It was clean, staff was very friendly. I've stayed in other Bluegreen properties which were spectacular. So this was a downer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello debrahun,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Casa del Mar. We regret to learn that your experience did not meet your expectations for a Bluegreen resort. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were disappointed there was not any type of continental breakfast. I was visiting for a conference and did not have time to go for a meal beforehand. Biggest shock was when I got home there was $100 additional charge on my bank statement. We had already paid per Priceline. When I called I was advised that this was for deposit which would be refunded by them by the end of the day, however it is a Saturday and will likely take my bank 3 days to repost it to my account. I was not advised there would be this fee, neither on check in or check out and had not figured this extra charge into my budget. Frustrating. Our room also had a musty odor and we slept with the patio door open to clear it out. Too busy with conference to check out anything else about the hotel. Close to beachfront.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Stacey C,

Thank you for staying at Casa del Mar. We are committed to the highest standards of quality accommodations and customer service. We would like to learn more about your particular concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 621 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.