We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really oceanside, but excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lulu's Oceanside Grill

Lulu's Oceanside Grill
30 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL
386-673-2641
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 169 restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not really oceanside, but excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have eaten at Lulu's a number of times over the years when we visit Ormond Beach. It has never disappointed. We generally go for lunch, since it is less crowded than at night. The atmosphere is tropical/quirky (wall art is mixture of pictures of "bathing beauties" from Daytona Beach circa 1950s and posters for 1950s and 1960s "B" movies). There are a number of very good sea food and sandwich/wrap options, including excellent specials that appear to be "catch of the day" sea food. We have never had service problems, but we have always eaten inside, so we don't know if the people on the patio may be ignored by the waitstaff. We would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family (and have brought a number of them there), since the food is excellent and not that expensive (my wife, who loves sweet potato fries, says that theirs is by far the best she has tasted).
The restaurant is one block off Granada Blvd. (Route 40) and one block off Atlantic (A-1-A), not oceanside, but it is worth looking for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    102
    75
    35
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was scared to dine here considering all the reviews on bad horrible service. We were seated immeaditely by a very nice nicely dressed and groomed hostess. Our waitress Andria was amazing and im tough on waitress i waitressed for 12 years and i know to be real good is hard but so is every job. I could not find one thing she did wrong not one she was the best service i think we have ever had anywhere. So if your worried about the service just request andria shes awesome. We wil be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wannabe oceanside grill that comes off a bit short...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Although Lulu's presented itself well with both its indoor and outdoor seating options, it failed to live up to the image it tried to present in many respects. Just as its location, two blocks from the beach, fails to qualify it as oceanside in my eyes...so did its waitstaff fail to impress. Although we arrived well after the lunch rush, we soon learned that our waiter believed that we needed to sit and enjoy the view on the patio for large segments of time before meriting his attention with regards to service. Two Arnold Palmer's rather than higher priced alcoholic beverages, add at least ten minutes to the wait time. Sandwiches rather than a pricer dinner at 2:00 pm; add another 15 to 20 minutes to the clock. I ordered their Philly cheese steak and requested that the chef go lightly on the peppers, however it arrived swimming in peppers with nary a mushroom or piece of shaved ribeye in sight. My husband fared better with his Cuban, but reported it to be a bit greasy. The side options were on the heavy side with a choice of fries, rice, potatoes, pasta, and a grilled veggie option. Fresh fruit or cottage cheese would have provided a nice alternative, but were apparently only available with the Sunday Brunch menu. Check please....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Quirky cute restaurant with nice atmosphere. The menu is chock full of island themed entree's and the service was good. Dine outside for dinner, you can feel the ocean breeze...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and in walking distance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance to our resort. Our family liked it so well that we went there twice. The food was wonderful both times! I got the pulled pork tacos and the shrimp tacos--both were delicious and filling. Other people in our group really enjoyed their salads and catch of the day sandwiches. At our second visit the service was slow for no apparent reason, but the food was good enough to make up for it. Our first visit was perfect. :-) Expect to pay $12+ per meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu's Oceanside Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lulu's Oceanside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lulu's Oceanside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.