We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Save
You added Sun Deck Motel to your Saves list
1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Southwest Ohio
1 review
“Best kept secret on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Have always enjoyed my stay at the Sun Deck. Have been here several times in the last 5 years. Owner Robert and family run the motel. They will do anything for you. Rooms are very clean and roomy. Pet Friendly. Walk to stores.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
51
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Peaceful and serene environment with a breathtaking view of the ocean from any angle on the property. Friendly owners who are kind and courteous. Comfortable bed with high quality linens and furnishings. The room even had a nice comfortable couch with a coffee table in front. Also included high speed internet, which was required by my employer for my stay here. This was originally just a business trip, where I'd planned to stay at the cheapest, non-roach infested hotel, however it turned out to be a quality vacation. They even accommodated my dog! I even decided to stay another day and drive 1 hour north commute for my next days job, just to stay one more day at the Sun Deck Motel.

No pool and No phones in room.- Who needs a pool when you have the ocean and who needs a hotel phone when everyone has a cell phone! This keeps for a calm peaceful environment, not over-taken by tourists. Its like having your own peace of the beach while your here.

The mainstream hotel bracket here will run you $80-$125 for a 2 star hotel in the off- season. For the quality of a 4 star, you pay only a fraction. Maybe I should leave this whole paragraph out, just so I know something you dont know.

  • Liked — The quality of the room for the price, and the 10 step walk to the ocean
  • Disliked — maybe the parking, but thats not a variable factor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Since we had no photos to go by, I was a little bit nervous of the "unseen". When we drove in the laneway of the Sun Deck, I said to my partner I think I'm going to cry...this looks so very nice!
Robert (owner) and his wife and son were so very hospitable. We had no complaints about the motel, and the location was perfect. Robert gave us the beach front ground floor efficiency and the view of the ocean every day was wonderful. There is a plaza directly across from the motel that has a Publix grocery store and a great little restaurant.
We found wonderful little places to eat great fish!! High Tides at Flagler Beach has awesome fish sandwiches, and the Turtle Shack just north of the traffic lights on Flagler Beach was well worth the drive, and along the coast is such a nice drive!
Our room was cleaned every day, and the staff were very eager to make sure that we were comfortable.
The guests were very welcoming as well, and many were spending the winter months there.
We ABSOLUTELY loved the Sun Deck, and will go back next year for a month!

  • Liked — The location and the price.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Excellent location,quiet yet real close to all the action!!
The best of both worlds! Will definetly be back!

Robert,you ROCK!! and all the rest of the staff too!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

Friendly folk, clean rooms, concerned management will treat you right. Charcoal and gas grills, walk to shopping, quiet no-drive beach. One phone for guests, bring your cell. No pool, which is OK by me. jgs

  • Liked — Quiet time
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mention
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg Ontario Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

While I write this revew I am sitting on the patio in front of our room at the Sun Deck Motel. The ocean view is spectacular and the waves of the ocean can be heard. The ocean is only a few steps away and not as crowded as in Daytona Beach just a few miles away. The price is right and the owners are very accomidating. There is shopping right across the road as well as much more not very far away. I definatly plan on making this a yearly destination point.

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

The Sun Deck has been in Ormond Beach for years. I stayed here about 8 years ago and swore I would never go back. Recently the owners sold the motel so I thought I would try it again. The place is not fancy but the new owners seem to be taking good care of it and the stay was much better. The motel is on the beach and convenient to everything.

  • Liked — Quiet and on the beach
  • Disliked — Gravel driveway
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ormond Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Deck Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.