We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill Restaurant

Bonefish Grill Restaurant
814 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7817
386-615-7889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 176 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good food, nice service, reasonable prices like most Bone Fish Grill Restaurants, they had nice specials and good wine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    69
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not up to our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed meals at the Bonefish Grill in both Maryland and Florida. We’ve gone for celebrations like birthdays and anniversaries. So when we wanted to treat our friends to a special meal, we chose Bonefish in Ormond Beach.

Unfortunately, our experience did not live up to our expectations. Unlike the more adult atmosphere at their other venues, the Ormond Beach restaurant seemed to cater more to younger families. For example, the “background” music was too loud and raucous. The whole scene from the lighting to the energy level of the waitstaff reminded me more of the ubiquitous family restaurants.

The meals were unremarkable as well. All four of us had some variety of ‘Hand Helds.” My Baja fish tacos contained more filing than fish. Even our waiter turned his nose up at the tilapia in my tacos. My fried potato chips were tasty however. Our friends’ Sir Will’s fish and chips were heavily breaded and greasy as were the Bang Bang tacos. On the positive side, our waiter was attentive and the bread with dipping oil was excellent.

In sum we were disappointed and a little embarrassed about taking our friends to the Bonefish Grill, especially after we talked up the restaurant beforehand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca SC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

While the building was decorated nicely that is where it ended! We had wanted to try the grill and had the opportunity to with friends and were sorely disappointed. Expecting something inline with other eating establishments it was not, I don't like coming to a nicer restaurant and finding butcher paper over the table cloth, a waiter that really didn't have the answers we asked about the items on the menu and a very limited menu that was over priced. The food did not arrive at the same time and the amount of grease indicated that the fried material was not properly drained. Very disappointing will not retry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice fish dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Fresh delicious fish and chicken. I had the stone crab claws which were delicious, large and actually cheaper than any other place I have had them. Service with real smiles. Food came quickly despite a nearly full house. Try the corn and crab chowder if your cholesterol is under control. House special Margarita was excellent as well. Call ahead on busy days. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A worthwhile chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Many times we've been disappointed with chain restaurants, but not in this case! Our meal was really good, the service was excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant was appealing and comfortable.

We had an Edamame appetizer that was seasoned just right, and an ideal starter to peak one's appetite. The food was fresh and there's a super variety on the menu with very reasonable prices--what more can you ask for?

I will certainly be open to trying more of these restaurants, and hope they will be the equal. That being said, often the staff and management of individual chains can make all the difference, and this place is definitely one I'd return to--job well done!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.