We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and awesome food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Grille

River Grille
950 N.US1, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
386-615-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 177 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Augusta, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ambiance and awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good prices, excellent service and fabulous food! Be sure to sit on the deck over looking the river. Worth the trip!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    100
    37
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & ambience....food not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Riverview Grille has a beautiful locale & good service, beautiful decor, perhaps we ordered the wrong entree, the conch chowder was good, but the jambalaya was a disaster on a soup plate! it was not jambalaya, but their own version of jambalaya Soup! I could not eaten it, then I ordered desert to try & compensate for the horrible entry, & found to be another desaster, I ordered the bread pudding, as mentioned, perhaps they were bad choices, ashame 'cause it costs us $60. plus. will not return there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergrilletomoka, Guest Relations Manager at River Grille, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are very sorry you were so disappointed in the food. We encourage you to come back again and give us another try. Please make sure to tell the servers if you are not pleased with the meal you order and we will do anything in our power to fix the problem. We hope you will give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ribeye is worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place has a great ambiance. You get huge portions and the food is tops. I do wish there were a few more choices. I despise age limits on kids menus, my 13 year old eats very little but I have to pay for a full size meal she wont finish, an $8 hot dog annoys me, even though it is a delicious huge meal.
The ribeye was one of the best I have ever had in a restaurant! The service was "ok" but when you are enjoying the river and the food is so good it makes up for it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergrilletomoka, Guest Relations Manager at River Grille, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your Ribeye and that you enjoy the RiverGrille's atmosphere. We work very hard to have our customers feel like they are walking into a relaxing and enjoyable eating establishment when they enter the restaurant....one where they can enjoy the meal and take some time and enjoy the scenery. We encourage you to try some appetizer options next time for your 13 year old. Or please speak with your server and we will try and accommodate any requests you may have. Thank you so much for visiting the RiverGrille on the Tomoka. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice basic grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our first visit to River Grille.
Beautiful setting right on the river with tons of outdoor seating.
Appetizer - spinach/artichoke dip was very good.
Burgers and chowder were also very good.
Draft beer was disappointing. Not cold enough and served in plastic cups.
Order the large portion of seafood platter. Portions were skimpy on the regular size.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
“Above average food, nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This restaurant did an exceptional job of accommodating our party of 11 on its spacious and inviting covered rear deck. Service was good, and most in our party liked what they have. Living in coastal Georgia, I'm used to seaside establishments with kitchens a notch above this one, and my fish was overcooked and overseasoned, but most in our party seemed satisfied.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Grille also viewed

 

Been to River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.