We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ocean Front Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Makai Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Makai Beach Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
South Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Ocean Front Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I loved the location of this place, the beach was lovely. We found a star fish when the tide was out! Walking distance to many shops, and restaurants. Staff wonderful, very helpful, seem to honestly enjoy their job. Pool was warm. Be warned no coffee pot in room. Had to request sheet ect for pull out bed but very prompt. Overall would stay there again. We had a great time, at a great value. Also could be cleaner and upgraded but appears they are doing so.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    29
    17
    47
See reviews for
74
50
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is a total dump once you take the beach away. The rooms are non smoking so that results in the smokers camping out outside their rooms to light up and drink their Budweiser or Jack Daniels. It seemed like there were lots of regulars that all new each other and the old men couldn't seem to keep their eyes off my wife. I've never felt more uncomfortable in my life and the only thing dirtier than the room was the fish tank in the lobby. You'd be better off sleeping in your car than at this place.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I got bed bugs from this hotel. As I had no experience of bed bugs before, I did not realize at first what the red spots all over my body meant. We stayed at the hotel three nights. The location is good and the view to the ocean is fantastic! The hotel is pretty old and in desperate need for renovation. Our room was not so clean. But it was huge and had a fully equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I moved in here to stay for 6 months. There are many people here that stay for the winter. Since I have been here they have been putting new furniture in the rooms...very loud. Also, there is a jet ski competition that has taken up the entire beach area in front of the motel since the beginning of January. Let's just say that if you want a peaceful place, this is not it. You can hear people in the rooms next to you and doors are slamming all the time. My room is nice because it has been refurbished, but I can't take the constant noise and the inconsistency of what goes on here. So, if you plan to stay somewhere you want to relax and have some peace ask what is going on in Daytona before you make reservations. If I had known this was going on I wouldn't have come here and now it is too late to find another place to stay for 6 months on the beach...although I'm still trying. The staff is nice and they fix things quickly when they break....but if you can afford something down the beach in Ormond By The Sea....that is where I would stay.

Room Tip: You must ask what is going on in Daytona. They bring in so much noise....bike week, jet ski competi...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Hill, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Makai for a long family weekend. It was right on the beach and had a pool area. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at. Good rates too - thank you Makai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed here again at this super motel and loved it. the staff and owner are so wonderful in every way, always making sure everything is fine. they took such great care of us when hurricane sandy brushed by the shore last week and made sure all the guests were safe and comfortable. loved the heated pool and jacuzzi. i highly recommend this great motel for everyone!

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a clean family friendly hotel. The hotel is located on the beach and only a few miles away from Daytona. Since the hotel is in Ormnond Beach it cost less than staying in Daytona Beach. The employees are super nice and helpfull. Will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makai Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.