We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Makai Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Makai Beach Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bed bugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I got bed bugs from this hotel. As I had no experience of bed bugs before, I did not realize at first what the red spots all over my body meant. We stayed at the hotel three nights. The location is good and the view to the ocean is fantastic! The hotel is pretty old and in desperate need for renovation. Our room was not so clean. But it was huge and had a fully equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    52
    28
    16
    46
See reviews for
70
44
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I moved in here to stay for 6 months. There are many people here that stay for the winter. Since I have been here they have been putting new furniture in the rooms...very loud. Also, there is a jet ski competition that has taken up the entire beach area in front of the motel since the beginning of January. Let's just say that if you want a peaceful place, this is not it. You can hear people in the rooms next to you and doors are slamming all the time. My room is nice because it has been refurbished, but I can't take the constant noise and the inconsistency of what goes on here. So, if you plan to stay somewhere you want to relax and have some peace ask what is going on in Daytona before you make reservations. If I had known this was going on I wouldn't have come here and now it is too late to find another place to stay for 6 months on the beach...although I'm still trying. The staff is nice and they fix things quickly when they break....but if you can afford something down the beach in Ormond By The Sea....that is where I would stay.

Room Tip: You must ask what is going on in Daytona. They bring in so much noise....bike week, jet ski competi...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Hill, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Makai for a long family weekend. It was right on the beach and had a pool area. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at. Good rates too - thank you Makai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed here again at this super motel and loved it. the staff and owner are so wonderful in every way, always making sure everything is fine. they took such great care of us when hurricane sandy brushed by the shore last week and made sure all the guests were safe and comfortable. loved the heated pool and jacuzzi. i highly recommend this great motel for everyone!

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a clean family friendly hotel. The hotel is located on the beach and only a few miles away from Daytona. Since the hotel is in Ormnond Beach it cost less than staying in Daytona Beach. The employees are super nice and helpfull. Will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed from the end of august until the day after labor day. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The building is old but that is not a problem for me. The employees are very polite and helpful. The only complaints I had was partying loud people next door. I figured it was because it was a holiday weekend. We have stayed there before with no problem. There was also a loud barking dog close by. The place allows small pets, but I was seeing large dogs, including a pit bull. Other than that everything was good. There are lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel. Front staff are just real people going above and beyond the normal service protocols. Sure its on a beach (omg) just beyond their great heated pools both for adults and the kids side.The gift of a great breaky in the morning is fabulous, sure we had a coffee maker in our room and a fridge and a stove and a microwave but we loved comming down in the mornings (6am) and having everything already there and ready for us! Hot toasted bagels with cream cheese and jellies to boiled eggs, cereals, fresh coffee and juices. fruits and yourguts ,muffins, pastries and they dont just shut it down at a certain time ,and above all else the happy staff to greet us and ask what we were going to do today and how was our nite! If you wanted anything at all they had it covered and or knew when and how to get it , or us to it in our case. Sure the place is getting a much needed face lift and will look just fabulous when done and okay I will concied the point it could have used a bit of tlc in the outside gardens ( where guests of the Makai have thrown their butts, walked the dog without being responsible about themselves and a few stray pieces of litter) but if you came to any one of the high end motels in London ont ca. you can see the same crap but for a WHOLE LOTTA MORE MONEY!
We found these great maps and coupon books in every state we went trough on our no time limit adventure and we are just so amazed that it was so cheap to rent there at all! With our coupons and the time we arrived there around the middle of Sept we got to stay for 4 nights for under 250US. We recommend visitors use this valuable tool. Our tour of the newer part of the Lodge was so great, since we had William and Steve take time out of their busy day to show us what the stages of updating that were going on, and the very freindly feel of the place , my husband and I have booked one of the newer rooms at the lodge for 4 months! Can,t wait to get back and thats a feeling you never ever will get from a Higher end Hotel chain.
The staff here are outstanding in trying their best or better to make your stay a very enjoyable one and without a doubt or my dollars a great place to come and stay.Have an open mind and enjoy all that can be had at the Makai! Round the world traveler.

Room Tip: all Makai is great , just ask for your prefernce at the front desk and they will bend backwards to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makai Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.