We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrades are being done...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Makai Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 hotels in Ormond Beach
Metamora, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Upgrades are being done...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just booked with them for our visit next year! Yes, the place is dated but they are upgrading it a floor at a time. We stayed on the forth floor, ocean front with a kitchen. Our room was clean and efficient but you could see age as with most economy hotels on any beach. Saltwater/salt air plays havoc on most structures. We were shown the rooms that have been updated and am very happy with the changes...new tile floors instead of carpet, new counter tops, new appliances, lots of new. But who goes to the beach to hang out in your room anyway...we go to the beach to go to the beach! So the thing that impressed us the most was the FREE amentities!! Very nice beach bicycles, beach chairs, boogie boards, surf boards, sand toys, board games...you name it. My husband has always wanted to try surfing but never wanted to pay for leasons or to rent a board, so having one available free from the hotel he got to play around with it and have fun without a hassle. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    24
    16
    38
See reviews for
63
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Fl.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was awful! Stayed in room 425 on April 21,2012. What used to be a sofa sleeper was broken so badly you could not sit on it. All the furniture was stained and mismatched.Two burners on the stove did not work. Kitchen floor was peeling up enough to make you trip.Ocean view sliders were so filthy we had to leave them open to have an ocean view. Cigarette ashes on floor as well. To top it off the toilet overflowed...soaking the entire unit.We waited a full hour for someone to deal with the toilet and finally gave up and checked out! Staff (Sara) was rude when we finally,quietly complained. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Checked in long enough to make reservations for another hotel then checked out. Dirty and dated.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Carol F. We had a 3 night stay. After reading the reviews I was a little nervous but thought I would try it any way. We live 2 hours away, so we could leave when we wanted to. The room was not very bad but not great. On the second night my husband was awake & killed many many bed bugs. Needless to say, we left in the mornig. The beach is wonderful but I would not go back there again. I told them about the problem & she said okay your all set with us.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

this is our 4th time at the makai over the last 4 years and each time is better then the last. the room was remodeled and so comfortable. the staff were all very pleasant as usual. cant wait to return!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 118 on the bottom floor. completely remodeled and very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

i checked into this hotel after checking out of Ocean Sands.... this is a low quality budget hotel, poor customer service at check in but i was thankful to have a room in the middle of the night --the floors and beds were clean -cheap towels and hot water wasnt the greatest -- nice pool and beach area, small rooms for 79.00 -- needs some updating and overnight clerk needs a lesson in customer service and manners

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I found the makai beach lodge to be one of the most terrable places I have ever stay in.
I will never stay there again I would rather sleep on the beach than in that place. I would not bring my two dogs to a place like that. And you could not go swing at night even when there where signs saying that the pool was open from 8:00 pm to 9 at night. Thanks for the rotten time I had there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makai Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.