We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCAL FAVORITE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's A1A Cafe

Betty's A1A Cafe
1900 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3117
386-441-8131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 176 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LOCAL FAVORITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Betty's A1A is the restaurant of choice for locals living on the North end of the Daytona Beach area. The view is outstanding, with vista's of the Atlantic at virtually every table. The restaurant is small and cozy. Casual attire and 90% local people. Very friendly staff and prompt service. The menu is extensive and they have daily specials. Portions are huge and very well prepared. We go here on a regular basis. Deserts are among the best in town. Well worth leaving the normal tourist haunts for. About 4 miles North of Granada.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    115
    45
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylors, Sc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average Rev (local resident)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I wish I could give a better review but, this place is no different from many, many, restaurants in our area living on past rep.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Whole belly clams and much more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Betty who greets and seats you is from Plymouth, Mass. and prides herself on her New England roots. Her clam chowder may be the best I have EVER tasted. It is light, not overly creamy and has NO thickeners. The fried scallops and fried shrimp are lightly battered and are TO DIE FOR. The fried haddock is very good but the item that got me there was the deep fried whole belly clams. We live on Long Island where they are hard to find. Betty's are light and tasty. All of the dessert is homemade by Betty's sister in law. Unfortunately, we were too full to try any. Betty and all of her staff are friendly and accommodating. Food was served quickly. The place is clean and spacious and the view is pleasing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Step Above Picadilly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced, very poor presentation and experience and supported by a large geriatric loyalty. If you are under age 65, head to Flagler for better options, views, food and atmosphere. I've tried it 3 times and its always the same so i finally wrote a review. For specifics, the scallops, ceaser salad and clam chowder ordered are served one at a time,and are small portions, so there is never the feeling of a full meal. The scallops arrived on an empty plate. My friend ordered a fish sandwich which was dry and mostly bun with out of the jar yellow tartar sauce which was really horrific for a seafood place.The atmosphere is outdated as is the experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll and New England Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Super Clean. Casual dining. Loads of parking. Views of the ocean frommost tables.
Well staffed. Service is friendly. Food served just as it should be - hot or cold.
Betty walks around greeting patrons herself, and makes sure your meal is as you wanted.
I saved the best to the last ......awesome homemade clam chowder and the lobster rolls are lightly toasted and wonderful....heaped with fresh cold lobster meat.
Monday meatloaf was enjoyed by my husband...homemade, with perfect mashed potatoes, gravy and fresh cooked carrots.
We found Betty's this year while on vacation. We highly recommend you try this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's A1A Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Betty's A1A Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's A1A Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.