We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Cove to your Saves list
Atlantic Cove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176 (Formerly Coral Beach Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Nice one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Last minute plans to stay at Ormond Beach. Looking for a budget Hotel we found Atlantic Cove at a great price. The front desk attendant was nice, the room was very clean, the pool was clean with some children having a great time, and the view is great. We stayed on the fourth floor so we had a nice view of the ocean. It's not new, the room has appliances, which would be great if you are staying a few days, that are older and show lots of use. The furniture is basic, but as I said, the rooms and linens were clean. We would stay again.
Only one of the two elevators was working, something to be considered if you are thinking of an upper floor. (doesn't leave a backup). The entire property would be more welcoming if the hallways and doors were painted (why paint doors dark brown?)
View of the ocean, budget price. And if you are looking for breakfast, it's not included, but there are several restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Not the first floor, unless you want to keep an eye on your kids at the pool. Better ocean view a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    20
    16
    9
See reviews for
36
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am writing in regards to a recent stay at the Atlantic Cove Hotel, located in Ormond Beach, FL. My family and I stayed from April 10th through April 12th, with regret. After traveling nine hours from North Carolina, we arrived for check in at 3:00pm. Upon check in we were told that our room was not available and they were uncertain as to when the room would become available, therefore we decided to grab lunch. After checking the status of our room a second time, we were still unable to check in, until four hours later at 7:00pm. During that time, we asked to speak with a manager, only to learn that the manager was not available during weekend hours. When asked to speak to someone else within leadership, the front desk clerk advised there was no one in a managerial or supervisory role available during the weekend. After pleading with the front desk clerk she finally called the manager to explain that we were very dissatisfied. After some time on the phone, the front desk clerk advised that the manager said she would be in the next morning at 9:30am and we will have an opportunity to speak with her at that time.

After settling in our room we were met with roaches. We informed the front desk clerk who was helpful and very pleasant about such infestation and she immediately reached pest control services, however, no one was ever available to disinfect our room. (we disinfected our room with Lysol).

The following morning (Saturday) we went to speak with the manager and was informed that she already been in that morning and would not return again until the next day (Sunday). A note was left and a phone call was made to the manager the night prior, however, there were no efforts made to reach out to us in order to acknowledge and resolve the multiple issues at hand.

Prior to check out, we attempted one last time to speak with the manager. When asked, the manager informed the front desk clerk that she was well aware of our complaints and she'd be with us in 20 minutes. After patiently waiting 30 minutes we asked another associate to see if she was able to speak with us. Shortly after, the manager approached us with the phone in her hand and very abruptly told us she was on a call that was priority and we'd have to wait. After waiting our entire vacation to speak with the manager, Leah Vinca, had no concern to help and simply acknowledge her customers and their experience at her establishment. Police officers were called by us, who apologized and said they’d been there prior on multiple occasions due to lack of customer service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed March 27-April 3. Two adults and two teenage boys. At first sight room was just what we had booked. Price was decent for spring break.Ocean front with a bedroom and double bed in living room. Place was a bit outdated except for the bathroom that appeared renovated and was clean. Linens and towels were clean and white. Mattresses and pillows appeared new. Appliances worn and outdated but they worked, so no big deal. Carpets and floors could have used a good sweeping and heaters/ac units were looking pretty dirty. We were on ground floor with direct access to pool area which we loved. Sitting area needed washed down. Chairs covered in dirt and cigarette butts covering the ground. Pools needed to be cleaned but water was so cold we didn't use them. A few beach chairs at the pool but several were broken.Overall, things I can live with since we spent little time in the room and were there for the beach.
Now the real deal breakers..... Day two we found out they no longer have daily maid service unless you want to pay a $15.00 fee. You had to take your towels to reception everyday and exchange them. I did my own wiping down of bathroom and kitchen area,changed our beds and borrowed a sweeper. Day 4.....was surprised one night by a large roach on the bathroom floor. Reception folks were unapologetic and were not surprised. Exterminator called out and revealed several of the other units needed treated. No one every emptied our trash so we disposed of it in the outside cans that sat overflowing for 3 days before anyone emptied them. Outdoor bathrooms were filthy and overall the outside areas were in need of some maintenance and cleaning.We talked with several retired couples who have been staying for a month at a time over the last few years and all said, "never again!" The motel had been sold and the new owner wants to save money so the place is a mess! On our way out a day early we encountered yet another roach friend. As we checked out I reported the finding to the night manager that who like the first manager was not surprised and gave us a lesson on what type of roach it was!
We enjoyed the long stretch of beach , the weather once it warmed up and a couple nice restaurants along the beach. But next time ....we will stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else! Daytona Beach has many hotels to choose from that are a lot nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was a little leery of what we were going to find - the reviews on this place are either great or "stay away", and I was just hoping I hadn't made a terrible mistake. We were very pleased to find a good place to spend our week. My husband and I stayed here for six nights with our friends. We stayed in a seventh floor king bed with a kitchenette. It was roomy, and very clean with new sheets and always enough hot water in the shower.

For the pool, I'm not really sure. We spent the entire week on the beach, but there were several people utilizing it throughout the week. The downstairs in a little dirty, and the elevators were always musty, but it's directly on the beach, so I feel it is a little unrealistic to expect a pristine entryway from the beach. They did their best to keep it as dry and swept out as they could with people tracking in water and sand all the time.

The front lobby was kept very clean, and looked nice. The staff were always helpful when we had questions or issues, and the cleaning staff went out of their way to make sure we had any towels, toilet paper, or anything else we needed. They don't come change the sheets every night, but I don't do that at home anyways, and I appreciate their efforts to find reasonable ways to conserve water and 'go green'. If you want somewhere that will change your sheets every night, you'll want to spend a little more on a different hotel.

They did only have one elevator for most of the week, but we never had to wait terribly long. They fixed it eventually, and everything was fine after that. My only other complaint is the pots they have the room stocked with were horribly rusted. We couldn't use our at all. Our friends pots were better, so we used those to prepare meals. The kitchens aren't quite stocked for use of four people, as they mainly have two plates, two bowls, etc. We just bought plastic utensils anyways, so we didn't have to wash so many dishes.

The balcony was small, but had two chairs and a wonderful view every morning. We enjoyed walking along the water each morning, hunting for shells and enjoying the view. The beach here was not overly crowded, and we appreciated the lack of rowdy crowds. There were mainly families and elderly people around us on the beach, and we felt safe and comfortable.

We will definitely stay here again, hopefully on next year's trip. For the price, it was a clean, decently kept up place. If you are just looking for somewhere that is comfortable to sleep after a day enjoying the beach, or the attractions right down the road, this is a great choice. The price that you pay is more than worth what you get. However, if you want breakfast, a long list of TV channels, and someone to clean your room and do your sheets daily, you'll have to pay a little more at another hotel. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: We preferred the upper floor rooms away from the bustle down below. It had a BEAUTIFUL view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think they have recently switched owners or something. The first room I went to was infested with bugs- requested a different room. The second room was a bit better but the AC was horrible it was so hot. We decided to stay and went down to the pool. They advertise that they have a indoor pool but they have closed it due to a leak. The maitence man said they do no plan on reopening it. One of the elevators are broken. So they only have 1 that works. The pool is not heated (and even though it is summer it is very cold!!) The elevator as well as the entire area smells like pot. We finally decided to leave and got a refund. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay the oceanfront room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed for 1 night but was everything we "expected". We knew going in that they were going through renovations. The renovations really were not very visible. Great location! The amenities were exactly what we thought they were going to be as explained. Front desk people were helpful at check in and check out. We will stay there again next year when we go back. Location is perfect for everything you need in the area was perfect. The beach is at your feet. The pool was great.

Room Tip: Find the coupons online! (Unfortunately we didn't. lol) Still a great deal for an "on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really liked the indoor and outdoor pool. If it's raining there is still something for the kids to do other than just sitting in the room. Very reasonably priced. The efficiency rooms are great. The rooms are fully equipped with everything you need.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atlantic Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Cove

Address: 711 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176 (Formerly Coral Beach Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Cove 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Coral Beach Ormond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.