We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steve's Famous Diner

Steve's Famous Diner
150 North Nova Rd, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 169 restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
Restaurant details
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Steve's on a Wednesday evening because one of our party had eaten at a Holiday House buffet in this location and wanted to return. Apparently, HH closed a year ago and Steve's opened a restaurant in the same spot--- their 2nd location in operation. Upon walking in we were greeted warmly by any servers who passed by but there didn't seem to be an official hostess. The large room was clean and open but could use more tables and some character. Our waitress was obviously experienced and efficient but she seemed a tiny bit impatient with us. The food was good (ham, Greek lasagna, spaghetti) with portions too big to finish but the highlight of the meal was the homemade bread slices served in a basket to compliment the meal. I agree with reviewers on other websites who mention that real butter should be offered with such good bread but they only have fake margarine to offer. All in all, I would return here when looking for a decent, solid meal but it doesn't make my list of favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    13
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“NIce restaurant on beachside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service was good, the food was even better. You get plenty of food for the price, and everyone in my party enjoyed what they ordered and walked away very full. The restaurant was very pretty on the inside and they even had a slight view of the ocean! The bread they serve when you first arrive is very very good! I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satsuma, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Free cup of soup with every meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have eaten here several times and also at the Daytona Beach location. We really like this restaurant. You get a basket of bread and your choice of soup with every meal! We haven't been disappointed yet and we've had everything from seafood to meatloaf! Prices are VERY reasonable and service has always been great! One of our favorite regular places to eat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have been long time patrons of the original steve's on nova rd and decided to try this newer location. I did notice some changes in the quality of food, however it was still tasty. The portion sizes seemed smaller than the original steve's. The place was clean and newer, perhaps a restarunt was there before and they took over. We will be back and recomend as a good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great food and service. Enjoyed so much we went back the second day for breakfast. Pancakes cover the whole plate! All food is excellent and very friendly wait staff. Will definitely go back when in the area. Very reasonable

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Famous Diner also viewed

 

Been to Steve's Famous Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve's Famous Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.