We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible first visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riptides Raw Bar & Grill

Riptides Raw Bar & Grill
869 S. Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
(386) 256-4799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 176 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible first visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went to this restaurant for the first time tonight after being in daytona beach for a week.I ordered crab legs and a side salad which I requested before my meal, the salad came out with my food. The live band couldnt play anything but sublime. My crab legs came with no crackers, we had to ask for them. My husband ordered oysters which never showed up. Overall the food was mediocre. My husbands po boy was terrible and too filling for a regular po boy. I wouldn't go here again if I was paid to. The waiter got no tip because the main reason we went here was crab legs and oysters. One I could not eat and the other never showed up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    101
    46
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gotta try the riptide shrimp.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Alsont didn't eat here because of most recent bad review. Glad I ignored it. This place was awesome. We were greeted and seated as soon as we walked in. Chris our server was very helpful, patient with our 20 questions. Made several excellent recommendations. Especially the mahi mahi colada. Glad we tried it and will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outrageously bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived for dinner on a Sunday evening at 6:25pm. We we told by our young hostesses who's attention we had to get when we arrived, it would be a 15 minute wait to eat inside. We sat at the bar with our back to the hostess area to wait. We waited 35 minutes watching a group of 4 young girls cluster together at this hostess area. We saw 4 tables vacated but not cleaned (why couldn't one of the 4 girls clean the tables?) We saw people be seated ahead of us and a high top table that was vacant more than half the time. When we asked about what was going on we were told a party with a baby could not sit at the high top, and there were two other people that arrived before us that were going to sit there. We we finally got seated at that same vacant high top, no waiter came to our table. Finally a waiter came to the table next to ours but completely ignored us. That was when we walked out. We had a nice dinner at Takeya in Ormond Beach, great service and wonderful food. We will never go back to Riptides. To the owner: you need to have a mature manager on the premises.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn f, General Manager at Riptides Raw Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
My name is Shawn Flaherty. I am the General manager. Please feel free to contact me to discuss our failure with your experience. You can reach me at Riptides 386 256 4799 or my Cell 850 890 0711.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All you can omg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wife was ready for a 2 hour event with crab legs. So happened that the friends we were with had the same idea. So Riptides was the choice. And boy did they do it. Great service, great crab, awesome vibe with excellent acoustic guitar/singer. Grilled mahi as good as I've every had (not into the crab event thing). Cold beer and great cocktails, even a 32 ounce bucket drink. Fun Place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average Food-Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had tuna salads and burgers and they were average, but tasty and well prepared. The service was very good; fast and attentive. The "tube" of beer was interesting, I had never seen something like that before. Instead of a pitcher, you can order a "tube" and it is a tall beer dispenser with a spigot at the bottom. Nothing special, just different. There were surfing videos playing the entire time and that was fun. Very relaxed atmosphere. Clean restrooms. It is not right on the beach; no view; but the beach is right behind the place so we all walked to the beach after dinner so I have to say the location is good too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riptides Raw Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Riptides Raw Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riptides Raw Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.