We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maverick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Maverick to your Saves list
The Maverick
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Your Stay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'd stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff is really nice and helpful on making recommendations. Rooms are clean and spacious. Pool is heated big and clean. Hot tub is nice. Beach is right out side your window you can enjoy it from balcony or enjoy it by bein on it. It's so beautiful. The furniture could be updated but who wants to stay in the room when at a place like this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
36
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really like the view . All the rooms face the ocean! The employees were very nice and helpful. The location made it easy to get to downtown Daytona.
The bed wasn't to bad but could have been a little more comfortable. The room was very clean but a little dated but we were not there to stay in the room. Price was great and we would return. We tried several restaurants that were off the beaten path going up A1A in Flagler, Martins was the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms are ugly and not much privacy. But Marry at the front desk was so very nice & sent us to the best places. She is being wasted at the front desk when she is so great at customer service and making people feel right at home. We had three rooms that week and had water comimg under the door almost everyday. We wil stay elsewhere next year but stop by to see Marry for directions & fun things to do. Justin was helpful as well as Angelica in housdkeeping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This resort is right on the ocean. Each room has balcony overlooking pool and ocean. Rooms are not fancy but they are clean and neat. On-site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Activities Director on site. Everyone on hotel staff helpful and friendly. Guests get free use of beach umbrellas, chairs, and more. This is actually a timeshare building...you might want to buy a unit (don't pay more than $500).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I booked The Maverick in Ormond Beach, FL after reading the good reviews on trip advisor. When we arrived it was a little late so we had to park across the street. That would not have been that bad if we were not jay walking and fighting traffic to cross a main street, since there is no cross walk or traffic light anywhere around. We arrived in our room (room 203) and immediately noticed the television was in the sitting area and there was none in the bed area big minus for me because I like to watch tv as I go to sleep. Below I posted a picture of the view of the television from the bed. I've been here 3 days so far and have not really slept because the mattress is literally as hard as a box spring. It is only 3 or 4 inches thick and HARD. I have been to many hotels in Daytona / Ormond Beach and this is by far the worst! The only thing the reviews had right were the fact of The Maverick being very dated. It was clean when we arrived but the negatives of the room and fighting for parking so we don't have to cross a main road and the roaches in the stair wells take away from having a good experience at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We did not expect too much from the Maverick after looking at pictures and reading the reviews and we were pleasantly surprised. Don't get me wrong this place definitely will not be the nicest place you will visit, however if you go to Florida for the beach and pool than you should be fine with the room. It had everything we needed for the week. The sleeper sofa was horrible but the bed was decent. There are three grills and shuffleboard a hot tub and a huge pool which you only see at older hotels. My only complaint is that the pools chemicals were off and the water stained our bathing suits. I told the front desk but they did not seem too concerned. There were blonde children walking around with neon green hair. We walked up and down the beach and the Maverick looked much better than most of the other places nearby. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Maverick is an older establishment that is being updated. My room on the 7th floor was clean and comfortable with the exception of the sofa bed which was remedied with a trip to Wal Mart and the purchase of a $12 mattress pad. The staff was exceptional. I have never stayed anywhere that employees were so friendly and helpful. Even though maid service was available for $4 a day or $20 for the week, we chose to make our own beds and sweep our own floor. We did take advantage of the linen exchange and garbage pickup. There were activities for the whole family from tie dye classes to bingo to ice cream socials. The pool area was great with a fantastic view of the ocean and shuffle board when you got tired of swimming. Security was good as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#1 of 28 in Ormond Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#14 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coral Sands Inn & Seaside Cottages Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#41 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick

Address: 485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Maverick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maverick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.