We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly -” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maverick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Maverick to your Saves list
The Maverick
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Your Stay
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This resort is right on the ocean. Each room has balcony overlooking pool and ocean. Rooms are not fancy but they are clean and neat. On-site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Activities Director on site. Everyone on hotel staff helpful and friendly. Guests get free use of beach umbrellas, chairs, and more. This is actually a timeshare building...you might want to buy a unit (don't pay more than $500).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    27
    13
    16
See reviews for
36
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I booked The Maverick in Ormond Beach, FL after reading the good reviews on trip advisor. When we arrived it was a little late so we had to park across the street. That would not have been that bad if we were not jay walking and fighting traffic to cross a main street, since there is no cross walk or traffic light anywhere around. We arrived in our room (room 203) and immediately noticed the television was in the sitting area and there was none in the bed area big minus for me because I like to watch tv as I go to sleep. Below I posted a picture of the view of the television from the bed. I've been here 3 days so far and have not really slept because the mattress is literally as hard as a box spring. It is only 3 or 4 inches thick and HARD. I have been to many hotels in Daytona / Ormond Beach and this is by far the worst! The only thing the reviews had right were the fact of The Maverick being very dated. It was clean when we arrived but the negatives of the room and fighting for parking so we don't have to cross a main road and the roaches in the stair wells take away from having a good experience at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We did not expect too much from the Maverick after looking at pictures and reading the reviews and we were pleasantly surprised. Don't get me wrong this place definitely will not be the nicest place you will visit, however if you go to Florida for the beach and pool than you should be fine with the room. It had everything we needed for the week. The sleeper sofa was horrible but the bed was decent. There are three grills and shuffleboard a hot tub and a huge pool which you only see at older hotels. My only complaint is that the pools chemicals were off and the water stained our bathing suits. I told the front desk but they did not seem too concerned. There were blonde children walking around with neon green hair. We walked up and down the beach and the Maverick looked much better than most of the other places nearby. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Maverick is an older establishment that is being updated. My room on the 7th floor was clean and comfortable with the exception of the sofa bed which was remedied with a trip to Wal Mart and the purchase of a $12 mattress pad. The staff was exceptional. I have never stayed anywhere that employees were so friendly and helpful. Even though maid service was available for $4 a day or $20 for the week, we chose to make our own beds and sweep our own floor. We did take advantage of the linen exchange and garbage pickup. There were activities for the whole family from tie dye classes to bingo to ice cream socials. The pool area was great with a fantastic view of the ocean and shuffle board when you got tired of swimming. Security was good as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was impressed by the curb appeal of the Maverick and stopped to inquire on a room for one night on the beach. Justin, the gentleman at the desk was most courteous and helpful to accomodate our needs. We were able to stay in a very nice suite type room that was comfortable and quite large for a very affordable rate. The entire property was spotless and well maintained.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. My only regret was we were not able to stay longer. Thanks again Justin!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the Maverick. Room was good, big enough and with all the ammenities needed to spend a week on the beach. The entire complex looks well maintened and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended. I stayed from May 6 to 11 (wonderful sunny week). All the units are oceanfront with a balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The week started out good, but then the rain and the wind came. We basically had to stay indoors for two days due to the bad weather. However, the room was fine and met all of our needs. Although, the bed and furniture are not as comfortable as at home. We didn't get to participate in the events scheduled by the resort because of the weather. We did use the gas grills which is really a plus. The room was clean and the ammenties were just enough for 4 people. If you run out of something, just ask for replacements at the front desk. Check in and check out was a breeze. Publix grocery store is just 2 miles away. The liquor store, ABC, is walking distance. The location is great and the ocean view is spectacular. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#1 of 28 in Ormond Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#14 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coral Sands Inn & Seaside Cottages Ormond Beach
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#15 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#18 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick

Address: 485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Maverick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maverick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.