We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maverick

Save Saved
You added The Maverick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Maverick
485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the Maverick. Room was good, big enough and with all the ammenities needed to spend a week on the beach. The entire complex looks well maintened and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended. I stayed from May 6 to 11 (wonderful sunny week). All the units are oceanfront with a balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The week started out good, but then the rain and the wind came. We basically had to stay indoors for two days due to the bad weather. However, the room was fine and met all of our needs. Although, the bed and furniture are not as comfortable as at home. We didn't get to participate in the events scheduled by the resort because of the weather. We did use the gas grills which is really a plus. The room was clean and the ammenties were just enough for 4 people. If you run out of something, just ask for replacements at the front desk. Check in and check out was a breeze. Publix grocery store is just 2 miles away. The liquor store, ABC, is walking distance. The location is great and the ocean view is spectacular. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Park, Quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Maverick is an older hotel. But from the time we checked in until we checked out a week later, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They are extremely friendly. It is kept very clean, we chose to have housekeeping every 2nd day and our room was spotless when she finished. Each morning I watched the maintenance crew service the pool and again excellent job. The hotel is right on the beach which is an added plus. They have activities daily, from water color classes to tie dye and they offer a sundae bar ($2) and another day ice-cream floats ($2) and a lovely bar-b-q one night. ($4). Wanda the activity director is incredible and and when we did the tie dye she stayed with us for as long as we wanted, a couple of us went a little overboard with our projects! It is close to many activities, from a lovely walking path to the Daytona Racetrack.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. There are no bad rooms. We were on the 6th floor and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Maverick because of the price although we were a little leery because of the price. It seemed too good to be true but were pleasantly surprised. It isn't a 5 star hotel but it is very nice and clean. We stayed in room 314 and it was very comfortable and right on the beach. The staff, especially Dana, were great. Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As always we enjoyed our stay at the Maverick this year. Great location. Good price. Horrible beds!!!

The pool & deck area was cleaned every morning. We made use of the patio bbqs a couple of times - very convenient.

All rooms look out at the ocean!

We usually enjoy having breakfast at the restaurant downstairs but after two days of having terrible food at above average price we started going down the street to the IHOP where we never had a complaint!

Room Tip: No king size beds. Beds are extremely uncomfortable! Same problem last year. I think they buy the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Newly renovated and very spacious for the whole family with a kitchen right on the beach. Pool and hot tub plus a wonderful full service restaurant. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and gracious.

My only negative is there was no internet in the room. They do have internet in the lobby and even poolside so not all bad.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach side view with balcony. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in room 322 and had a wonderful experience.. everything we needed was provided, from kitchen utensils, cable tv, and tons of towels. Its right on the beach and provides an amazing view.. the beds weren't top notch but they weren't horrible either. The room did have a "wet smell" but i just bought some lysol and air odor eliminator. The room was clean and don't let the hallway and elevator fool you,from the looks of those i thought the room would be a dump but it was far from it. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here and i would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maverick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick

Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Hotel
The Maverick Ormond Beach
Address: 485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your The Maverick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maverick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.