We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Week Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maverick

Save Saved
You added The Maverick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maverick
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174   |  
Hotel amenities
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Week Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Maverick is an older property but well maintained with a friendly staff. Our view of the Atlantic was great. Our studio unit had all we needed and was clean and comfortable. The a/c had to be turned quite low to dehumidify the room air. WiFi was available in the lobby and poolside only. There is a free lobby computer. Parking was plentiful. Many nearby restaurants. We will return to this property soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
27
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I am a looooongtime timeshare owner at the Maverick Resort (10+ years). Our family visits once a year in July. I was amused to read all of the bad reviews, and have to say that they are all pretty exaggerated here and there on the part of the disappointed reviewers. The rooms ARE small, and VERY plain and basic. No frills, just FUNCTION. They are CLEAN, and I have never had a problem getting sheets or towels. This is perfect for our family. We need only a utilitarian place to sleep and shower and pack meals. There is a full size fridge, stove, coffee pot, plates, balcony, and bath. You provide the food, and this is a huge $$$ saver. The pool patio has several gas grills and tables, and we grill out a few nights. The tile floors DO get dirty. We always use our own beach towels, and there is a guest coin laundry on the premises if I need to do a load of laundry, so I always end up cleaning the floor with their towels, and there is also a broom in the room, which I don't mind doing. It's the beach! And that part of Florida tends to be sort of aging and vintage, but we like it that way. The point for us is to relax!!! No stress!!! I have NEVER smelled mold in all my years going there. The staff has always been friendly, and I have never had to complain, but then again, I don't expect a lot, either! We are there to visit florida, not the room. Our family spends most of our time OUT at the many Parks and Sanctuarys, or exploring the Light House and a little further, the Space Coast to the South. There is also a beach closet on the premises for owners, with bikes and beach chairs and kids boogie boards and toys. Is the stuff well used. SURE is. It's mostly donated by guests and it's always changing. The kids don't mind!!! Why should I? I make myself at home while there and don't mind the occasional snafu, nor do I pay much attention to the chipped paint and wear and tear on the place. You have to remember the name of the place IS The MAVERICK: One that refuses to abide by the dictates of or resists adherence to a group; a dissenter! I'm not very materialistic, so I don't mind the plain slate on which to paint my vacation... I'm a DO-er, not a Whiner!

If you need to be in posh surroundings, this ain't your place, but if you just want a place to crash and shower and pack picnics for your adventures, this is good enough!

Last year we saw a tornado/water-spout, from our balcony, move down the beach/water from north to south for twenty minutes! It was AWESOME!

Room Tip: Every room is pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

you see, hear and smell the ocean from your clean, comfortable bed!

Units were always clean and adequately equipped within a studio set up; if there is a minor deficiency, staff rectifies forthwith -
pros: heated pools, small restaurant at pool serving breakfast/lunch with tasty omlets to order - family / senior oriented quiet guests/owners -
cons: no reliable Wi-Fi reception in units !!!! - only in lobby, pool, restaurant & lounge -

Room Tip: come prepared and well stocked for your needs -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

While not a posh resort, this place worked very well for our family. We had a studio unit for a family of four. It did get a little cramped, but we spent most of our time outside. Only used the unit for sleeping and getting ready. The mini kitchen was plenty for quick breakfast or lunch, we chose to eat out during the evenings. I wouldn't recommend a studio/mini kitchen if you plan to do a lot of cooking. Walls are a little thin as we could hear people next to us, but again didn't become a problem. All units are ocean view which is a huge plus. Pool and beaches were clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at The Maverick for the second time and was very pleased both times. The room was very clean, the staff was very friendly!! The pool was always clean.
I am not one to give complements unless it was exceptional service!! We were VERY pleased with our stay!!
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Nothing good about the place!! Rooms tiny! BedBugs. Staff more than slow and sluggish. $15 for pool towels?? Are you kidding me?? Avoid this ripoff!!

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was my first trip to the Ormand Beach area. Our first room had a terrible moldy smell. We complained to the front desk and were transferred to a better room very quickly, but it still had a whiff of the moldy water smell. The rooms are small and dark but clean. The pool and beach were very nice. The staff was friendly. I would return if the price was right (under 50 bucks a night.) We went in February and it was unseasonably cold so we were in the room alot. If not for the experience of going into the first smelly room, and the fact were we're not on the beach as often as we liked, I might give it a higher rating. The Maverick is definately not the Ritz and if you are particular or expecting even the modernness of a Marriott Courtyard this is not it. Ormand Beach itself is somewhat past its prime. We visited St. Augustine which was lovely, I think if I was to stay in NE FL again that is where I would go.

I would say if you are in Ormand Beach for Daytona Races or during prime beach weather, The Maverick would be a good choice if you are getting an exceptionally low rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maverick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick

Address: 485 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Maverick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maverick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.