We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving each year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean East Resort Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean East Resort Club to your Saves list
Ocean East Resort Club
867 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Improving each year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Relatives have a timeshare week here, and we've stayed here many times over the last 20 or so years. Four-story property overlooking the beach. Our particular unit is always clean and neat, and updates have been ongoing - carpet, furniture, bedding, etc. Recently changed out a hutch containing some drawers and TV to a wall-mounted flat screen and much smaller (and better use of space) desk with drawers. New pull-out sofa is very comfortable to sleep on, and new mattress on murphy bed is better as well. Our unit is on the 4th floor and on the corner, doesn't have a balcony, but has fantastic views of the ocean, beach, and pool. Staff is always friendly, lots of activities for kids (and kids-at-heart). Beach used to be no cars, but changes over the years allow them now, so be aware. Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, and grocery stores, many within walking distance. Maintenance occurring with the roof. Pool is clean and big, didn't use the hot tub, though. Live entertainment Sunday afternoons. Good place for families with kids, perhaps couples looking for a quieter place than Daytona Beach, and folks looking for a relaxing time. Lots of long-time owners here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

i was very disappointed with this resort,especially the rooms. though everything around the resort including rooms were very clean, the layout was not good. the pool and jacuzzi were very clean and well maintained, but it was hard to swim laps due to the design and the crowds. some things in the room did not work, but the maintenance people did their best to correct it and sometimes were not able to due to the building design and age. other renters there not very friendly. the ac did not work very well in the small guest room, the bed was worn out and sagged to the side. could not wait to get out of this resort and go back to the makai lodge down the street, which is a superb hotel!

Room Tip: no room here is good. go to the makai hotel down the street, or if in timeshares, stay at georgian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ocean's East is a great little place by the beach. We had a little studio apartment, and it was perfect for the two of us. The official description says it sleeps 4, but I really would not advise that. The furniture and fixtures were in good repair. We had a balcony, and even though we were officially on the "street side," we had a pretty nice view of the beach. When we were there, they had a roofing company repairing something, but this was not a problem, and made me feel good that they cared enough about the place to repair it. The beach was literally right past the pool, and it was well kept, with high and low tides posted every day.
The only problem with the place was the beds. There were two beds: a Murphy bed and a sleeper sofa. Both were uncomfortable, with the sleeper sofa being slightly better than the Murphy bed. I hear that they are slowly renovating the rooms, and I hope that this is one item they will address. Despite that, I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Our street side room was on the north side of the building, and, since there was an empty lot next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just returned from spending Spring Break at Ocean East Resort. I will stay here again. The location is great, 5 minute drive from the Daytona Beach area. The staff was very friendly. They had lots of activities that my kids really loved. (bingo, tie-dye t-shirts, crafts, making rootbeer floats). All of the activities were very inexpensive. They had free DVD check out and a great rec room which my kids also loved. The efficiency apartment was very adequate. I pull-down murphy bed in the dining area, and a pull-out couch. The restaurant had reasonable prices. The only negative was that people would put their towels on a pool lounge chair and hoard it for the day, even if they weren't even in the pool area. I don't blame the resort for this as they had plenty of rule signs stating not to do this. This happens everywhere so not much you can do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raynham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The resort was older but very kept up. Clean and staff was friendly. Walk to everything. Sleeping was difficult because mattress was a cusion on a board and NO box spring.

Room Tip: Check bed mattress. Master bedroom mattress VERY Hard, no box spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from a great week at the beach with family and friends!!! Although my grandson was sick for a couple of days we still had a great time. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Tracy - the director of activities even gave my grandson an Ocean East cup and some trinkets to cheer him up. Many of our family members are owners here and we can see why they like it....everyone is like family. I will admit that the "recreation room" needs to be updated. Our room had recently been redone and the flat screen on the wall was a welcome addition in the studio that we had. I am looking forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

How can you give a resort on the beach a bad review?! The location was great. The decor needs to be updated, in the rooms and in the common areas. But we had a great week. We loved the organized activities, including the water exercise class, the pool party, and the beach games. The staff was friendly. The common areas were clean. The pool was well maintained. The Rec Room was a bit run down, but that didn't stop the kids from enjoying the ping pong. We stayed in a studio and would not recommend this for a family, or for a whole week. The pull out couch was incredibly uncomfortable. The kids were relagated to the Murphy bed and they thought that was fun. It seemed more comfortable than the pull out, but wasn't quite as big. The kitchen was small as well, but we did get by. There is a restaurant on site, the Beach Bucket, but we did not take advantage. However, the staff at the Beach Bucket was very friendly. The resort is perfectly located within walking distance to several restaurants, mini-golf and the grocery. It's also not too far to do day trips to St Augustine, or Cape Canaveral, which we did. We were on the first floor, which had a patio rather than a balcony. We enjoyed that. I'd return, but only in a larger room.

Room Tip: Do not get a studio. It's small and the sleeping surfaces are very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean East Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean East Resort Club

Address: 867 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ocean East Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean East Resort Club Hotel Ormond Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean East Resort Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.