We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History Lesson for the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Casements

The Casements
25 Riverside Drive, Ormond Beach, FL
386-676-3216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 99 things to do in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson for the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I took my kids to Ormond Beach for a summer vacation and based on the reviews we stopped in The Casements and were given the nicest tour by a knowledgeable volunteer. It was very interesting to learn about the history of the house, view the pictures of how it used to look and how it has been completely restored and saved. It was free but a donation was accepted and we were happy to give as it was a great little stop to do while in Ormond Beach.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
“The Casements - we love the heritage and the Christmas Festivities are just wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We visit here at least once a year in the winter every year whilst escaping the cold wet London weather.
You can't beat the location in Ormond Beach.

The Casements - we love the heritage and the Christmas Festivities are just wonderful.

Slán agus beannacht De leat (Good Health and God's blessing on you) James & Janice Monaghan Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is Rockefeller's winter home,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

An upscale museum and beautiful place to visit, Rockelfeller built this winter home because he had a disagreement with Flagler who owned the hotel across the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Interesting museum, but the river walk is beautiful and we even saw a manatee. Go on Thursday when they have the produce venders on the riverwalk,.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for a little history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

As the tour guide said, you wouldn't think that someone like John Rockefeller would live in such a small place. Well, it really wasn't small for average folks like me but too him it would be considered small. All in all it takes about 45 minutes to tour the home which was a great way to spend some time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Casements also viewed

 

Been to The Casements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Casements, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.