We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food, but quite Pricey for such an OLD looking establishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Tap Room & Grill

Billy's Tap Room & Grill
58 E Granada Boulevard, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
3866721910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 176 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent Food, but quite Pricey for such an OLD looking establishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Billy's tap Room & Grill a few times before the new owners, and have to say, we enjoyed the place much better than now. The service is not top notch as it used to be, the food pretty good, but not fabulous and it is very pricey for what you get. Last time we were in here, there were hardly any patrons, and no wonder... Have to laugh at their ads in the Daytona Beach News Journal - 20+ ways to Serve Grouper - no special offers/coupons, free appetizer or soup, nothing to entice people to eat here - so think this one will fail soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“one of the best fish dishes i've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we both had their grouper en papilotte. it was grouper, crab meat, scallops, and shrimp, baked in parchment paper. fantastic dish, and one of the best fish dishes i have ever eaten. we had a very good key lime pie for desert. service and drinks were perfect.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better Than Before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have lived in Ormond Beach for 6 years and was a customer of Billy's Tap Room when the previous owners ran the place and for the most part I liked it. Last night I stopped in for their Wednesday night special, lamb shanks. I started off with the steamed in Sambucca mussels. It was made with fennel and grape tomatoes. I'm not in the habit of getting an appetizer when I eat alone but it looked interesting I was glad I ordered it. It was delicious. I had the lamb shank, mashed potatoes, steamed mixed vegetables and a salad (you get a choice of soup or salad). It was absolutely terrific. One of the best meals I ever ate there. There wasn't any room left for dessert. I had great service and all of the employees that I came in contact with were very personable. The new owner stopped by at my table to make sure everything was good. That shows me he is very hands on and cares about his customers. The appetizer was $9.00 and the main course $20.00. I was extremely satisfied with the product they put out and the price. I WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK SOON.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Experience a "classic"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Not only has the decor not changed between owners, but I just don't think the food has either. Rather than a "chain" restaurant so prevalent in the Ormand/Daytona area, we opted for the near 100-year old Billy's. I hadn't been there in about 4 years and, must say, nothing's changed. AWESOME ambiance (almost out of a movie) with the dark panels an decor. The grouper (cooked black and blue---blackened with blue cheese) was outstanding, AS WAS the Crab cakes. Top 3 cakes on my all-time list. I don't even think they used "fillers", and two moderately-sized cakes completely filled me up. 4 1/2 stars! Note: I'd give it a 5 if they had a good micro-brew or two on draft! Don't ever miss this place for a nice night out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler beach
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not the Same old Billy's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been going to Billy's Tap Room for quite a few years since Monk was the owner -then it was sold to a Dutch Lady but the recession and financial issues put her out of business and it was closed for over a year until the latest owner purchased it. Sadly, although he is a nice guy, it just is not up to the level that we had become use to. The food prep is just ordinary, although we hear good reviews about the crab cakes, we are not big of them as we have been spoiled by Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes. we hope that the new owner can get it back up to the quality we were used to but until we hear from our many friends who live in the area that things have changed we won't be back. Close friends who also used to frequent the old Billy's came to the same conclusion. I know the review sounds vague but it is just that we were used to a different Billy's food and now it is , well, just ordinary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Tap Room & Grill also viewed

 
Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to Billy's Tap Room & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Tap Room & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.