We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice price for a reasonable hotel. Rooms were old but al remodelled. So good beds, new television, and free wifi, what else do you need? Breakfast is included and is a buffet with mostly eggs, bacon, breads and cornflakes. People are friendly, room was clean, so a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    233
    96
    50
    24
See reviews for
224
213
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good Experience: (1) The wonderful lady who assisted us with breakfast was very personable, nice, considerate, helpful, friendly, extra-mile-service-giving, kind, engaging and courteous. We truly enjoyed her and, she alone, made our stay extremely memorable.
(2) Our cleaning staff for each day of our stay was very approachable and kind. We appreciated them greatly.
Not-So-Good Experience: Whereas the front desk staff members were kind and knowledgeable, we were charged for using the safe when we had not. We called back to clarify the issue and was asked, "Did you tell the desk person that you didn't use the safe?" I then replied, "If you are in the practice of charging people for the safe then the desk staff should have asked me if I had used the safe. I am not in the practice of telling people what I did NOT do." The lady confirmed my name then abruptly stated, "Ok, I will make sure your charges are removed." I thanked her and hung up the phone feeling very disrespected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We had balcony sea facing on beach room. Chose hotel because of location and stayed two nights. Walking distance to few restaurants for dinner. Receptionist very helpful. Self service breakfast included in room price.
Definately not luxury but adequate but looking very tired and room was clean but needed updating but exceptional good value for money and free underground parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was searching for a great deal for a last minute trip to Ormond Beach, Fl. for a family get together. I came across the Best Western Castillo del Sol. The reviews were so-so but since I was only staying one night I decided to risk it. I reserved directly through their website for an internet special of $47. I am so glad that I did. I asked for a renovated ocean view room on the top floor. I was able to check in early with a very nice front desk clerk. I told the front desk that I had invited my cousin to come back with me and asked it there would be any additional charge. That said no problem. The room was large and clean. It was great! Even the ocean view was nice. I just dropped my bags off and left. We got back to the room after 11:30p and decided to step out on the balcony. The door wouldn't open...we couldn't get it to unlock. We called the front desk and they immediately offered to change rooms. Since it was so late we told them it was fine. I don't consider the door a major problem since they were so willing to correct the problem. When I go to Ormond again I will definitely call this hotel. There is also plenty of free parking. The rate also included breakfast which was the typical muffins, breads, cereal and juice. I was surprised they also offered hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and a pancake machine!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Oceanside kitchenette was well worth it. The location was great. It was easy to get to many attractions in the Daytona Beach area. The view was magnificent. The beds were super comfortable. Staff was friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were upgraded to an ocean front room and I loved it. It was clean and quiet. There was a little problem with the hot water but the maid gave me a great tip on how to get it to work. The breakfast was excellent and everyone was friendly.

Room Tip: I have stayed in an ocean view and ocean front. The ocean front is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

nice place to stay, poor breakfast,good staff friendly, but most important clean room..

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. In the afternoon, the staff would bring out snacks and coffee for guests who had opted to spend the day in the shade of the palm trees in the little garden
thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.