We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did we miss this?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Sun Cafe and Grill

Mango Sun Cafe and Grill
1185 W. Granada Blvd., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
386-672-6465
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 177 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Ormond-by-the-Sea, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“How did we miss this?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I can't believe that we have been driving past Mango Grill and never stopped in, that is, until a couple of days ago. Heard the radio ads and decided to try it.. We were greeted by Don, one of the owners.He came back to check on what we ordered and offered us some fresh squeezed orange juice to try. All in all a delightful experience.. Great food & great service. Will certainly go back, now that we "found" it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The wait staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was tasty. They had some unique dishes, such as crab eggs benedict. The bacon was very tasty, as well. In fact, my boyfriend said it was the best bacon he'd ever had. I had an omelet, which came with a side of bread. I didn't want the bread, so the substituted grilled tomatoes at no additional charge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Their portions are generous and prices are good. The restaurant is bright and clean, Wait staff is very attentive, and the owner seems to visit each table. We sat at an outside table early Sunday morning and had a very relaxing brunch. Great breakfast and lunch....sure wish they were open for dinner, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Searching for a vegan-friendly restaurant in "Southern Fried" Florida is almost impossible... so when something says "vegan-friendly", one has to be skeptical at best. But, as I always tell my wife, "Expect nothing and you'll always be pleased."

I was pleased above and beyond what I could've set myself up for.

I had stopped by the previous day to snag a menu before committing to what might be a disappointing experience. I am far more open to new cuisine choices than my wife, so I thought I'd let her take a look at the menu. When she indicated an interest in eating there, I had already scoped out my choice: the Portabello Burger with no cheese and avocado slices added. She settled for the Veggie Wrap with a slight detour to the Pineapple Fritters.

The fritters came first (again, this is the deep-fried South), and they certainly didn't disappoint! Still settling into our vegan lifestyle somewhat, they were still delicious!

Appeasing my conscience, my burger arrived. What a tremendous flavor! And I was surprised by the grilled onions I hadn't expected! Add to that a side of grilled veggies (carrots and broccoli), and the dish itself was complete. I will definitely be returning in the future when business/pleasure brings me down Ormond Beach way.

Highly recommend, as they have an amazing set of above-standard fare for those whose food choices are more traditional!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Armosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have visited the Mango Sun several times and always enjoyed the 'treat " outside before you enter.
Regular food,,, prepared in a special way!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Sun Cafe and Grill also viewed

 
Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to Mango Sun Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Sun Cafe and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.