We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grind Gastropub

Grind Gastropub
49 West Granada Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
+1 386-672-7277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 156 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: \'Grind\to eat or consume food, used mostly when one is very hungry and will eat a lot.DescriptionWith the warmth and ambiance of a 19th century pub and a menu to challenge the trendiest of the 20th century restaurants, Grind is like no other dining experience in the area.Enjoy our Kona Tiki Bar out on the beautiful deck while sipping on an Island drink with live entertainment.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We entered through the front of the restaurant. It was a bit dark, small but cozy, and empty. The host asked if we'd like to sit "out back." and we said that we would. We emerged from the back door and stepped into another world! It was a huge and very cool patio and Tiki bar area. THAT'S where all the customers were! There was a guy playing guitar and singing, thatched roofs, a huge bar, and tiki torches (OK, they were fake tiki torches but I guess it's more green that way, so I was OK with it).

We were quickly served our drinks but the food took a long, long time to come. When it did arrive though it was excellent. We were in a party of six with a few "picky" eaters (read: pains in the butt :-) ) but everyone really, really liked their food. The waitress was very friendly but unfortunately she was not very attentive. She never came back to refill our water glasses and only checked to see if we needed anything else once, right after the food was delivered. Other than that it was a thoroughly enjoyable meal and experience. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Grind Gastropub, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Your feedback made me smile - I have many friends like yours! :) It also helps me to use your comments as a training opportunity. Thank you for bringing to my attention. We look forward to serving you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I eat at Grind every week and have had a great experience every time. Kevin and his team does an amazing job of providing a first class experience for the Ormond community. If you're traveling to the area, look no further for the best gastropub and tiki bar around! The drinks are cold, the food is great, the staff is friendly and there's alway something happening for those looking for a good time!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Grind Gastropub, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Blushing! Thank you for the great feedback! We love that we have such a unique venue in Grind Gastropub and Kona Tiki Bar. Have you seen our wine room - Vintage? Or our Board Room? Both on location and just as unique.

As a weekly diner, we also have many ways for you to save...check out our social sites for more info.

Thank you for taking the time to post and for supporting our business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Hill, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A good time on a already good night. We came in late and we ate and drank and had a good time. Staff was fun and attentive. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Grind Gastropub, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to offer feedback. There aren't always many options for late night dining which was one of the reasons we decided to serve food late. Thank you for making that point on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“dinner party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great dinner event. great food and service. Sloan the manager is the most accommodating person in the world.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Grind Gastropub, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to give us feedback. Sloan is an amazing manager and I am thankful to have in on board. I will pass along the compliment. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and modern ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Really nice visit. We enjoyed a fresh handmade BBQ pizza. Friendly waitstaff. The atmosphere, design, and art set the mood between relaxing and classy. I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Grind Gastropub, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer up feedback. It's great to know you had an enjoyable experience and will be back. We are ready to serve you when that day or night comes! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grind Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Grind Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grind Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.