We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B-B-Q” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke Shack BBQ - CLOSED

Smoke Shack BBQ
1808 West International Speedway Boulevard, #201, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
+1 386-673-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Award-Winning Barbecue in Daytona Beach, FL
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Average B-B-Q”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

More of a snack bar than a restaurant, by the range of opinions about this place it must be an acquired taste. The meats are are dry but have a decent flavor. The beans are baked beans with a few black beans thrown in. Decent taste but hardly my idea of B-B-Q beans. I expect to find pork meat, onions and stronger seasoning in the beans. The fries are cut too thin, especially the sweet potato fries. The pie slices are too small for the money. The cobblers are hardly cobblers at all, mostly canned fruit with very little pastry. The hot sauce is actually hot but with little flavor. Plastic silverware, not really a dinner stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Real BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love BBQ and always look for a reason to try a new place. I had the brisket sandwich and coleslaw. Delicious and true bbq. Soft and smokey meat and slightly sweet slaw on a sandwich is my idea of heaven. Plus here sauces are very unique and don't taste like everyone else's.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FOOD OF MY LIFE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

NEVER EVER GO TO THE SMOKE SHACK IN ORMOND BEACH! DON'T BE DECEIVED BY ALL OF THE TROPHYS....I DON'T GET IT, THEY MUST BE FAKE. THE FOOD MADE US SICK! WORST BBQ RESTAURANT EVER. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE WORLD… We went to the Smoke Shack BBQ last night, and our confused server brought my fiancé his disgusting dinner with the wrong side. He ordered the fried mac and cheese; she brought regular mac and cheese. When he spoke up, she argued with him and said he was wrong. She finally brought out the right side, even though it inconvenienced her. HE ORDERED THE WORST BRISKET IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD- IT WAS COLD AND DRIED OUT. WE WOULD RATHER HAVE EATEN WEEK OLD LEFTOVERS THAN EATEN HERE! There were 3 thin slices of dried out brisket on his plate. When we finally got our server’s attention to complain, she didn’t care. We had to ask repeated to speak with the manager (who was also the cook and owner). When this rude woman came out, she refused to do anything. She said it wasn’t her fault he didn’t like the brisket. Maybe she should have taken a class in manners rather than cooking. Because he had eaten 1 piece, she would not give him anything else. She would have let him pay half price for another dinner; however, we still would have to pay for his awful brisket. She said they had already fixed one thing by exchanging the mac and cheese. NO!!!! I told her that her server screwed up and wrote down the wrong side. SHE CLAIMED THEY ARE A SMALL MOM AND POP RESTAURANT AND CAN’T AFFORD THE FOOD WASTE. BIG FAT LIE!!!!!!!! It is very well known who the owners are. You mean to tell me the millionaire family that owns this restaurant can’t afford to comp a $10 meal. Wow, times are tough. We weren’t looking for a free meal; we were just looking for a good meal. Instead we paid $23 and left hungry and angry. HORRIBLY DISAPPOINTED AND APPALLED BY POOR MANAGEMENT. I worked in restaurants for 12 years and have never seen such incompetent manager. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT?
WANTED TO TRY SOMETHING NEW….BIGGEST MISTAKE OF OUR LIVES. SHOULD HAVE GONE TO SONNY’S!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“These people KNOW BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I have never had a bad experience at the Smoke Shack. We have tried everything from the smoked chicken to the brisket, the pulled turkey to the pulled pork sandwich, and my husband's favorite..., the wings. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable & the whole atmosphere is laid back (ITS BBQ!) They have won awards for their sauces & it is obvious why. We enjoy everything about this place all the way down to the sweet tea! Go, and enjoy some BBQ!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What more could I want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

As a dinner in the Volusia county area my whole life I am blown away by reviews I've read regarding Smoke Shack BBQ. I have eaten at EVERY BBQ place in this town and to see people write reviews complaining about plates and the strip mall location leave me baffled! It is a BBQ restaurant, not fine dining, and that's that! They portions are always filling! 2 people can eat from 1 combo platter. You don't like the price of the full plate meals then get a dinner special for $10! The fried food is cooked to order and always crispy. The brisket is always tender and the pull pork is delicious! If you want good BBQ this is where you need to come!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Shack BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke Shack BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.