We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude at Guest Relations! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hollywood Studios

Disney's Hollywood Studios
351 S Studio Drive, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Disney-MGM Studios) (Lake Buena Vista)
407 939-1289
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Disney's Hollywood Studios like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Orlando Attractions Roundtrip Transfer
Ranked #10 of 285 things to do in Orlando
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the 4 theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort, Disney's Hollywood Studios offers a behind-the-scenes look at Hollywood-style action with live shows, thrilling attractions, backstage tours and star-studded special events.Feel like the star in your own movie as you romp through the streets and sections of the park that blend together like a large, bustling movie set. Immerse yourself in the glitz and glamour of the Hollywood heydays from the 1930s and 1940s, captured by the neon, chrome, art deco and modern architecture.Step into the action with exhilarating attractions and experiences inspired by television and silver screen favorites. Go center stage and into the spotlight with the American Idol Experience, stunt shows and more. Collect autographs and pose for photos at special events or at Character greeting locations. Embark on fantastic thrill rides you only see in the movies.Whether you seek rockin' adventures, playful stage performances, intergalactic fantasy or fascinating film history, you'll find it all—and more—at Disney's Hollywood Studios, where movie magic comes to life!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rude at Guest Relations! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Love Hollywood studios, but when we tried to enter the park for our breakfast reservation at Hollywood and vine our magic bands were not working. We were sent to guest relations where each and every employee looked angry! They might all hate their job! I get it the magic bands have errors, but it's certainly not the guests fault who have paid tons of money to be there. Our issue was resolved quickly, but the staff seemed more than miserable helping us. Made for a sour morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,501
    2,746
    1,078
    280
    131
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wasnt impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

i expected more, but it was still a good day. The rockin coaster was awesome, the tower was ok (really wasnt a fan) saw a couple shows, had a super easy time finding something gluten free to eat

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Many Fun Attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

When at Disneyworld be sure to see Hollywood Studios. The stunt driving demonstration is terrific. We also liked Mickey in 3D. Skip the restaurant where you sit in cars like a drive-in. So dark you can't see what you're eating. But maybe that's a good thing. Also be sure to see Fantasmic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this park for a 1 day trip - Fast Pass Rocks but do it before you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Went to this park a couple of days ago and the whole family loved it. This family includes 2 GrandParents, my Wife and I, and my 2 girls (10 and 12).

We arrived a few minutes after the park opened (just after 9am) and went straight to a Fast Pass kiosk. Unfortunately, the Toy Story Mania ride was already out for Fast Pass. We found out that we could have gotten our fast pass before if we went to the Disney site. They also have a smart phone app for the fast pass, but I purposely do not bring my phone along on vacations (nature of my job that I need a break from).

Having said that, we got the most out of the fast pass - We got the Beauty and Beast show, the Indiana Jones and Star Tours. Easy to get to all 3 and it paid off big time with a great seat for the 2 shows and very little wait at Star Tours.

I was going to get a Fast Pass once we used up all 3, but the Tower of Terror had a very short wait (30 minutes for the wait and the ride). We did everything we wanted to do (even Toy Story Mania, which was a long wait) and was not too exhausted at the end of the day. The Fantasmic show was very good, but it wasn't as good as when we last went 6 years ago (of course that may be due to the fact that was our first time seeing the show).

The Sunset Boulevard section provides the best family on a budget options for food.

The customer service was the best. I was constantly feeling that these people really want you to have a great time. Special mention to Matt at the Fast Pass kiosk. Great kid with a great attitude (no, I don't know him).

Food - 4 out of 5
Value - 4 out of 5
Scenery - 4.5 out of 5
Rides - 5 out of 5
Shows - 5 out of 5

We've done this park and Universal's Islands of Adventure and IMHO this one is better.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good time -- in spite of maintenance issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Disney has gone from a "Fast Pass" to the "Magic Band" System. this system is truly magic when it works...and when the rides work. Under this system, you get 3 timed entries per day to attractions (with fast-passes, you could get 6). When an attraction fails during your magic slot, there is no real recourse unless park personnel are willing to manually swipe you in. The result is that we lost the attraction we sought to see most. In spite of this glitch, the back-lot tour, Tower of Terror, and two good meals, all produce an overall great day. If only the ride maintenance were a bit more reliable, we and thousands of others like us, would have had the perfect Disney day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Hollywood Studios also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Hollywood Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hollywood Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.