We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cali-Mex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Burrito Kitchen

Baja Burrito Kitchen
2716 E Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32803-5025
407-895-6112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #587 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: 407-895-6112
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Cali-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A really great casual place for California-Mexican food. Its fresh Mex and, in our opinion, a better choice than Chipotle, Moes, etc. We've eaten here many times over the years and were sad when the other Orlando-area locations closed. Tasty salsa bar, good queso dip, decent kids meals... You can't go wrong. Love the baja enchiladas!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Mexican In Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have eaten here many times over the years and many times at the former locations. Alas, the East Colonial location is the last remaining Burrito Kitchen. There is a dearth of really good Mexican food in the Central Florida area. Isn't it strange that a small town like Inman, South Carolina has better Mexican food? The Kitchen is California Mex done really, really well (NOT Tex-Mex, as I've seen it described). The quality remains the same since the first Kitchen opened in Altamonte springs. Everything is excellent, but it's the fresh salsa bar that puts the Kitchen over the top. I like the Caesar chicken burrito very much. Last week I had the cheese enchiladas with onions. This is the best cheese enchilada to be had in Orlando. This is not a Tex-Mex enchilada, but it is nonetheless excellent. The tortilla soup is the only thing I've had there that was just average. Service is excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocket Ranch, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get the Baja Burrito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This place is really good for quick Tex Mex food. We love the Baja Burritos and the the salsa bar is made with fresh ingredients. We really love the fire roasted chipotle salsa. I only wish there was a location closer to my house.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great little taco shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Baja Burrito Kitchen is a small counter service Cali-Mex Restaurant located on East Colonial in Orlando Florida just outside downtown, it shares a building with a Wine Warehouse near a Too Jays Deli and a Houlihans. We only remember to eat here once or tice a year, but it is always supringsly good. The food is cooked fresh to order and if you like California Mex this is a great place. I have the fish (fried) tacos ussually, but they have a great shrimp quesadilla and a brand new brocolli quesadilla. The salsa bar has several option and there queso is tasty. They make this chips on-site and the teas are fresh brewed, both sweet and unsweet. The Chicken is Grilled and they have steak and pork options too. Very reasonable, two can eat with drink easily for less than $20.00. The service is good and the food comes out very hot, so be careful... I alway burn my mouth here, because I do not take my own advice. They have beer and wine, but this is not a bar and there is no atmosphere, besides friendly staff and a busy dining room. Parking is easy and the area is well lit and safe, plus they are open til 10pm and they never frown when I walk in 10 minutes to closing. My only complaint, is that the salsa bar, needs a little update, but the place is clean and so are the bathrooms, wich are my golden rule. So try Baja Burrito Kitchen on COlonial it is a Great Little Taco Shop!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajcrewboy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent... I Eat Here ALL The Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I live in Orlando and this is one of my favorite places to eat. I probably eat here at least once a week. The salsa is always fresh and the food is consistent. I really enjoy the diverse offerings of salsa. Its a great value and highly recommend if you like fresh Tex-Mex food. If I had to wish for any improvement, it would be more upbeat, respectful staff (eye contact, thank you's, you're welcome, etc. instead of 'uh huh', no problem, or nothing - a small complaint), otherwise, the fresh food is a great value!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Burrito Kitchen also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Baja Burrito Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Burrito Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.