We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from start to finish, love me some bbq” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
310 South Alafaya Trail, Orlando, FL 32825 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
407-482-0888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,161 of 3,000 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish, love me some bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

My family Loves BBQ! We are always up to try to new kid on the block but Sonny's always wins hands down. We prefer to Sonny's Alafaya location since they always hit it out of the park, with an amazing experience everytime! Great management, staff, and best of all BBQ!! Try them out!!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, RiBberDuckY05! Thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The food at Sonny's is always great. We enjoyed our meal and look forward to eating there when in the FL area.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Just another BBQ place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Had dinner here last night with my family because it was school rally night. There is a reason my family hasn't eaten here in 6 years and it's because the food is just not that good or interesting. Our son had the children's chicken fingers and fries which were ok and my husband and I shared the Sweet Slab O'Ribs for two. The price was the best thing about this meal. The ribs were served with 3 sides and we chose corn on the cob for both and cole slaw. The ribs were dry and tasted like they were cooked in the morning and warmed up when we ordered them. The corn on the cob was over cooked and muchy and the coleslaw was a poorer tasting Kentucky Fried Chicken slaw. We also added a salad bar which was just average and was in need of replenishing even though it was just the beginning of dinner service. Our server told us that she was new and it was apparent. She was very friendly, but was missing quite a bit. I will not return to any Sonny's ever again.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BBQ? Sonny's is THE best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Have been dining at Sonny's for 20 years. Consistently good. Our location is at Orlando Airport but we have tried many others. Sweet and Smokey Ribs is my new favorite. Love their coleslaw. Not fancy, just good food, great prices. Took friends here a few weeks ago. They were from France and Brazil. They LOVED it! We will always be back.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Glad to hear we'll be seeing you again gigilov! Thanks for writing your great review and for being such a loyal fan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed in this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We hear nothing butt good things about this place but we went on a Friday afternoon and it was aweful. My wife had pulled chicken that was mush and so was the Mac and cheese. I will say the service was great and the facility was clean, but we must have picked an off day for this visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you for writing your feedback, Stantz. We're sorry to hear your visit was less than exceptional - please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details from your experience, your contact information, and the location you were at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny’s BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.