We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pao Gostoso Bakery

Pao Gostoso Bakery
5472 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
4074478946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 3,105 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Brazilian, Hamburgers, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Florida Center
West New York, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love the beef empanada here. Good food and good price. I wish the menu was clearer though. The two mornings we went, the place was packed with locals. the bakery items was great. The powdered donut with cream fillings was just right. It is yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This food is fantastic, all fresh, try the chicken ball called coixinha its shredded chicken inside lovely soft warm delicious bread, good price , fresh real orange juice. Muito Bom!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A little taste of Brazilian snacks in Orlando”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've been at Pao Gostoso many times and I don't have any complaints. Orange juice is freshly squeezed. Passion fruit (Maracuja), Cashew (Caju), Guava (Goiaba), and Sugar Cane (Cana) are fresh and really good too. I love Pao de Queijo (cheese rolls) but they are good when they first come out the oven, otherwise they are eadible but not as good, the best way to taste them is buying at the Brazilian grocery (in the same plaza) and make them yourself. That is what I do. Coxinha, Esfirra, Pao de Frios are made fresh and they taste like if you just bought in any Bakery in Brazil! Their little desserts are superb... I can't decide wich one is my favorite. Quindim, Rocambole de Doce de Leite, Pastel de Nata, Queijadinha, and so on... hmmmmm, they are delicious! It is a little pricey, but since I don't know how to make them, I am glad I can have a little treat everytime we go to Orlando. Like I said, there are some items (like pao de queijo) that if they are not eaten as soon as they come out from oven, they don't taste so good but there are alternatives and it is worthy to try. Will come back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Not the first time that i go there, and i still disapointed. The pao de queijos were old and when i complained about it, they get mad at me, like i was the wrong one. prices are very expensive...i just cant believe that i spend 7 dollars for 2 pao de queijos and an orange juice (small by the way). Brazilian places are always great, but not this one!!! never again

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Food for Supermodels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Have you noticed Brazil on the Rise in Orlando? A few years ago there weren’t many, if at all any, Brazilian Restaurants much less a Brazilian Bakery. Now there are more Brazilian Steakhouses than you can throw a Brazilian Supermodel at. I am sure you have heard of the mammoth meat feeding at places like Texas de Brazil, Nelore, and Fogo de Chao. But have you ventured to the Brazilian Plaza on International Dr. and walked into Pao Gostoso Bakery?


This semi circular plaza has a one way entrance and exit. It houses a huge Brazilian Grocery store, restaurant, shops, and Pao Gostoso Bakery. There are recent additions of outdoor patio style and sidewalk seating. The interior is airy and voluminous, with brightly painted ceiling air vents. Interior seating caters to sweet indulgences, while take out is an option. The menu features sandwiches, burgers, and Brazilian steak specialties. But the Supermodel here is Brazilian Pastries. These sumptuous goddesses are sweet and salted, baked to a perfect Brazilian tan.



Puff pastry with red dot is filled with Guava and cream cheese, other puffed pastry is filled with dulce de leche, two egg custard tarts and a pumpkin milk cake. Amazing flakiness and textures here, not too over sweet.



Cornmeal and milk cake – good balance of sweetness, amazing corn texture and flavor.



Dulce de leche cake with nuts – creamy and sweet dulce de leche, crumbly cake. Sinful!



Flan – sweet, silky, smooth, velvet sins.



Cashew Fruit Drink – is sold under the Brazilian Gourmet Brand, which carries various other native Brazilian fruit drinks such as Guava, Mango, and Passion. Dubbed as the “most liberal fruit” for its exposed nut (look carefully in the picture), this fruit drink actually taste like a fresh cashew fruit. I am amazed that this drink manages to neutralize the sour taste of cashew fruit and not overpower with sweetness. Yes, I have eaten a fresh cashew fruit.

There are so many different pastries in this bakery that I just can’t sample them all in one shot. With Brazil set to host the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and 2014 FIFA World Cup Soccer we should all eat more Brazilian cuisine and pastry. Don’t you think?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pao Gostoso Bakery also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Pao Gostoso Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pao Gostoso Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.