We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q'Kenan Restaurant

Q'Kenan Restaurant
8117 Vineland Ave, Orlando, FL 32821-6847
407-238-0014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 3,088 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Venezuelan, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Had not had Venezuelan food before. Very friendly and helpful staff. My companion had trouble deciphering the accent of the wait staff, but I didn't think it was bad. Don't be deceived by location. It's hard to find on the end of a strip mall, but is worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    33
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take it from a local: best Latin food in tourist-ville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been eating lunch at Q'kenan's for 5+ years. I used to live across the street from it, and still work nearby. Everything is excellent and made fresh - go with arepas if you don't know where to start. I'm not a juice guy, but their fresh juices go really well with meals there. Very refreshing on a hot summer day. The sandwiches made w/ plantains (patacon?) in the place of bread are great too. I always leave there extremely satisfied and full, without much damage to my wallet.

Be aware that it is *small* with only a few people working, and all of the food is cooked to order.
So if you're in a hurry or have a group larger than 4, this isn't the place for you (consider Amazonas on John Young Parkway as a quicker alternative).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We traveled to Orlando with a family of five and ate some meals at the theme parks. This was by far the best food, most reasonably priced, most comfortable eating environment during our weeklong stay. We each ordered something different and everything was delicious. Many of the dishes came with carmelized plantains that were amazing. The waitress was very helpful in providing details about the dishes. The pork, chicken and beef dishes were flavorful, well presented and a very good value. The restaurant is in a strip mall that is easy to overlook but it is worth the effort to find. A great meal at a very reasonable price!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had just flown into Orlando, and our families were ready to et, so when I found this place on trip advisor, we started walking! We tried several items on the menu, and we were happy with everything we ordered! Great food and easy to find!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
176 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Much better than anything else in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an unassuming little place in the back of a strip mall across from the outlet shops. Don't be put off by the location, though - this place is a total gem. The food is Venezeulan and consists of delicious items like empanadas, arepas, and cachpapas. Everything is very, very cheap (less than $10 per item) and you get nice, big servings. The people who work there are great at explaining what the items are for those not familiar with Venezuelan food.

The surrounding area near the malls and the Disney/Lake Buena Vista area is a fast food chain hell, and I definitely did not find anything in the area that came close to the quality and value of this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q'Kenan Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Q'Kenan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q'Kenan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.