We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8900 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #40 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

From the moment you walk into the reception - you are greeted with a friendly honest welcome. A very clean hotel, and a nice size hotel. Close to universal and other ammenities. Close for shopping too. The bedrooms are a good size and very comfortable beds. Linen fresh and very clean, pillows lush. The breakfast has some differant choices each day but have the standard foods supplied also. Pool a nice size. The staff are very polite and sort any problems out straight away. A very good price for a very high standard of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    296
    79
    30
    13
See reviews for
413
268
27
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel to visit various attractions around Orlando other than the theme parks. This hotel is located just off International Drive, and it's an easy walk to multiple restaurants, movie theaters, and miniature golf. I placed a request for the reservation to be on the top floor away from the vending and elevators, and all requests were accommodated. Noting that we were on the top (7th) floor, it was a very quiet stay which was great. We were able to sleep without interruption, making for easier days touring around Orlando.

There's no fee for parking, so we had our own vehicle and were able to drive to multiple areas within 15 minutes, including Prime Outlets, Florida Premium Outlets, Millenia Mall, as well as some Disney side attractions (such as Winter Summerland golf). Most guests appeared to be there for the Convention Center (about a mile away) or the Theme Parks. Both are fairly easy from this location, and a sub-$100 price is hard to beat.

The staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions, including getting a refrigerator brought to our room. The breakfast in the morning is complimentary and very good. Plus it switches up a bit every day so that you have some variety, including eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, muffins, cereal, juices, fresh fruit, and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 1st May 2010. Staff were always very polite and helpfull when needed. Gotta say whoever the lady is that greats people on reception in the mornings is absolutley gorgeous LOL

Anyway hotel is located just off I drive. Its just a 2 min walk out the back of the hotel to TGI, Olive garden and other really nice places to eat. Walgreens is also 2 mins away and is open 24hrs should you need anything .The hotel is located up the nice end of I drive and not down the more commercial end near wet and wild. Breakfast in the morning was a real money saver. Plenty of cerial, cakes, pastries with 2 hot selections each day also. Free coffee available all day and night which we always took advantage of as we came back each night from the parks.

Swimming pool was also clean with Free towels always provided by the pool. I really cannot fault this hotel for the money. We nearly stayed at Monumental movieland which when i drove passed it i realised would have been a monumental mistake.

All in all a great location and hotel for the money. You wont find better for the money on I drive in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed here mid April 2010 for 2 weeks ,this is our third visit to i drive and this was probably the best hotel so far, others were Homewood suites and staybridge suites,which were both good but the Hampton inn was better . The rooms were quite basic but very clean and the beds were extremely comfy with a choice of pillows. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The pool was small but adequete and in the sun all day.I drive is just a short walk through the car park .all in all a great place to stay if you want to be close to everytrhing thats good on i drive

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for a couple of nights before doing a tour around Florida. The room was nice and clean with a huge bed. Air Con looked like it was fairly new, quiet and efficient. The hotel is on Universal boulevard which runs parallel with I Drive for a short time. A 2 minute walk through the car park past the back of the hotel brings you onto I Drive with numerous restaurants left or right. Decent breakfast in the mornings with some hot food, either eggs, bacon or sausage but enough to start the day. The hotel is in a quieter location has a decent pool and the reception staff are helpfull. Free parking at the hotel.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks, 26th April till 10th May.

On arrival we checked in and went to our room, to find it was a double, however after asking reception for a king room they moved us once a king became available which was only after 2 nights. Reception staff are friendly and very helpful.

The room itself was ideal with one huge bed, flat screen telly, and shower and bath, the shower is excellent. Tea and coffe making facilities are available in the room, however we found it quicker to pop to reception and get one from there as they are ready to pour. The only down side is that the air con in the room may be a bit noisy but you get used to it after a couple days, so there is no probs.

Breakfast is included, and you have the choice of ceral, pastries, juices, waffles, a selection of 2 hot dishes which change every day or fruit.

We stayed at the hotel to do Disney and Universal. There ae no free shuttles from the hotel, we found out that for a round trip to Disney it was $16 each and for Universal and Sea World I think it was around $9 each, which if you were going a few tmes would add up. We decided to get tickets for the I Trolley, for two weeks for the pair of us it came to $32 which is about £24, and is ideal, use it as many times as you want in that fortnight, and it saved us loads. There are plenty of stops outside the hotel, and the I Trolley will take you directly to Sea World and Aquatica. For Universal it will drop you off outside and its a 10 minute walk into the parks. For Disney you will have to transfer to a Lynx bus, that is $2 per person for where ever you want to go, and you get free transfers, so is ideal. The bus service is very punctual and usually pretty quiet.

The hotel itself is located between International Drive and Universal Boulivard, it is quiet and a short walk to loads of restaurants and clubs on the I Drive, but at night there is no noise from any of these places. USA today is left outside the door every week day morning, if you need a safe there are none in the rooms, they will allocate you one in a room behind reception free of charge.

The pool is great and gets the sun all day, and there is usually plenty of loungers available. There is a small gym available for use, and also two computers in the lobby for internet access, however the hotel does provide free Wi Fi which you can get in the rooms also.

All in all not a bad place, certainly not luxurious, but an ideal base from where to explore Orlando.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Was a bit worried after booking through Alpharooms and seeing some of the reviews on here. Only room available on the first night was a smoking so they immediately moved us to the hotel next door and took care of all charges. Checked into our room the next day and were very happy. Location is brilliant for the restaurants at Pointe Orlando and as regulars to Orlando we usually go to Denny's or Ponderosa's etc for breakfast but we ate in the hotel as it was more than adequate. Free wireless internet was very good also.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center

Address: 8900 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#60 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Orlando - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.