We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8750 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #161 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
We Love Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just came back from staying at the Extended Stay near the Orange County Convention Center.

I definitely recommend this hotel. Be aware, it is older, it does not have an onsite restaurant (ignore the breakfast, it is miniscule,) and the hotel is definitely showing its age (although it was being painted while I was there.) So why do I recommend it so highly? Multiple reasons.

First – its staff. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly, professional, and personable. Their warm touch, and their extra effort was better than I have seen from many other hotels four times their price.

Second – Cost. The hotel was walkable to the convention center, and at a much more affordable rate than all of its neighbors. Caution however; the Convention Center is huge! If you are attending a tradeshow that will include a lot of walking, the jolly half mile stroll to the OCCC in the morning may feel like the Bhutan Death March at the end of the day.

Third – its staff. (Yup again.) My co-worker lost her laptop. The staff pulled together as a team found it, and kept it safe until she could get it back.

Summary: Save money. Stay here. Enjoy your time at the OCCC, and rest easily knowing that you are not overspending to sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    217
    69
    27
    31
See reviews for
240
94
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, Oct 2011 and Oct 2012. I can't understand the negative reviews and wonder if people actually take into account the price they have paid for this hotel when writing their reviews.

The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were happy.
The rooms were a good size and cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. We never cooked but sufficient facilities if you wished to self cater.

Being a smaller hotel I found the atmosphere far more friendly than some of the larger hotels we have stayed in over the years. After busy days at the parks it was great to chill out by the pool for a couple of hours and catch up with the friends we'd made during out stay.

The kids loved the breakfasts which set them up for a day at the parks, more than adequate for our needs. Plenty of tables outside and nice to be able to enjoy breakfast outdoors.

The hotel is ideally located just behind i-drive and some fantastic restaurants within walking distance. Cafe Tu Tu Tango and Millers Ale House were our favourites. The location is a really nice part of i-drive far nicer than the north end which is a bit tacky! Pointe Orlando is within walking distance and has some nice shops, Hollister, Bath and Bodyworks and Victorias Secrets.

Plenty of free car parking space and it only took us 15 mins to drive to Disney. We rented a car from Avis based at the Embassy Suites on International Drive which is within walking distance. We didn't want the stress of driving to and from the airport. Would definately do this again as it meant we could relax and have a drink on the plane and didn't have to wait in a queue to pick up the car at the airport, we just got a taxi straight to the hotel. As we picked the car up the following morning and dropped it off the night before we flew home the additional cost was minimal. Avis are great as no additional unexpected extras to pay. Just an idea if you're a bit nervous about driving.

If you're not doing Disney there is really no need to hire a car as seaworld, aquatica, wet and wild and universal can be easily reached on the i-trolley. Take the red line when possible as far quicker as fewer stops. The i-trolley also goes to the 2 malls each end of i-drive. These in my opinion were the best malls for bargains.

The free wi-fi at the hotel was great as I am aware most hotels charge for this.

All in all I would stay here again in a heartbeat as would the other families we travelled with.

Saving up for next year!!!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool, first or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ON
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On the last day of my stay, I spotted a 9 inch lizard in my room. Thank gosh I was minutes away from checking out........

Hotel was what I expected based on previous trip advisor reviews. Older but the rooms were clean. Amenities were scarce. Walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Don't face the pool on the main floor. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon L, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m sorry a lizard was able to get inside your room on the last day of your stay.
I’m happy to hear that you found the room to be clean.
Again, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.
Sincerely,

Ramon Lima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had an extremely hostile receptionist at Check In. We had 2 rooms booked but he insisted there was only one booked, didn't bother to look at our email confirmation of the reservation paid for in advance because if he had he would have realised the other room was in the name of another member of the party! We then found that one of the rooms had a blocked toilet, reported it to the same person on the front desk who then came up with a plunger and a bunch of towels and basically told us to unblock it ourselves as there wasn't anybody from maintenance in the building. He didn't even come into the room to check it, unbelievable! Will definitely not stay there EVER again. Breakfast wasn't what I would call breakfast as there wasn't a communal area to eat it in and it was very limited and of very poor quality, we ended up going to the Ponderosa every morning for a "proper" breakfast. Room was adequate but this didn't compensate for the very bad service and lack of friendliness from the staff (what little we saw).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon L, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We feel badly on those occasions when any guest is disappointed with their stay with us as our ultimate goal is to make sure they all leave with a lasting impression.
Although I was sorry to hear that one of the rooms had a blocked toilet, I was even sorrier to hear about how the problem was handled and how you were treated. There is absolutely no excuse for providing such service and I will personally address this issue to my entire team.
We will be expanding our breakfast area this year and some breakfast items will be added as well.
If you have additional feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ocr@extendedstay.com.
We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Sincerely,

Ramon Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location as many restaurants are nearby. If you do not have a car, public transportation -- trolley, buses, taxis, etc. -- are easy to access. It is well-used, as many families who are traveling to access Disney World, Universal Studios, and Sea World find it affordable. While it is not luxurious, it is clean and neat and has a full kitchen, including dishwasher. Expect small problems -- leaky faucet, light that was not operational, etc. In our experience, as soon as we mentioned this, it got fixed. Our one problem area was in maid service. Unless we made a point of asking, our rooms were not cleaned until late in the day, and twice the maids forgot us. But this is good value for the money -- just speak up and be sure you get all the services.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Extended Stay Deluxe during a long weekend in the beginning of February. We had a great room on the first floor. Our room had 2 queen sized beds and a couch area with a flat screen tv. We had a small kitchen area and table. Best of all, the room was clean! The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast that you could take to your room (there was no public eating area). They offered cereal, juice, waffles, muffins, and some fruit. Overall, it was good, and the earlier that you got there, the more selection you had.
Probably the best thing about this hotel was it's location. We were in walking distance to a ton of restaurants, bars, and shopping. We had the best time going out at night, and not having to drive.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just felt our stay was Ok. Reception staff were always very polite and our room was always cleaned well, BUT, buffet breakfast very welcome but you had to eat it by the pool,chilly in the morning or as a lot of people were doing,take it to your room.The carpets in the stairwells and corridors therefore were disgusting! We did sleep well after the 3rd night when a lot of Brazilians left,think they must be deaf as they just seem to shout at each other in the evening.Well placed for the attractions but would only stay there again if refurbished.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
SussexTrisha,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not completely satisfying. In response to your feedback, I am happy to say this property will be going through a renovation. It is currently scheduled to start mid June, it should have minimal impact on our guests as we will be doing it floor by floor starting with the 3rd floor. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at briccardi@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel , or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.

Sincerely,
Brian Riccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area

Address: 8750 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#167 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Orlando Hotel Orlando
Extended Stay America Orlando
Extended Stay Orlando
Orlando Extended Stay
Extended Stay Deluxe Orlando Convention Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Int'l Drive Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.