We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit - I'd stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #102 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit - I'd stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a class at the Hyatt Regency down the street. Here's what this hotel offers:
1. Walking distance to Convention Center and lots of restaurants. Note that these distinations are not right next to the hotel, but my definition of "walking distance" goes up to 1 mile. Many restaurants are less than 1/2 mile away.
2. A very pleasant staff
3. Nice outdoor pool - kept at 86 while I was there, which was perfect to me
4. Large, clean room
5. Standard business hotel breakfast - some hot items and the usual cold items
6. Weekday manager's receptions that are significant enough to make it a dinner if you're not up for going out to a restaurant. This isn't world-class food, perhaps more like high school hot lunch, but I thought it was fine. One night was hamburgers on the grill, which were very good.

All in all, a good stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We are please to hear the good comments about a very pleasant staff, the nice outdoor pool and the weekday manager's reception. We aplogise about the destinations to the convention centers and the local restaurants within the mile of walking distance. We do appreciate you pointing to the large clean rooms and the one night hamburgers on the grill. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    101
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
134
57
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here just one night, on our way to our resort stay at Disneyworld. Arrived late and departed after breakfast the following morning, so we didn't really fully experience the hotel. Our room was clean, although a bit dated and in need of updating. Breakfast was OK, but did not compare well to breakfasts at other Residence Inns that we've enjoyed, but it wasn't extremely crowded as expected; seemed more like a Fairfield Inn breakfast plus waffles. Location appeared to be good if you were attending a convention, but the surrounding area was absolutely crazy busy and difficult to navigate when we arrived around 8 pm; not an ideal location for just stopping in for a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear your room was clean and that the location appeared to be good and close to the convention. We aplogigise about the issue you had in the breakfast area was crowded, we will be immediately looking into these issues to ensure they are corrected and do not reoccur.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this Residence Inn location for the NCAA tournament from March 19th - 22nd. Although I was there for leisure, this hotel certainly caters to business travelers and well as anyone who find themselves in Orlando for extended stays.

The room was very spacious, comparable in size to a 600 sq ft one bedroom apartment complete with a living area and kitchen. Everything was very clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly wishing me both a good morning and making small talk on the elevator when off the clock.

The lobby area area was also quite nice and sizable with plenty of room to accommodate all hotels guests for the complimentary breakfast. The amenities of the breakfast were plentiful and offered more options than most other hotel chains. Not to mention the hotel's great coffee! Even our cab driver one morning mentioned how delicious the coffee smelled.

The hotel also has a moderately sized outdoor pool that has areas for both tanning as well as adequate shaded areas for the faint of skin. Behind the hotel is a small sports court to allow for guests to shoot some hoops or play a friendly game of tennis.

The location of the hotel couldn't be more convenient if you are attending a conference at the convention center or visiting Orlando's many theme parks. Universal was a quick 10 minute cab ride down the road and the convention center was walking distance.

Also within walking distance is a slew of restaurant options from sports bars to casual dining. Just off the top of my head I can remember seeing a Hooters, Dave & Busters, Miller's Ale House, TGI Fridays, Bahama Breeze, and Denny's all within half a mile from the hotel.

All in all my stay here was a very positive one and would certainly look to stay here again if I find myself back in town.

Room Tip: Get a room at either end of the hall to minimize noise caused by guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mike S,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and found our property to be in great location with many amenities to offer. We appreciate you for also pointing out about how clean your room was and for your kind words about our staff.
We hope that you will return and enjoy another stay with us. Maybe we will get the opportunity to meet next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Orlando is our last choice of destinations. ( I was in town for a business meeting and stayed at the Renanssance near SeaWorld almost a week) . This stay was accidental due to airline cancellation and was the closest I could find to the airport. We(my wife flew in after the meeting to escape the winter in the Northeast) loved this place. The staff was amazing really. Especially Michael. We were welcomed with an incredible happy hour and sat by the great pool. Marriott has made me feel at home for many years....this place took it up a notch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Jericho10, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback! We highly value your business and thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you here again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is the first time we stay at Resident Inn. Totally surprised by the room, a very spacious one bedroom studio. The breakfast is wonderful with various selections. We will be certainly back to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Andy_MIA, Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As we strive to render 101% guest satisfaction, we are pleased to hear your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel was a good location to spend the night after a day at Disney World. There are tons of restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable. HOWEVER, this hotel's staff needs a refresher course in customer courtesy. Not one single staff person addressed any guest (including myself). It was the night of the change back to Daylight Savings time. Staff should have been a little considerate that guests may have been adjusting to the time change when it came to breakfast. Now, I realize that rules are rules, but at 9:30 on the dot when MANY guests were coming down for breakfast, the staff was rudely telling them that breakfast was over and they were snatching food away as I witnessed some reaching for a food item! The front desk person saw this happening but looked away. Many people walked away very disappointed that staff was so rude. These are vacationers here. I heard some say that they would never return to this hotel. If staff politely stated that they were sorry but obligated to remove the breakfast items, I'm sure more would have been understanding of the policy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent stay with other travelers. We sincerely appreciate your business. Thank you for your comments regarding the good location and the room was clean and confortable. Sorry with the issue of the breakfast, the time change and that the Staff had not been considerate. Again we sincerely appreciate your business and sorry for the inconvenience that all of you had to go with this. We are taking steps to correct this problem immediately with our Staff to prevent this situation for not to be repeated in the futur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We ended up booking this hotel as a Hotwire hot deal last minute. We were pleasantly surprised! Great location with lots of restaurants nearby. Clean, modern rooms with nice amenities (microwave popcorn!) and decent hot breakfast included. Would recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear, Sunnygirl0524, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear your experience with us was great and you would stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you here in the nearest future! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center

Address: 8800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Orlando
#49 Business Hotel in Orlando
#111 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.