We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to Disney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #143 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Gainesville Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Close to Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel. This hotel was within walking distance to Downtown Disney.Only bad thing was we could not find parking at Downtown Disney and we left after 30 minutes of trying. It may be best to just walk. The hotel it's self is also convenient to Epcot. Our check in was fast and efficient and we asked to see the fireworks and the lady was nice and put us in a room on the 5th floor facing Epcot and it was perfect. The room was clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and had hot water. We had a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the evening. The food was very expensive at the hotel and there are many other places are all within walking distance that are cheaper and good. There is a mall with a grocery store and many chain restaurants nearby. We did not get to enjoy any of the amenities of the hotel as we spent our time at the parks and by the time we got back late in the evening we were to tired. There is a resort fee of 10.00 per day added to the bill. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    648
    357
    182
    118
See reviews for
897
452
65
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a conference. It’s much nicer than what you would expect from a Best Western, say along I-95. On the other hand, it’s more expensive than those as well.
A lot of it is what you would expect from a hotel on Disney property. Lots of families, plenty of noise. Hotel amenities are limited, presumably on the supposition that most people will be spending their time in the theme parks, not the hotel.
The basics are there: sundries/gift shop, restaurant, bar, pool. But the sole restaurant shuts down for part of the day. So if you want to check in mid-afternoon and get a bite to eat, you’re out of luck.
The bar is tiny.
Grounds and rooms are well maintained. No complaints.
Location is minutes away from Downtown Disney. You could walk it, depending on how up you are for a little walk. You’re right at the edge of Disney property, so if you walk in the other direction, you’ll very quickly hit a cluster of restaurants/strip shopping centers and the like that have built right up to the edge of Disney’s land.
Buses serve the theme parks. One thing to note if you have your own car: If you stay in a Disney-owned hotel, your parking at the theme parks is free. If you stay at a non-Disney hotel, even those on Disney property, you pay. So if you’re thinking about the Best Western at $120 a night and comparing it to one of Disney’s All-Star hotels on the lower scale (really more like huge motels) or a Caribbean Beach/Coronado Springs (pretty nice for a little more), don’t forget to figure in $15 or so parking every day you go to a theme park.
Another thing to note about the Best Western: What they call the upgrade is “Theme park view.’’ I guess it’s better than looking at I-4, but I wouldn’t pay extra for the theme park view. It’s not like you see Cinderella’s Castle. If you look off in the distance to the left, you can see Spaceship Earth in Epcot. If you look straight out in the distance, you can see the Contemporary hotel. But really, it’s just a lot of flat landscape with these two recognizable shapes in the distance. Hardly worth any extra money unless you’re going to spend a lot of time on your balcony and really don’t want to look at I-4.
All in all, for my purposes, it was fine. Front desk was efficient and friendly. But if I was shopping for myself and not part of a conference group, I’m not sure it would be my first choice at that price.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for "theme park view.''
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Meade, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great for Disney and the bus will take you to all Disney parks. The bus will also take you to downtown Disney. You can eat, shop and see shows. You can see fire works to. You can park ticket at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's more like a former three-star trying desperate not to slip, and not quite succeeding. Stayed three nights in March 2013, paid 355 through Hotwire's take-a-chance deal which showed Disney's Caribbean Resort as an example of the type available in the category, and lemme tell you, the BW's nothing like the Caribbean Resort. Positives: location on the resort row leading to Downtown Disney, which makes it 'on property.' Staff VERY welcoming and pleasant and helpful. Basic cleanliness good. Free Wi-fi good enough to stream movies. Free parking. Negatives: very dated, signs of wear (cracks in bathroom tiles, slow elevators, etc.). "Resort fee" of $11 tacked on. You'll pay extra for a king bed, fridge, or microwave. No charge for a rollaway but the mattress is so thin you can see the hard springs through it -- no one but an exhausted toddler could sleep on it. The regular beds in the room are quite comfortable.

I came home after a day in the parks and my room hadn't been cleaned, despite a "Please Clean Room" sign. The manager said that the staff couldn't read the sign. After I asked whether they could be trained to identify the blue side from the white side, he admitted "I got no excuse" and gave me a $20 credit on my bill. !!

We didn't have as good an experience with the park shuttle as other reviewers. Longer waits, less dependable times than others have reported. $13 breakfast buffet that's just okay, a tiny Pizza Hut concession with breakfast sandwiches, pastries, coffee, beverages, and some lunch/dinner offerings. They have an expensive room service menu, but on two different nights we could not get through to them despite trying for two hours. There's are restaurants and a Goodings grocery store about a 15-minute walk away, but they also have their prices jacked up.

After all charges, I paid about 133 a night. For spring break time, short notice, this is not bad for on-property, but a friend got the same rate booking directly with them that I got through Hotwire, which I don't think I'll ever use again. I'd rather book farther ahead and off-season and stay in one of the lower-end Disney resorts for a newer property with more features, even if it would be about 50 more.

Room Tip: You can overlook the highway, or Disney, but I think you pay more for the latter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very skeptical about staying at a Best Western because I had awful experiences in the past. Very surprised at how clean the hotel was. Rooms were excellent and bathrooms were also very clean. The staff was friendly and check-in/out was a breeze. The view from our balcony was awesome! We could see the Epcot ball and all fireworks at night. The only downside, in my opinion, was the parking and the bus transportation to the park. The buses came every 30 minutes, however once we finally got on one, it took us 45 minutes to get to the park. Had i just taken my car, i would have been there in 15. We asked about a cab, and they wanted to charge us $50 to get to the park! The ride back at night was awful since it took so long. All we wanted to do was get back to bed!

If you don't mind waiting a while to get to the parks on a free bus, then this hotel is definitely worth your while. I will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better view of the parks and fireworks :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a one-night stay at Best Western in Downtown Disney via Bookit.com so that we could be on Disney property prior to checking-in at our Disney resort. I was very happy with the property. The lobby was clean and welcoming, especially after being in the car for the 15-hour drive from New Jersey. Once we checked-in, we were directed to the Guest Services Counter where the hard sell began. Apparently Best Western has another property in the Disney area which offers time-shares. After being told we could receive free breakfast and a $100 Disney giftcard to be used during our stay, we decided to listen to the pitch. After 20 minutes of babbling nonstop we were told we did not quality for the breakfast/gift card giveaway because they already telemarket to our area. Again, after 15 hours in the car, this was very frustrating!

We finally went to our room and we were not disappointed. The room was clean and well furnished with a wonderful view of the Disney area. We decided to grab a bite to eat in the resteraunt located within the hotel. It was nice, however, the menu was very small and very overpriced, but it was convenient.

I would recommend this hotel for 1-night stay as we did, but be warned - stay away from the Guest Relations counter!

Room Tip: Request a room above the 10th floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to offer your satisfaction with your recent stay with us. We really appreciate it, and also your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Orlando
#129 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#134 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney(R), this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld(R) vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld(R) offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld(R) theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney(R) Marathon, the Epcot(R) Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot(R) Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN(R) Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney(R) West Side, Downtown Disney(R) Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom(R), SeaWorld(R) Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios(R), Legoland(R) Florida and Busch Gardens(R).For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney(R) hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. Reservation must be guaranteed with a valid credit card. Hotel reserves the right to authorize 1st night room and tax when applicable. A Valid credit card must be presented at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.