We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Disney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #145 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Fort Meade, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great for Disney and the bus will take you to all Disney parks. The bus will also take you to downtown Disney. You can eat, shop and see shows. You can see fire works to. You can park ticket at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    561
    332
    169
    108
See reviews for
796
415
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's more like a former three-star trying desperate not to slip, and not quite succeeding. Stayed three nights in March 2013, paid 355 through Hotwire's take-a-chance deal which showed Disney's Caribbean Resort as an example of the type available in the category, and lemme tell you, the BW's nothing like the Caribbean Resort. Positives: location on the resort row leading to Downtown Disney, which makes it 'on property.' Staff VERY welcoming and pleasant and helpful. Basic cleanliness good. Free Wi-fi good enough to stream movies. Free parking. Negatives: very dated, signs of wear (cracks in bathroom tiles, slow elevators, etc.). "Resort fee" of $11 tacked on. You'll pay extra for a king bed, fridge, or microwave. No charge for a rollaway but the mattress is so thin you can see the hard springs through it -- no one but an exhausted toddler could sleep on it. The regular beds in the room are quite comfortable.

I came home after a day in the parks and my room hadn't been cleaned, despite a "Please Clean Room" sign. The manager said that the staff couldn't read the sign. After I asked whether they could be trained to identify the blue side from the white side, he admitted "I got no excuse" and gave me a $20 credit on my bill. !!

We didn't have as good an experience with the park shuttle as other reviewers. Longer waits, less dependable times than others have reported. $13 breakfast buffet that's just okay, a tiny Pizza Hut concession with breakfast sandwiches, pastries, coffee, beverages, and some lunch/dinner offerings. They have an expensive room service menu, but on two different nights we could not get through to them despite trying for two hours. There's are restaurants and a Goodings grocery store about a 15-minute walk away, but they also have their prices jacked up.

After all charges, I paid about 133 a night. For spring break time, short notice, this is not bad for on-property, but a friend got the same rate booking directly with them that I got through Hotwire, which I don't think I'll ever use again. I'd rather book farther ahead and off-season and stay in one of the lower-end Disney resorts for a newer property with more features, even if it would be about 50 more.

Room Tip: You can overlook the highway, or Disney, but I think you pay more for the latter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very skeptical about staying at a Best Western because I had awful experiences in the past. Very surprised at how clean the hotel was. Rooms were excellent and bathrooms were also very clean. The staff was friendly and check-in/out was a breeze. The view from our balcony was awesome! We could see the Epcot ball and all fireworks at night. The only downside, in my opinion, was the parking and the bus transportation to the park. The buses came every 30 minutes, however once we finally got on one, it took us 45 minutes to get to the park. Had i just taken my car, i would have been there in 15. We asked about a cab, and they wanted to charge us $50 to get to the park! The ride back at night was awful since it took so long. All we wanted to do was get back to bed!

If you don't mind waiting a while to get to the parks on a free bus, then this hotel is definitely worth your while. I will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better view of the parks and fireworks :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a one-night stay at Best Western in Downtown Disney via Bookit.com so that we could be on Disney property prior to checking-in at our Disney resort. I was very happy with the property. The lobby was clean and welcoming, especially after being in the car for the 15-hour drive from New Jersey. Once we checked-in, we were directed to the Guest Services Counter where the hard sell began. Apparently Best Western has another property in the Disney area which offers time-shares. After being told we could receive free breakfast and a $100 Disney giftcard to be used during our stay, we decided to listen to the pitch. After 20 minutes of babbling nonstop we were told we did not quality for the breakfast/gift card giveaway because they already telemarket to our area. Again, after 15 hours in the car, this was very frustrating!

We finally went to our room and we were not disappointed. The room was clean and well furnished with a wonderful view of the Disney area. We decided to grab a bite to eat in the resteraunt located within the hotel. It was nice, however, the menu was very small and very overpriced, but it was convenient.

I would recommend this hotel for 1-night stay as we did, but be warned - stay away from the Guest Relations counter!

Room Tip: Request a room above the 10th floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to offer your satisfaction with your recent stay with us. We really appreciate it, and also your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff was friendly from check in to check out, Close to disney Free Shuttle you can see disney from your room if you ask for it they will provide it. Rooms were spacious & Loved the private balcony Only down fal lis you have to pay for breakfast which is not cheap better off hitting a buffet. But i would 100% recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a disney view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi.
Thank you very much for taking the time too let us know you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are not interested in a time share hassle, then please DO NOT go to the “guest services desk” for your “free gift” after check-in, as it is a Wyndham Bonnet Creek Timeshare. They use the DISHONEST bait and switch method to sucker you in for a tour which you must pay for and it’s hard to get out of. If you pay in cash, they supposedly do not ever have change to refund you if your plans change and you are unable to make the tour, even though they initially promise that it is fully refundable. The Wyndham staff, while appearing friendly, are condescending, deceitful, and are out to make a profit. And why is Wyndham inside of Best Western, spoiling their reputation/warm atmosphere with their pushy sells tactics in the first place?!?! Best Western Lake Buena Vista Resort on the other hand is a nice, clean, comfortable property with easy access to many shops, dining, and especially close to Disney! They offer FREE shuttle service to Downtown Disney/Disney and other nearby venues. The staff is wonderful, particularly Katia at the front desk - she's awesome and efficient! :) Housekeeping even cleaned our room and left it as fresh as the day of arrival each day without request. The hotel offers beautiful scenic views and also views of the parks/fireworks.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors offer amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brad_boland, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Best Western Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. Thank you for your great comments about the cleanliness of our hotel, the convenient location, and the friendliness of our staff. All of our dedicated employees work hard to provide the highest level of service to our guests and I know they will be excited about the compliments you shared. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Orlando area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location was ideal for quick access to I4 and a 15 minute shuttle bus trip to Magic Kingdom/Epcot. If you use the shuttle be sure to get the bus lane number you need to stand by when returning, ours was 108 but it might change. The front desk concierge will tell you.

Take note that the room temperature control doesn't let you heat the room unless you call the front desk to get maintenance to come up into your room and change a line in the ceiling. Yes, this hotel doesn't have an automatic temp control and our room was freezing. However they did get someone up right away and the heat worked immediately after he made the adjustment. The room and beds overall were fine.

The breakfast buffet was expensive so we had the coffee and muffin at the concession right by the restaurant.

All the staff were every friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brad_boland, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear that the location worked well for you and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to the theme parks. Your advice about speaking to the concierge or driver about where to meet the shuttle at the end of the day will help many travelers. It is common to be excited about going into the park, and at the end of a long day, forgetting where you were left off! I apologize that you had difficulty with the temperature of your room, but I am glad that one of our staff members was able to assist you in a timely manner.

Thank you again for your review, and please come see us again on your next trip to Orlando.
sharif.aboushaba@lakebuenavistahotelresort.com, or 407-828-2424.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#105 Business Hotel in Orlando
#125 Family Hotel in Orlando
#137 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney®, this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld® vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld® offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld® theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney® Marathon, the Epcot® Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot® Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN® Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney® West Side, Downtown Disney® Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom®, SeaWorld® Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios®, Legoland® Florida and Busch Gardens®.For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney® hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.