We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #157 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Boulder, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For the price it is OK. Don't expect anything more than a motel room basically. The ones with the pullout couch are cramped. Any notion that it is suite like would be incorrect. But we went for price because we brought family, two rooms, etc, so it was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    497
    309
    155
    107
See reviews for
714
361
53
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent 4 days at this hotel. We had reserved through Expedia. This hotel is currently under renovations. Unfortunately we were put in a room on the side of the hotel that was being renovated. Water was pouring down the side of the window consequently could not use the balcony, nor could we open the curtains as there were workers outside on the scaffolding. There was no safe in the room, or a refrigerator (although there was space for one). When we complained the hotel staff obligingly moved us to the other side of the hotel and gave complimentary breakfast coupons, provided us with a safe but no refrigerator. Although we could have had a fridge had we paid the extra charge. Best Western had also made a mistake with the reservation, we had booked 4 nights through Expedia but Best Western had us booked for only 3 nights.
Should say that the rate that we were quoted on Expedia was significantly more than the rate we would have paid had we booked directly with Best Western.
We have stayed at Best Western in many countries and never had this experience.
Location was great and once we were in a new room the room was very comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book directly with best Western, check if there are any renovations going on near your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is not the first time we stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent right at the heart of Downtown Disney, near all parks and the area is very clean. Now to reality, the hotel is getting a new fresh paint not only on the outside but the rooms as well. Lobby looks a bit more modern, but the hotel Manager himself needs a customer service FACELIFT. Very rude when we checked in. When he mentioned that the rooms where painted and we requested a room that did not have the scent of paint so he upgraded us to a larger room but he made seem that he did us a favor! Was he looking for a tip or for us to praise his glory?

The room we were provided is very large and looks good. The TV is a LG flat screen and of a good size. Out first night we called for maintenance because the Disney TV channel was not clear and other channels as well. After 1 hour no maintenance person came in, since it was getting late we called again to see and the same Manager told us someone was on their way. We cancelled the call and requested a wake up call. At least this Manager could get the wake up call correct?!? The AC unit makes tons of noises when it turns on and room service adjust the temperature very high. Why can't we enjoy a cool room when we walk back in?

Right before we left for the park we requested them to look at the TV and hopefully upon our return it will be working correctly. Upon our return we spoke with the Same Manager and he confirmed by looking at his clip board and ensured us the problem was taken care of. NOT!!!

When we checked out we spoke to another person at the front desk, explained to her the issue and she suggested we speak with the Manager. We told her no since the Manager was the problem. She was kind enough to remove the resort fees from our bill for our troubles.

Overall, it’s not a bad place to stay, just make sure you are not stuck with the Manager (wish I got his name) and you will be fine!

Room Tip: Look at the room before you agree to stay. Check everything out (AC, bathrooms, water, sink, lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We traveled down to Orlando for a wedding. The wedding party were all staying at the Best Western, so we did too. First, they charge you $9.99/day for a resort fee! Really? Resort? This place? They have a pool! That's it! They advertise free shuttle service to the attractions and the outlets. When we went to ask what time the shuttle goes to the outlet, we were told, oh no, you have to book that ahead of time. And it's too late today. We asked at 11:00 AM! When we arrived, no one was at the check-in desk and we didn't know where to go. Finally, the rental car guy called to the back room and got us an employee! The pictures on the internet do not resemble this place at all! The lobby is small with 2 seating areas for 4 people each. Next, the rooms. We did get the king that we requested. The pillows and mattress were great! Can't complain. There is a spot for a refrigerator but the spot was empty! Apparently, you have to ask ahead of time, and none were available. When we arrived our carpet was wet! My husband was brave and sniffed the huge wet circles! Whew, they smelled like carpet cleaner and nothing else! The bathrooms are sooooo old! The toilet is really low. If you have mobility issues, I am afraid you would not be able to get on or off the toilet. The paint was peeling in the shower. No clothes line in the shower to hang your wet swimsuits either. The advertise granite countertops. The only granite in our room was on the empty refrigerator/TV console! They do have daily maid service but will only change your sheets every 3 days unless requested! We only stayed 2 nights so that was okay! We did eat at the restaurant. I had the grilled chicken sandwich and it was good. If you are hungry between 12-4, you have to go to the bar and order. The small cafe and restaurant are not open! Oh yes, and they will try to wrangle you in for the "Time Share" talk. We had a message everyday stating that we forgot to pick up or welcome bag at guest services! No thanks, I went through that trap once in Hawaii and never again! When we went to check out, they advertise late check out to 3:00 PM if available. We had a late flight out, so we asked. The rude front desk woman, kept chewing her gum, never looked out of her dark sunglasses, and said ya, you can stay til 12. We said don't you want to know what room and what about 3? We were curtly told, you have until 12 and no longer. I guess she had a rough night and was tired from all the gold jewelry she was sporting! I would NOT go back to this place. It was a big rip off with resort fee's and I just felt icky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at this hotel and it wad great. The rooms were large and clean. The breakfest in the hotels restaurant hit the spot before we ventured out to the Disney parks. The service in the restaurants we top notch. The hotel is close to downtown disney and there are shuttles that run every 30 min to/from all Disneyparks thoughout the day - eveyday.... this is very convinient, no rental car needed and saving on Disney car parking fees. Various restaurants are a 5 min walk away. I highly recommend this hotel... convinient in many ways.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just spent 6 nights at this hotel. The overall impression when you arrive is that its a bit rundown and not looked after, they are repainting so hopefuly that will be an improvement. Nice to have free parking though - loads of spaces.
Check in was slow, we asked for an early check in were told they had so many people checking in and out on that day we would have to wait - we didnt see any signs of many people, the hotel was really quiet most of the time! Asked the receptionist if there were any upgrades available as my son was staying there for 2 weeks, she promised a free fridge but it never arrived!
The rooms were large and had a nice balcony but they didnt seem clean - overwhelming smell of some type of cleaner when you go in but when it wore off we were left with a not so nice smell,
I also felt that the beds and especially the pillows weren't very clean - it obviously all needs replacing.
Housekeeping was rubbish, we were left without towels, plastic cups and coffee cups on one day although they were very fast to bring some up when we complained. They often didnt come till 5 oclock and then were in the room no longer than a couple of minutes, cant see how they could clean much in that time! Also our door didnt seem to shut properly, one good push and it would have been open, the security latch was broken in half, when we complained about that it was repaired quickly but it shouldn't have been like that in the first place.
Pool area was ok, nice newish comfy chairs, was spoilt by the presence of painters blocking off entrances and going backwards and forward clanging gates all the time. Also the music they constantly played was rubbish and way too loud.
Didn't eat in restaurant, didnt look or smell appealing although the Pizza was very nice from the bar. Never seemed to be any staff though and service was a bit hit and miss.
Resort fee is a rip off - $9.99 plus tax for what??? Previous hotel we stayed in didn't have a resort fee and was much better.
Overall this hotel needs renovating inside the rooms aswell as on the outside, the location is great - we walked to Crossroads and Downtown Disney on several nights, but as there are a few hotels along this street I would definately stay in another one next time - this hotel is the cheapest on Hotel Plaza Boulevard for a reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write a review after staying with us. We appreciate your feedback both good and bad, and will use it as a tool for us to improve. We strive to offer each guest a clean comfortable stay at a good value. We hope you will come back to stay with us, and see our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After reading the other reviews where some raved and others gave this hotel a little better than poor, I actually thought that maybe, just maybe, someone from management would be interested in what their customers had to say about their stay. I guess not. When we booked our stay, we were told that we would automatically get a better room upon check in. When the person at the desk didn't offer, we asked. I also inquired if we could have a room with a view of the fireworks from Disney. We received the upgrade and the room with the view. The room itself was huge. We had a LG TV flat screen and a dresser that could have held a nice refrigerator, but, did not. There was no microwave either. Both of these appliances would have been nice since other hotels in the area did include these at no additional charge (Best Western charges $10 per day for each appliance). Also, other hotels, if you checked on line were less expensive with many amenities. The TV was very basic, only 20 channels. Another feature was that it would turn itself off after two hours. We checked to see if there was a timer, but could not find one. The room was clean but definitely needed a renovation. There was a sign at the front desk saying that they would begin exterior painting within a couple of weeks and that this would not interfere with the pool or restaurants. I'm wondering when they will tackle the inside. Checking the bathroom, we noticed that the tiles were missing from one side.and there was a huge crack in the sink. Since we would not be spending that much time in the room, we did not complain.

Upon arrival and following the check in we were told to go to the welcome area. I mentioned that this would probably be a "Time Share" thing after reading other remarks. The people there said that we would need to pick up a booklet with coupons for the local restaurants as well as other Disney event info. So, we went to the other desk and immediately said that we weren't interested in the "Time Share" and that was all that had to be said. We received the booklet with coupons and directions to local restaurants.

At the Front Desk, we received a room key and info on the complimentary continental breakfast for each morning of our stay. I couldn't believe my eyes when I read the ticket that said we were entitled to a glass of juice and choice of either a bagel, one slice of bread (only white bread. There was no rye, whole wheat or multi grain), one danish or one muffin along with the fresh fruit. For an additional fee of $8 we could have the entire buffet which included eggs, sausage, ham, waffles, etc.. You get all this plus at any of the Choice Hotel Chains along with bus service to and from Disney. What would it cost this hotel to offer this and more.

The room itself was quite basic. As I mentioned above, we had a spacious room. The dresser had three drawers and a closet that could have housed a refrigerator if there was one. There was a desk with no drawers and an office chair that was comfortable. The bed was a King and was fine, though the mattress was firmer than what we were used to. There was a sofa that also could open into a queen. I thought it would be great for relaxing, but found that it was made of a plastic material and consequently I was allergic to it. My skin looked sunburnt and I had not been outside. There was also a swivel chair but no ottoman for the feet which would have been nice after a day spent at Disney.

The bus service ran every 20-25 minutes to Disney depending upon the traffic and is one free thing that this hotel offers. However, if you have problems with walking and require crutches, wheelchair or scooter, I would recommend that you find an alternative. The walk from the bus drop off points to the entrance is quite long, especially at the end of your day. The bus drops you off at the check point marked #24. From that point to the entrance is about a quarter of a mile one way, though, there are many benches along the way. If you decide to take your vehicle, there are tickets for Disney that include parking. You may want to check on this because there are services within the park to take you from your vehicle to the entrance and when you are ready to return there is transportation to your car. No charge for the service, I surmise it's part of the cost of the ticket. However, for the bus, you need your two, tired legs to get you back to #24.

There is also an additional charge of $9.95 per day plus tax for a resort fee. We have no idea what this is for since we only used the room. Since other hotels have fees such as this, I can only assume it's something that Orlando and Kissimmee charge as a tax. If it's for use of their pool, exercise room and equipment, then I question why this is already included in their other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask the people at the front desk what view your room overlooks. Looking at the fireworks were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello.
Thank You for comments regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate the feedback, and use both good and bad as a way of always trying to improve our product. We will take your comments to the appropriate departments and people involved in hopes of improving the stay of our future guests. Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again, when we can provide you with a satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#108 Business Hotel in Orlando
#131 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#137 Family Hotel in Orlando
#157 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney®, this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld® vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld® offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld® theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney® Marathon, the Epcot® Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot® Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN® Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney® West Side, Downtown Disney® Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom®, SeaWorld® Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios®, Legoland® Florida and Busch Gardens®.For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney® hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.