We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel in desperate need of refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #153 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hotel in desperate need of refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is perfect for resting your head for the night and if you can put up with the odd grumble, for the family on a budget, it is perfect. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help whenever they can and from what I understand there is a major refurbishment program underway, where some of my grumbles were sorted while we were there, others in progress and the rest is due over the coming months (so I was told).

We had a large party of 10 staying in 3 rooms of this hotel. All rooms are supposed to have a safe, not one of our rooms had a working safe (one didn’t have one at all). The fridges that you have to pay extra for, froze the contents no matter how low the setting. The bathrooms were like a scene out of faulty towers with plugs that keep self-closing in the bath (making a shower not as nice as you stand in a foot of water). My daughters cot was like it had been borrowed from Prisoner cell block H, metal and very old with no mattress, just a number of blankets on a piece of plywood. The air conditioning is very noisy making it practically impossible to sleep when it was on until you go used to the rattle.

The outdoor pool was closed for the best part of our 2 week stay; however this was due to refurbishment. From what I could see, it looked lovely and I am sure people staying after us will benefit, just a case of bad timing for this one.

Not to want to be completely negative, there are plenty of positives to outweigh the above. The hotel is first on the pickup route for the Disney parks and first to drop off, with only 2 other hotels on the route, which was fantastic when you need a seat after a long day on your feet and you are dying to get back to the hotel. The buses ran every half an hour all day to all the parks. The hotel is in a perfect location where 10 min walk in one direction you have the delights of Down Town Disney, and a 10 minute walk in the other direction you have a supermarket and a number of eating places.
From what I could gather most rooms had a balcony which was nice to use of an evening. There was up to date very large TV in all the rooms, which included a USB port for attaching iPods, cameras etc. The beds were massive (probably super king size) no joins, lumps of bumps, super comfy with plenty of pillows and blankets if needed. There is 2 shops in the foyet, which are open early in the morning till late at night. One is a small Disney shop for all the souviniers you forgot at the parks, and the other provides all the necessities from food, cigarettes and nappies to postcards and suitcases. As mentioned previously the staff were very friendly, which in its self, made up for the pitfalls.

One of our rooms had an issue with the electronic door key and we could not gain access to the room. As the hotel were currently installing all rooms with updated lock (as part of the on-going refurbishment program), without fail it was replaced within an hour. The very next day, our entire floor had the new digital locks on the doors.

I have to also point out that there is a utility room consisting of a washing machine and tumble dryer on each floor (I think) this was a godsend. It wasn’t too expensive and when you go on holiday for 2 weeks with 2 children (1 a toddler) it makes life very easy.

The restaurants in the hotel were lovely, good food, excellent drink and perfect staff (they noticed my daughter’s birthday badge and without a word to us brought out a birthday cake with candles and got the restaurant singing, now this is customer service!)

Although there were some negative issues with this hotel, I would definitely considerate again next time we go to Disney. I hope by the time we go, all the planned refurbishment will be carried out which will make for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    701
    379
    193
    128
See reviews for
971
482
69
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We selected this hotel after some study. Fitted in our budget and sensed to be quite accessible. Saw some negative reviews but went ahead with this, Oh it was a superb decision. Room was clean. All rooms have balconies . Some face the parks and you can view the fireworks. They shifted us happily to one with Epcot center in view. Stayed six nights. Staff were most courteous. Our room was very spacious and had two queen size beds. The best thing about this hotel is that it is the courtesy buses. It was absolutely perfect. Works like a breeze. Just at your door step. Comes in very handy on your way back when you are really tired. There is a shopping plaza at about 15 mins walk. And of course Downtown Disney is a must visit and is quite close by. We tried the restaurant downstairs. The pizzas were lovely. Well if you are not fussy, want a comfortable ride to and from Disney just take this.

Room Tip: Ask for the one's facing the parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Magic Kingdom and frequency of shuttle service.
Overall I liked the hotel( entrance, staff, dining on site) and the shuttle to Magic Kingdom was as advertised. The shuttle returning did not arrive at the correct pick up place.
We were within walking distance to Downtown Disney which was great.
The room itself was on the 8th floor with a view of Downtown Disney and also Epcot in the distance where we could see some of the fireworks. The biggest problem was that the AC did not work well so it was either too warm or very noisy.
There was a small leak under the sink which was not a big deal to us but if not fixed I'm sure will cause permanent damage.
The lights between the beds kept flickering which was annoying.
The patio/balcony was a decent size and it was nice to sit out at night time.
If the problems in the room were fixed, mainly the AC then I would have no hesitation at recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibadan, Nigeria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best western lake buene vista is a good hotel. They charge depending on season. I booked through an agent and paid through him. Found they are renting rooms at half the rates across the countrer. Felt very bad. Otherwise it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Jan 2-13/13: We fell for the "pay up front" deal for a cheaper rate - BIG mistake. I would have left after the first night if I could have. Arrived to a room with no a/c and no safe. Reported the room problems the next morning and the staff did have it fixed by that night. However, the thermostat on the a/c did not appear to work at all. It was either on and running full tilt and you froze, or you shut it off.

Tried to have dinner in the restaurant the night we arrived - smelled horrible in there and only one staff member working. Waited around for about 15 minutes and finally left to walk to the various restaurants available at the corner of I-4. Found a TGI Friday's there and that was great.

Upon our return, I gave the room a closer inspection - it was NOT clean. A big spider had taken up residence behind the bathroom door. The bathroom fixtures are old and stained, including the bath tub - really disgusting. Hair and ick around toilet and on bathroom floor from previous guests. I cleaned that mess up myself because I was too tired to wait for someone from housekeeping to come up. Big sticky spot at the foot of one of the beds - this remained there the entire stay - every day I had to put a big towel over the spot so my feet would not stick there.

Taxi service is a rip off. The hotel has it's "own" taxis that you are forced to use when you need one. They have no meters - you just pay what they quote you. First experience was reserving the hotel van to go to Universal for 7 people a day prior to going. Prepaid $4.00 - we were told this was required to show you are "serious" about wanting it. Arrived the next morning downstairs at the designated time - no van. Showed them the receipt for the deposit we paid - didn't matter. Waited about half an hour and they finally called us a van from another taxi company. They were persistent that we prepay for the return trip for $60.00 - claiming this would save us money. After the fiasco of prepaying to reserve the van, we opted not to do this. Guess what? Taxi service one way to Universal was $33.00 + the $4.00 reservation charge - from the hotel. Going home in an off-property cab from Universal cost us $24.00. Nice rip off Best Western. The $4.00 prepayment is a commission to the hotel bellman for setting up the reservation - what a joke.

Second taxi experience - the husbands went golfing to a golf course just a few blocks from the hotel. The cab driver got lost - didn't know where it was. The guys were quoted $10 at the hotel and ended up being charged $15.00 by the cab driver because of the time he spent driving around lost in his own neighbourhood!

The phone in our room didn't work properly. We were unable to retrieve messages the entire time we were there. The alarm clock could not be set either. The room remained questionable in the cleanliness department. Big stickly spot on carpet was still there when we left.

Front Desk staff seemed extremely annoyed each time we wanted to cash in traveller's cheques and made the process slow and painful. Sorry! Every other hotel I've stayed in has been happy to do this for me. By the end of our 12 night stay they seemed to come around somewhat in this area. Or maybe we just figured out which front desk staff to approach with the request?

Tried ordering Pizza Hut one night after a long day at the parks - 1 staff member working (again) and he was out on a delivery. Finally managed to get Pizza Hut ordered & delivered another night and it was good, and prices were reasonable. The next night they even warmed up our left overs for us, which was more than we expected.

Positives: Beds were comfortable and bedding looked clean; pool was nice and kids enjoyed it while the temperatures were cooler. Once it warmed up they shut the heaters off and the kids froze; proximity to Downtown Disney and good selection of restaurants on I-4 was great - easy & pleasant 10 minute walk either way. Clerk at check-out didn't charge us for fridge without even having to start in on the negatives of our experience. I did appreciate that. We paid extra for the Disney View and that was a nice bonus. Took advantage of the free parcel delivery from the Parks, and that worked great. Buses to Disney Parks were good for the most part. At the end of the night, they are beyond over-crowded, so try to avoid staying till the bitter end if you can.

Overall, I had a big case of hotel regret and wished I'd just spent the extra money to stay at a newer Disney resort. You really do get what you pay for but in this case, I still felt like we overpaid.

Room Tip: If you want a "good" room - try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed right after Christmas. On check-in neither person at registration could be bothered to acknowledge us, much less check us in. Finally one gave in and went through the motions of issuing the keys - obviously could have cared less if we were there. Room was clean however first night we had to call down to desk at 3 a.m. as heat/air was not functioning. He came right up - apparently it had been shut down at the unit and he had to reset it. The promised balcony had only one chair, was dirty with a ripped screen that blew about. You have to pay an extra $10 per night for a refrigerator(!). I'm sorry - this is a RESORT hotel??? Staff at bar and Parakeet Cafe great. They were the only friendly people there. Watch out for time share sales tactics at concierge desk. Also, the shuttles to the parks DO NOT RUN on the schedules quoted and everybody but you knows it-apparently an insider joke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#90 of 329 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista
#186 of 329 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 stars 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in Orlando
#119 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#142 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney(R), this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld(R) vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld(R) offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld(R) theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney(R) Marathon, the Epcot(R) Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot(R) Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN(R) Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney(R) West Side, Downtown Disney(R) Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom(R), SeaWorld(R) Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios(R), Legoland(R) Florida and Busch Gardens(R).For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney(R) hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. Reservation must be guaranteed with a valid credit card. Hotel reserves the right to authorize 1st night room and tax when applicable. A Valid credit card must be presented at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.