We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, staff could be friendlier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #155 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room, staff could be friendlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night over Thanksgiving week, before moving to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. We liked the landscaped parking lot and it was easy to find the hotel. Good location to Downtown Disney and outlet mall. Room was clean and comfy. Had drinks at the bar and service there was good. Service at the front desk was as in previous review: we were barely acknowledged any time we went. Very aloof and indifferent to guests. We used AAA rate and did not pre-book. We plan to stay there again when we do not have our pets and aren't staying on Disney property. Just wish they were dog-friendly. :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    504
    309
    155
    107
See reviews for
723
363
53
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Jan 2-13/13: We fell for the "pay up front" deal for a cheaper rate - BIG mistake. I would have left after the first night if I could have. Arrived to a room with no a/c and no safe. Reported the room problems the next morning and the staff did have it fixed by that night. However, the thermostat on the a/c did not appear to work at all. It was either on and running full tilt and you froze, or you shut it off.

Tried to have dinner in the restaurant the night we arrived - smelled horrible in there and only one staff member working. Waited around for about 15 minutes and finally left to walk to the various restaurants available at the corner of I-4. Found a TGI Friday's there and that was great.

Upon our return, I gave the room a closer inspection - it was NOT clean. A big spider had taken up residence behind the bathroom door. The bathroom fixtures are old and stained, including the bath tub - really disgusting. Hair and ick around toilet and on bathroom floor from previous guests. I cleaned that mess up myself because I was too tired to wait for someone from housekeeping to come up. Big sticky spot at the foot of one of the beds - this remained there the entire stay - every day I had to put a big towel over the spot so my feet would not stick there.

Taxi service is a rip off. The hotel has it's "own" taxis that you are forced to use when you need one. They have no meters - you just pay what they quote you. First experience was reserving the hotel van to go to Universal for 7 people a day prior to going. Prepaid $4.00 - we were told this was required to show you are "serious" about wanting it. Arrived the next morning downstairs at the designated time - no van. Showed them the receipt for the deposit we paid - didn't matter. Waited about half an hour and they finally called us a van from another taxi company. They were persistent that we prepay for the return trip for $60.00 - claiming this would save us money. After the fiasco of prepaying to reserve the van, we opted not to do this. Guess what? Taxi service one way to Universal was $33.00 + the $4.00 reservation charge - from the hotel. Going home in an off-property cab from Universal cost us $24.00. Nice rip off Best Western. The $4.00 prepayment is a commission to the hotel bellman for setting up the reservation - what a joke.

Second taxi experience - the husbands went golfing to a golf course just a few blocks from the hotel. The cab driver got lost - didn't know where it was. The guys were quoted $10 at the hotel and ended up being charged $15.00 by the cab driver because of the time he spent driving around lost in his own neighbourhood!

The phone in our room didn't work properly. We were unable to retrieve messages the entire time we were there. The alarm clock could not be set either. The room remained questionable in the cleanliness department. Big stickly spot on carpet was still there when we left.

Front Desk staff seemed extremely annoyed each time we wanted to cash in traveller's cheques and made the process slow and painful. Sorry! Every other hotel I've stayed in has been happy to do this for me. By the end of our 12 night stay they seemed to come around somewhat in this area. Or maybe we just figured out which front desk staff to approach with the request?

Tried ordering Pizza Hut one night after a long day at the parks - 1 staff member working (again) and he was out on a delivery. Finally managed to get Pizza Hut ordered & delivered another night and it was good, and prices were reasonable. The next night they even warmed up our left overs for us, which was more than we expected.

Positives: Beds were comfortable and bedding looked clean; pool was nice and kids enjoyed it while the temperatures were cooler. Once it warmed up they shut the heaters off and the kids froze; proximity to Downtown Disney and good selection of restaurants on I-4 was great - easy & pleasant 10 minute walk either way. Clerk at check-out didn't charge us for fridge without even having to start in on the negatives of our experience. I did appreciate that. We paid extra for the Disney View and that was a nice bonus. Took advantage of the free parcel delivery from the Parks, and that worked great. Buses to Disney Parks were good for the most part. At the end of the night, they are beyond over-crowded, so try to avoid staying till the bitter end if you can.

Overall, I had a big case of hotel regret and wished I'd just spent the extra money to stay at a newer Disney resort. You really do get what you pay for but in this case, I still felt like we overpaid.

Room Tip: If you want a "good" room - try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed right after Christmas. On check-in neither person at registration could be bothered to acknowledge us, much less check us in. Finally one gave in and went through the motions of issuing the keys - obviously could have cared less if we were there. Room was clean however first night we had to call down to desk at 3 a.m. as heat/air was not functioning. He came right up - apparently it had been shut down at the unit and he had to reset it. The promised balcony had only one chair, was dirty with a ripped screen that blew about. You have to pay an extra $10 per night for a refrigerator(!). I'm sorry - this is a RESORT hotel??? Staff at bar and Parakeet Cafe great. They were the only friendly people there. Watch out for time share sales tactics at concierge desk. Also, the shuttles to the parks DO NOT RUN on the schedules quoted and everybody but you knows it-apparently an insider joke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we were excited to get a deal for this hotel online because of the proximty to downtown disney. We live in FL and know exactly where it is.....but after checking some reviews and ratings, a little nervous. Check was easy, they gave us a fireworks view without us asking. when we got into the room, it was warm, but we thought it was due to being vacant. We went out for dinner and came back to a still warm room.....no sleep that night.
In the am, I ripped the only regular coffee packet open and spilled coffee everywhere. I tried my best to wip it up with a washcloth which I left on the floor to be replaced. Then had to make due with decaf coffee since the ripped one was the only reg (4 decafs though). I am assuming they dont check that very carefully at cleaning. My husband made mention of the non-existing A/C and we went off to enjoy our day. Upon returning, the A/C was running and freezing. This continued all night until we turned it off- then it would get hot-turn it on- get cold, etc.....all night. not much better sleep this night either.
And remember the coffee washcloth? still on the floor-dirty! We even had left a tip for the housekeeper....
would not be excited to stay here in the future. We were happy to leave and check into the hotel our family was staying at after the third night.

Room Tip: the firework view was nice. ask for it if you have to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years back. Remembered the shuttle was not on schedule picking up at parks. Drove to park ourselves. Pool great! Ac worked fine. Television selection HORRIBLE! Maybe 20 channels. Did not do the flat screen justice. Asked for a refrigerator, but did not get one. Specified was a celebration stay, and being a B.W. platinum member thought we would get an upgrade, or a complimentary something. NOTHING! Bathroom had hair and garbage on floor from previous guests. Grossed me put, but did not complain because I did not want people lurking in my room. View great. Check in and out great, workers polite. Guest relation people isn't, but that was expected. Location great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 7 during Christmas break. We were able to get rooms next to each other, which was nice. One room was in a corner, it came with a fridge, no bathtub, but also had a sofa bed. The other room did not have a fridge but it did have a bathtub. We were able to watch fireworks every night from our balcony (if youre on the disney side)

The rooms could use a little more cleaning, we found a hat under the bed that did not belong to us. Also, one morning I found a cockroach in the bathroom. I assumed that critters may be difficult to control with each room having a balcony, but I was not excited about this.

I did appreciate the location of the hotel, walking distance to downown disney, and some fast food restaurants. The shuttle was free to disney parks. The hotel is first to be picked up and first dropped off, so after a long day it was nice to get off first. We ended up taking a taxi to universal studios for $60 round trip. We also took a taxi to sea world for about $50 round trip. Staff were very helpful reserving taxis during our entire stay.

We ordered from pizza hut once, found that it was pretty expensive. We also ordered from dominoes and papa johns and had it delivered. Both were a lot cheaper and it was delivered in good time.

Overall, we didnt spend too much time at the hotel, if youre looking for a decent place to sleep, this should work for you. If you have the budget to upgrade to a better hotel, that would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for several nights during a trip to Disney. On the plus side, it was very clean and housekeeping did a great job. Also the staff was very friendly. The beds were comfortable and the front desk tried to make our staff very enjoyable. A shuttle did not show up one day and the desk helped us get one (to the Animal Kingdom).

On the down side, the food is very bad. There is pizza hut, which is very expensive. Also, beware taking anything out of the cooler----I expected to pay an upcharge for a small tropicana juice, but not $3.30!! Also, the "complimentary continental breakfast' involves you getting a bagel and muffin that you prepare yourself, generic brand cereal. Moreover, if you are getting up early to get to the Disney parks for the opening, you might miss this breakfast entirely!

A better bet for food is to walk across the street to the Crossroads shopping center. There are many fast food options and also a Sweet Tomatoes (a great soup/salad place). The concierge told us that Johnnie's Hideway is quite a nice upscale steakhouse.

One group in our party also had problems with getting the heat to work and an engineer had to come in during the middle of the night. The pool was quite cold too, even though it was supposed to be heated.

Overall, despite the problems, we appreciated that the staff tried hard to make us happy overall. Still, it would not be my first choice next time.

Room Tip: Disney view was nice, but you could always watch the fireworks from the outside stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#108 Business Hotel in Orlando
#130 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#134 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney®, this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld® vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld® offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld® theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney® Marathon, the Epcot® Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot® Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN® Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney® West Side, Downtown Disney® Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom®, SeaWorld® Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios®, Legoland® Florida and Busch Gardens®.For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney® hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.