We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was Incompetent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #153 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staff was Incompetent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family of five stayed here for two nights after a cruise to visit Disneyworld. The first day the a/c wouldn't work so they sent a guy to fix it, we froze all night, the next day they sent someone else and when we got back to our room at 2am it was so hot in our room, we had to sleep with our patio door open all night.

Our first day I asked the front desk clerk what time the first shuttle left for the Magic Kingdom the next morning so we could be there first thing. She told me the same time that the park opened. I thought this was weird, so I questioned her, but she told me again that was the time. The next morning my husband saw one leave a half hour earlier.

Our bathroom was not as clean as I feel it should have been upon our arrival. There was hair in the bathtub from a previous guest.

Our first night, we ordered pizza from their Pizza Hut and my husband went and picked it up, yet we were still charged an 18% gratuity and $2.50 service charge as if we had room service. That seems very shady and deceivious to me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    518
    312
    157
    107
See reviews for
737
377
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is an older hotel so we weren't quite sure what to expect. We ended up loving the hotel and ate all of our breakfasts in the restaurant. It was clean, the balcony view was a great view of a lake, and everyone we encountered (except for the bell hop) was very service oriented. The wait staff for breakfast was very attentive and the buffet had some excellent choices. The day we arrived, we had a late afternoon lunch but weren't that impressed because the person who waited on us was also the bartender for the pool area. That was a lot for one person to handle. When our food arrived, it was very good. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel - I loved it last year and I still love it. It is so close to Downtown Disney and has the added advantage of a balcony - so few reasonably priced Orlando hotels do. Last year we stayed just one week and this time we stayed 2 and were automatically up-graded to a Disney fireworks view room. I have just two criticisms and they are minor in the scheme of things but I can't drone on about how wonderful it was all the time! 1. One of the lifts creaks and bangs, it is only really noticeable at night and I kept forgetting to report it in the morning and I wasn't sure which of the 4 it was otherwise I would have asked for it to be disabled after 11pm. 2. I feel sorry for the restaurant and bar staff - I walked down a few times and there was no one drinking or dining there and I was immediately approached (which made me feel really mean as I don't want to go somewhere were I am on my own) and I had to say I was just looking for my husband! I am sure they must have tried various things but it seems crazy that Disney is madly busy and there isn't a sole in there. Maybe advertise more - I would have liked a fixed price meal ie: tonight 2 courses for $12 that kind of thing or a free glass of beer/wine with a meal. Or how about a happy hour at the bar (it might well have one but I couldn't see anything about it). We did go to the bar one evening but it cost - $18 for 2 Southern Comforts so after that we went elsewhere or brought in wine from the supermarket to drink on the balcony whilst watching the fireworks......wonderful. We will be back in 2013....2 weeks again and with our daughter and her partner - that should be worth an up-grade to a corner suite with firework view!! Also best hotel on Hotel Plaza for the Disney route buses - first pick up and first drop off - excellent service. Parking is a doddle, loads of spaces and easy access in and out of Hotel Plaza Boulevard (essential for us Brits driving on the wrong side of the road!) - don't understand why anyone would valet park here but it is available if you want it.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a firework view room if you are only there a few nights but it would cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay was 12-18 to 12-22-2012.. Took my family here for a Christmas Vacation. Good Hotel, excellent Location (10 minute walk from Downtown Disney) Awesome View. Fabulous Rate ($99 per night thru AAA) Clean upkept and very modern rooms. Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. Nothing bad to say about this hotel, however there are a few issues I had that I feel are worth mentioning. Issue #1: There are only 4 very old and very slow elevators to serve all 14 crowded floors. Further, there no service elevators for housekeeping staff or their enormous housekeeping carts.This means you will have a 5 to 20 wait before you find an elevator uncrowded enough for you to squeeze into when you get ready leave the hotel. Issue#2: Overly crowded Complimentary Shuttle to the theme parks... If you think you had a long crowded experience on the hotel's elevators, Just wait. You ain't seen nothin' yet.. The complimentary shuttle serves not only the Best Western, but also the Wyndam and the Buena Vista Palace. They advertise a shuttle to and from the theme parks every 20 to 30 minutes.... Yeah right?.?....Anyway, when a bus does finally arrive be prepared to stand up on it for 30 minutes minimum in route to your destination. I'm not sure of how many Safety regulations they are violating but before the bus moves they fill all the bus seats and cram the aisle of the bus from front to back. Issue #3: Standing in long lines waiting on an elevator gives you the opportunity to talk to other guests. Several other guests spoke of no heat and being cold. I guess in Florida this isn't a big issue however, when we arrived on 12-19 and the next day 12-20 the high was 77 degrees. On our final day 12-21 a cold front moved in and the temperature dropped to 37. I guess you can say a heated hotel room is important...Even in Florida...

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor with a view of Downtown Disney and the Theme Parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a pass through to southern Florida the weekend before Thanksgiving. We stayed two nights on Saturday and Sunday. The location is walking distance to Downtown Disney. The parking was adequate though we had to valet Saturday because there were no open spots in the lot. The staff member who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. She presented us with out pass keys and a coupon for a free gift (I will get to that).

the room was clean, large and had a great view of the lake, Downtown Disney and Epcot off in the distance. We didn't stay much in the room. the only issue we had was that the heater was very loud (it was chilly on this weekend at night).

The WiFi was good. No issues there. We didn't try any restaurants since we always try new restaurants at Disney when we come down.

The Free gift it turns out is a timeshare-trap. We went to the nice girl at the front desk who pointed us to another desk with another nice girl who proceeded to wow us with all kinds of discounts. She offered a free breakfast, discount Disney tickets and two free nights at Wyndham. The catch, of course, was that we had to go offsite to another location. Your typical timeshare-trap. Since we were only going be there one full day we declined all the discounts and went on our merry way. I just wished the bait and switch was advertised so I wouldn't have wasted the nice young girls time with her hard sell.

Aside from that the hotel was a great Disney resort alternative. Its approximation to Downtown Disney made it easy for us to bus over to our favorite Disney resorts for meals and made shopping great.

We will definitely stay here again for short trips to Disney. We will just by-pass the free gift vacation club.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing the lake. It is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice week, breakfast could be better.
I think that if it s for Disney , it s perfect...
Bath has to be changed quickly.
And to be honest for the same price I have seen much better in quality (the room was quite dirty).
But if I had to come to Disney world another time I think we will come to this hotel again...just to take them another chance

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevDirector, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello KrimoTi,
Thank you for your review. Feed back from our guests is very important to us and your review will be shared with our team. Guest room cleanliness is a top priority but it seems we fell short of our expectations during your visit. If you return to the area and give us another chance, I am certain you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decent place, a little old and needs some updating but as long as you can get the king suite,we have free upgrades as a Gold BW member (corner room) it's big and view of Epcot fireworks every night was great. I wish it had a free breakfast but it did have free internet and parking. It seems like you give up something staying in this area. We never drove to the parks but took the shuttle, that saved $15 a day so that was breakfast. We really appreciated the shuttle service. I think we'd stay there again unless a better price came up someplace else in the area.

Room Tip: If you want to guarantee a corner room, they said you should make reservations directly with the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevDirector, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Betty58503,
Thank you for being a Best Western Rewards Gold Member and for choosing our hotel when you visited the Orlando area. We agree that our corner king rooms overlooking Disney are very spacious and offer spectacular views of the nightly Epcot Center fireworks. Our continuous transportation to all four Walt Disney World Theme Parks is second to none and it is great to hear that you took advantage of it during your visit. We hope to see you back again really soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Business Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#137 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Disney®, this Lake Buena Vista hotel is the ideal place to stay for an affordable Disneyworld® vacation. Our hotel near Disneyworld® offers guaranteed admission and continuous complimentary shuttle transportation to all four Walt Disneyworld® theme parks!After a day of non-stop fun and excitement, guests can retire to one of 325 generously-appointed guest rooms each featuring furnished private balconies. Additional business and leisure amenities in each room include 37-inch LG LCD flat panel TV's with cable access, an alarm clock radio with iPod compatibility and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our Lake Buena Vista Resort offers fun for the whole family with an outdoor heated swimming pool, a video game room, fitness center, a cocktail lounge with pool side seating and an on-site restaurant. Business guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel will also appreciate our hotel's business services, meeting facilities and close proximity to local corporations, including Johnson & Johnson, IBM, KPMG and Accenture, in addition to easy access to the Orlando Convention Center. This 100% non-smoking Lake Buena Vista hotel is also situated in the heart of local events like the Disney® Marathon, the Epcot® Food & Wine Festival and the Epcot® Flower & Garden Festival. While you're here, don't forget to visit the ESPN® Wide World of Sports Complex, Downtown Disney® West Side, Downtown Disney® Market Place and Pleasure Island. Just minutes from the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, guests will find themselves in the heart of the area's best attractions, including Animal Kingdom®, SeaWorld® Orlando, the Orlando Orange County Convention Center, Discovery Cove Orlando, Universal Studios®, Legoland® Florida and Busch Gardens®.For the ultimate family-friendly Downtown Disney® hotel experience, book a stay today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.