We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird location but nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 West Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #196 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weird location but nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is located right off the highway but getting to the front is a little convoluted. Otherwise, nice hotel with modern decorations. Internet service is spotty. Also, housekeeping is a little delayed. They didn't come until 3p my first night.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Erin J.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, especially about our convenient location and the hotel decoration. Should you ever need anything or have special requests please do not hesitate to let us know, it will be our pleasure to accommodate accordingly.
We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    90
    79
    43
    21
See reviews for
63
102
27
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I always choose the Crowne Plaza when staying in downtown Orlando. It has easy access to I-4 and the downtown business district. The hotel restaurant is good, but if you want to eat out, there are many choices of every type food you can imagine within an easy drive. I've always found the property to be well maintained and clean, and the rooms are exceptional. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tony B,

Thank you for being a royal member of Crowne Plaza Hotel we are glad to hear your stay with us has been a rewarding one. Thank you for the candid words in regards to our restaurant and especially our staff. We are conveniently located within a mile of downtown venues and our complimentary shuttle is available 7days a week between 7:30am-11pm.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was very nice and the beds (and pillows) were extremely comfortable. Being that the hotel was close to the highway and downtown it was very quiet. Staff was really nice and helpful. There was an issue with the hot water when we got there but it was corrected within a few hours. For the inconvenience they offered all of us a free breakfast (breakfast wasn't complementary). Parking wasn't free (kinda pricey) but that was expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Kenneththomajr,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback. We get very nice compliments for our beds and pillows to be so comfortable as well as the excellent staff we have, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed that. Accept our extended apologies once more for the inconvenience with the hot water, but we are glad to see you were well compensated.

Please reach to us if you have any future arrangements when you return here at the Crowne Plaza. We look forward for your return!

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I came on a family trip to Orlando to go tk Halloween Horror Nights. We booked out stay on travelocity.com and when we arrived to check in they told us that they were full so there were no more rooms with two beds. So they gave us a room with a king sized bed and a twin sized pull out mattress. We only spent half an hour in the room because it was time to go to HHR. When we came back, we pulled out the bed to realize that there were no sheets for the bed in the room. I called the front desk to ask for some and its been 15-20 min and we still have no sheets. To top that all off, I looked under the sofa and there's an M&M and crumbs all over the floor. This is NASTY!! We will definitely never be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ally M,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

For the price, no so bad. Attractive decor, friendly staff. My only complaint was that the driver for the hotel forgot and didn't pick up when I called from the shopping center to be picked up. But the manager came directly and even bought me supper to say she was sorry. he had turned off his phone. :( Not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Tamster312,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback. It is a pleasure to hear your transportation was well recovered by our Valet Manager. Thank you for the kind words regarding our friendly staff and attractive décor.

We hope to have you back here in Orlando downtown soon!!

Best Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

decent for what it is.
Its a little shop worn and bland, no recognition for Royall Ambassador, noisy AC but did what I needed
they gave me a suite but it was rigth next to the highway and my ear plugs I always carry came in handy
Dont think would go back

Room Tip: get roons away from elevators and busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Igppres,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay was not as satisfactory in regards to the AC and the highway noise. We train our employee well in understanding the importance of our IHG members and take pride in greeting them as well. However, Intercontinental Hotel is the only selected brand that participates in the Royal Ambassador Program, therefore our team will not have access in recognizing the Royal Ambassador membership. Furthermore, we are glad to see that you were upgraded to one of our popular suites for being an IHG Member.

If there is anything we can do to assist with future reservation, we certainly welcome you to contact us directly and it will be our pleasure to help with anything.

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hotel is located centrally close to Orlando International Airport, Disney Theme parks and Outlet
shopping.Great Experience the staff was very friendly and professional.Hotel Room was very clean and
modern.Excellent food and service.

Room Tip: My room was close to the elevator and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Karim P,

It is very nice to know the hotel accommodation and location was suitable for you. Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback and rating with us especially about the clean rooms and excellent food and service. We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay!!

Please contact us if you need anything, and we look forward to see you soon here at down town Orlando.

Best Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Address: 304 West Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#196 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is walking distance to downtown s impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Bob Carr Theatre for Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from the Citrus Bowl home of the Capital One Bowl, Champs Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wachovia, HD Supply, EA Sports, AMA, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals looks forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.